We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 21 February 2009

From the moment we checked in the service was second to none- great restaurants/bars behind the hotel ie:slug and lettuce,fat buddha,ask......nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they were even happy to oblige with food after the kitchen had closed for the night! rooms extra clean and quiet! Parking is behind in multi storey at £8.00 per night but do get a slight discount when staying at the hotel if get staff to verify ticket.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvaSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    892
    523
    118
    27
    21
See reviews for
357
669
101
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2009

Stayed here with my wife over the Valentines weekend. Train station less than 10 minutes walk away and it is a great way of travelling to Durham. Arrived not long after 11 AM but very friendly receptionist (Donna) found us a room and provided us with information on the city. Room 316 is an easy access room with masses of space and wet room facility. Could not fault the room at all, it was spotlessly clean and modern. 3rd floor was quiet with only occasional noise from inside and out. Staff were quite outstanding in their friendliness and cheerfulness, well done to them all. Hotel is in an excellent location and right in the centre so everything is within an easy walk. Had breakfast on one morning and it was terrific value for £7.50 with all the food of good quality and yet again cheerful service. Highly recommend the accommodation at this price.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights as we wanted somewhere near to where family lived but didn't want to be near the hotels that take in a lot of football supporters in the Newcastle or Sunderland areas and also didn't want to have to go out of the building to a restaurant next door or nearby for breakfast which several of the Premier Inn's in the area seem to have.

The hotel is clean and the rooms although basic very comfortable. The staff are pleasant and helpful and the breakfasts substantial we didn't eat any other meal in the hotel so can't comment on dinner or snacks.

The hotel has no car park of it's own so visitors have to use the multi story park behind the hotel and pay a reduced rate of £6 for 24 hours. If you take your car in and out you then pay the hourly charges each time.

Although the hotel is basically quiet we did find we could hear the people in the room next door laughing and talking until quite late the first night we were there and were woken by what seemed to be bottle banks that must be in the area being emptied during the night.
We didn't need to use the internet facility but I noted the cost for wifi was £5 for 1 hour or £10 for a 24 hour period. It seems costly to me.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorcestershireBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2009

I stayed here for one night with my boyfriend and we were very impressed. The hotel is in easy walking distance from the train station and city centre. It is in a quiet location and was very clean. We were checked in 2 hours early, with no additional cost and staff were very helpful. The room had a nice flat screen tv, huge bed and spotless bathroom, just what we needed. Air conditioning is self adjustable on the wall. Our one grumble was that some guests had smoked in the hallway and the smell had come under the door, even though there is a no smoking policy throughout. Also in the early hours men coming back to their rooms were very noisy and were banging on the wrong room door, this was no fault of the hotel however. We dined in the restaurant and the food was nice although slightly over priced. An extremely comfortable stay!

  • Liked — clean and comfortable room, good location
  • Disliked — loud guests during the night
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank seahorseuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2008

This is, by far, the best Premier/Travel Inn that I've stayed in. Lovely clean rooms, with large comfy bed, flat screen TV, heating/aircon, hairdryer, coffee/tea making facilities. The location is convenient for the railway station and town centre. The staff were very helpful and breakfast was good. We were able to leave our luggage in a secure room after checkout (as we were catching a train later in the day and wanted time to look around Durham) - this is something that we haven't been able to do at the city-centre Travelodges we've visited! One slight hiccup arose when my husband went to check in (I was at a meeting). The reception staff tried very hard to insist that he had booked a single room (despite the booking confirmation print out clearly stating that a double room had been reserved!). We suspect that they may try to give anyone who appears to be a single traveller a smaller room (all rooms are the same price)! However, that aside, it's a great place to stay and excellent value for money!

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaughingLlama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2008

Having stayed at many 4 and 5 star properties recently, I have to say that our 2 night experience, with our family at this very centrally situated and friendly Durham hotel was excellent.The bedrooms were of a good size; clean and comfortable, with an enormous double bed, fitting for Bishop.
Breakfast was very good value and freshly cooked - no 'stewing' of re-heated bacon/eggs etc. here. An excellent find, only a few yards from the city centre.

  • Liked — location and friendliness plus value
  • Disliked — It is located at the bottom of some steep, but fairly easily negotiated steps.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank macna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2008

I stayed here whilst on a business trip that coincided with visiting my son who is a student a Durham University.

Very friendly and helpful staff at reception who were happy to find a room on the quiet side of the building (not sure it was noisy on the other), and did so with a smile. Room itself was clean, modern, comfortable.

Breakfast was quick and friendly.

Location was perfect as a short walk from the city centre.

  • Liked — Friendly staff, location.
  • Disliked — No free parking (but discounted rate at nearby car park).
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank YTSnout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,078 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Property: Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Address: Freemans Place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing