We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel is well located within easy walking distance of all the sites in Durham. The rooms were very clean and spacious, the breakfasts fantastic. The only downside was the noise and heat.

Our room was on the ground floor looking on to the street - Saturday night revellers seemed to hang around outside the hotel and made a lot of noice. Although there was not a heatwave while we were there, the room was so hot it was uncomfortable. The airconditioning seemed to do little to cool it down and because of the noise outside, we could not open the window.

That said, I would definitely stay in the hotel again but request a room at the back of the building.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper request room above ground level and preferrably at the back (certainly on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 437janei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    848
    497
    110
    24
    21
See reviews for
333
635
97
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

More than adequate hotel. Rooms clean and comfortable, Bar and restaurant area perfectly ok for a drink and meal. Although it was the university open weekend still seemed reasonably quite.
Breakfast was good, plenty available and well cooked. Staff were welcoming and friendly and we had no complaints. Hotel is well situated very near city centre and there is a large car park just behind the hotel. For a place to rest your head and see Durham, Great!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The rooms are very comfortable with great beds and a wonderful shower. The prices seem reasonable and it is a 10 min, walk (uphill) to the Cathedral. The only caveats are that our air conditioning did not work and there was a very noisy restaurant outside our window, and the attached restaurant was overpriced and overcrowded. Go to Wetherspoon's instead.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNMusicMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weeley Heath, Essex, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We visited the Premier Inn at Durham City Centre the first weekend in July.
The location is excellent - walking distance from the centre of the city, close to a nearby taxi rank and a car park that offers discounted parking next door.
Within 5 minutes walk there are several restaurant options such as nandos, slug and lettuce, Mexican, noodles etc. We ate at the hotel at the Thyme restaurant however and found it excellent. A wide choice of menu dishes to suit all tastes and when bought as part of the £22 package where you get 2 courses and the full breakfast the next day it offers excellent value for money. Breakfast was busy but well managed - with no queuing, the area was kept clean and the food well stocked.
Service in the restaurant at both breakfast and dinner was excellent - Daniel in the evening and the incredibly hard working and nice girls on the breakfast duty were incredibly efficient and courteous.

Room 114 was large, clean and well maintained with the usual comfy bed and facilities.

So why not give this hotel 5 stars? Unfortunately although it's location is excellent it is right next door to a nightclub and several bars. We did not notice the noise so badly on Friday night but Saturday night at 10pm the customer noise level escalated and went on with shrieking and shouting until 4am. We tried window open and window closed but it really was very distracting and prevented a good sleep.
On check out the next day I mentioned the problem to the receptionist who was very apologetic and automatically refunded the full night's charge (£85) and suggested that we requested a quiet room next time.

We were not expecting this refund even though I had heard of the good nights sleep guarantee and I was pleasantly surprised when it was offered so readily.

Suggestions for visiting the hotel would be to check your directions on the sat nav as it can be quite confusing on the approach to the car park and also to request a quiet room.

I am very satisfied with our visit and would not hesitate to stay again - I think the staff and location of the hotel make for a great place to stay in Durham.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Essexfamilyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have never stayed at a Premier Inn before and I can honestly say what a fantastic stay I had. The staff at this Premier Inn were so friendly and could not do enough for you [ it's a shame there are not more people like them] Any way the hotel was lovely and clean, my room was so big, the bed was very comfy and very large certainly plenty of room for me and my Daughter. The location was perfect for our needs, there was a fab tele , the bathroom was nice and large and very clean. We had a Premier Inn breakfast and it was delicious. I will defiantly be returning to a Premier Inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisastevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

It was with some dread that I booked, having been unimpressed when we stayed before..we needed to on this occasion because of the proximity to Durham University. Last time it was noisy and the dining area was like a motorway cafe.. they have given the hotel a "make over" which has made a huge difference and improvement. Well done

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

But not entirely the hotel's fault.
Car park conveniently located behind hotel. Be aware that if you use sat nav then you might find instructions to take a left turn off the bridge a tad inconvenient as you'd end up in the river. Receptionist at hotel just going through the motions. Didn't tell us that we could get a discount on the car park, that was left to an extremely helpful car park employee who was a fount of knowledge, including taking car park lift to 7th floor to get to the city centre.
Room up to usual standard with comfortable bed, clean bathroom. However, only one upright chair in room. Have usually had a sofa to sit on.
Windows triple glazed, with good reason. Disco noise started about 10. Impossible to say where it was coming from, made no difference having windows open or closed. "Thump thump" of the bass seemed to be part of the fabric of the building. This went on till about 2am. Then the revellers went home about 3am, which is where the triple glazing came in handy. You could still hear noise outside though.
Breakfast was downstairs, usual choice of english or continental. There has to be a better way of asking people not to take what they haven't paid for though. Gatwick have solved this by not having a choice, even this isn't ideal. Incidentally the restaurant wasn't open in the evening. No explanation given for this, not that we would have eaten there. Too much competition maybe?
Finally, we've usually had an email from Premier Inn asking us what we thought of our stay, but not this time. The receptionist wasn't even interested enough to enquire on our departure.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Property: Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Address: Freemans Place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing