We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in a prime location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Would go along with all the reviews on the site. Was not on a budget, but given I was in Durham to see Durham and not the hotel, thought I'd trust fellow TA reviewers. The service from the reception staff was above and beyond what was expected, rooms were clean, warm and sizeable and the location was a short stroll from the centre of durham and right on the doorstep of the new bars and restaurants in Walkergate.

The latter may be an issue with some...the noise from the bars goes on until quite late...if this is likely to disturb you, would ask for a room on the other side of the hotel! Did not go for the breakfast....there are some great coffee bars in Durham, so why pay the extra?! You will need to pay for parking...there is a multi-storey at the back of the hotel (Note....this is confusingly signposted as Short Stay!)

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sqwawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Guest Relations Advisor at Premier Inn Durham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2009

Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,635)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,546 - 1,552 of 1,635 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2009

Having never stayed at a premier inn before I arrived not expecting too much. What a pleasant surprise! The hotel is very clean with everything in good working order. Breakfast is adaquate for the price and the staff are very very friendly. Parking is just behind the hotel and the location couldn't be better. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachellibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Guest Relations Advisor at Premier Inn Durham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2009

Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

Travelled to Durham with my husband and son to attend Open Days at Durham University. I found this hotel on trip advisor and thought I would give it a whirl, as the reviews were good.

The hotel is in an excellent quiet location in the City Centre and steps at the side of the hotel lead straight into the heart of the City Centre. There is a multi storey car park behind the hotel which is easily accessed.

The hotel offered a high standard of overnight stay. The rooms were spotless and very spacious. Breakfast was included in the price of the stay with a choice of full English or continental. The hotel offered excellent value for money and was easy to walk to the University sites from the hotel. The staff were hard working and very welcoming.

Durham City is well worth a visit and I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wigan1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Guest Relations Advisor at Premier Inn Durham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2009

Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Having had the great misfortune of staying in the Sheffield City Centre branch of the Premier Inn in the past, I was a bit miffed at being sent to the Premier inn in Durham.

The other reviews on this site have it right. The staff go miles out of their way to chat, engage with you, help you out and generally create the impression of the hotel as a great place to stay. They should be commended and rewarded by their Management, as this is some of the best service I've seen in any kind of hotel, let alone a faceless chain.

Obviously it's a premier inn so there are limitations, but the building is relatively new and so it's not too bad. If you're on a budget in Durham, stay here - service impeccable.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Passporttonowhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Guest Relations Advisor at Premier Inn Durham City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2009

Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

I was actually quite surprised to find a Premier Inn as number 1 on TripAdvisor, but having stayed there, I now understand. We arrived late on a Sunday night, and were greeted by Karen. A staff member with personality! In a chain hotel! Marvellous. Our rooms were both very clean and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant, as we arrived quite late, and the service (good lad, Sam) was exceptional - very attentive, while the food was also very, very good. The location is great, only 5-10 mins walk to the cathedral/market square - Durham itself is lovely. Yes you have to pay for parking, but as I knew before I booked that was fine. Overall, this is top value, has excellent staff, and is a great place to stay in Durham.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheodorsLounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

The best location for a hotel in Durham with a 10 min walk to the city centre, the only drawback is having to use a multi story car park overnight (£4 with discount from hotel).
The hotel offers dinner and breakfast and has a bar. It is clean and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpyoldsoandso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

My wife and I stayed for one night at the Premier Inn and we were impressed. The rooms are comfortable and roomy. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast excellent. It was a nice surprise to get a freshly cooked breakfast rather than a buffet. We will definitely be staying again. The only complaint and the reason for 4 instead of 5 stars was that the bathroom had not been cleaned in our room but other wise it was an excellent choice.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank pj270744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,139 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
443 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Address: Freemans place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £53 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing