We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
bolton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“value for money”
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Having never stayed at a premier inn before I arrived not expecting too much. What a pleasant surprise! The hotel is very clean with everything in good working order. Breakfast is adaquate for the price and the staff are very very friendly. Parking is just behind the hotel and the location couldn't be better. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachellibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Guest Relations Advisor at Premier Inn Durham City Centre, responded to this review, 16 September 2009
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    882
    518
    117
    27
    21
See reviews for
351
665
101
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Travelled to Durham with my husband and son to attend Open Days at Durham University. I found this hotel on trip advisor and thought I would give it a whirl, as the reviews were good.

The hotel is in an excellent quiet location in the City Centre and steps at the side of the hotel lead straight into the heart of the City Centre. There is a multi storey car park behind the hotel which is easily accessed.

The hotel offered a high standard of overnight stay. The rooms were spotless and very spacious. Breakfast was included in the price of the stay with a choice of full English or continental. The hotel offered excellent value for money and was easy to walk to the University sites from the hotel. The staff were hard working and very welcoming.

Durham City is well worth a visit and I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wigan1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Guest Relations Advisor at Premier Inn Durham City Centre, responded to this review, 16 September 2009
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Having had the great misfortune of staying in the Sheffield City Centre branch of the Premier Inn in the past, I was a bit miffed at being sent to the Premier inn in Durham.

The other reviews on this site have it right. The staff go miles out of their way to chat, engage with you, help you out and generally create the impression of the hotel as a great place to stay. They should be commended and rewarded by their Management, as this is some of the best service I've seen in any kind of hotel, let alone a faceless chain.

Obviously it's a premier inn so there are limitations, but the building is relatively new and so it's not too bad. If you're on a budget in Durham, stay here - service impeccable.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passporttonowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Guest Relations Advisor at Premier Inn Durham City Centre, responded to this review, 16 September 2009
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

I was actually quite surprised to find a Premier Inn as number 1 on TripAdvisor, but having stayed there, I now understand. We arrived late on a Sunday night, and were greeted by Karen. A staff member with personality! In a chain hotel! Marvellous. Our rooms were both very clean and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant, as we arrived quite late, and the service (good lad, Sam) was exceptional - very attentive, while the food was also very, very good. The location is great, only 5-10 mins walk to the cathedral/market square - Durham itself is lovely. Yes you have to pay for parking, but as I knew before I booked that was fine. Overall, this is top value, has excellent staff, and is a great place to stay in Durham.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheodorsLounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

The best location for a hotel in Durham with a 10 min walk to the city centre, the only drawback is having to use a multi story car park overnight (£4 with discount from hotel).
The hotel offers dinner and breakfast and has a bar. It is clean and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grumpyoldsoandso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

My wife and I stayed for one night at the Premier Inn and we were impressed. The rooms are comfortable and roomy. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast excellent. It was a nice surprise to get a freshly cooked breakfast rather than a buffet. We will definitely be staying again. The only complaint and the reason for 4 instead of 5 stars was that the bathroom had not been cleaned in our room but other wise it was an excellent choice.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pj270744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mellieha, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Our brass band travelled to Durham to play and march at the 2009 Durham Miners Gala. I can't remember when I've been made to feel so welcome in a British 'chain' hotel. My wife and I were particularly lucky to get a top floor room with oodles of space, but the whole band were treated extremely well and all the staff went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. Breakfast, extra - but freshly cooked to order, was decent value and the only quibble would be that because the hotel was full, there were delays and mix ups with orders.
The situation is perfect: the shortest of walks to many eateries, pubs and information centre; only a little further to the market square and all the shops. We've already booked for next year!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff_and_Juls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,046 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Property: Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Address: Freemans Place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing