We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location excellent hotel”
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Stayed for two nights room was the usual high standard shower was brilliant. Restaurant and bar a bit on the small side but can cope with the amount of guests. Very central to all Durham has to offer with bars and restuarants within two minutes walking distance. Can be a bit noisy late at night as revellers make their way home but that seems to be only at weekends. Multi-storey car parking to the back of the hotel very reasonable at £8 per 24 hours. ( £6 if you get the hotel to stamp your ticket ) Swimming pool and ice rink right next door to hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CrabbitScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Durham City Centre, responded to this review, 4 February 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are delighted that our hotel and clean comfortable rooms met your expectations. Our hotel is in a great proximity to the City Centre making it easy to get around. Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    861
    502
    113
    25
    21
See reviews for
334
650
98
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

After stumbling across the glowing reviews for the Durham Premier Inn on Tripadvisor, we decided to book for New Year's Eve. It was a little tricky to find, but didn't take too long. As previous reviewers have said, it doesn't have a car park, but there is one right next to it. I think we paid 6 pounds for 24 hours.
The room (number 208) was fine - not big, but not cramped. It did look straight out onto the Slug and Lettuce however, and there was some noise from bottle-collections, so if you need quiet then ask for a room on the other side of the building.
It had a good TV, the usual tea and coffee things (although the mugs and spoons were not as clean as I'd like), and a decent clean bathroom with everything essential there - soap, shower gel etc.
The best things about the room were the bed and the heating. It's so nice to be able to choose the temperature most comfortable for you in a hotel. The bed was huge and very comfortable, and we really slept well.
This will sound a bit picky, but something that bothered me a bit was the lighting. All the bulbs in the room were those very stark white ones, and with all the purple used in the colour scheme it felt rather cold, not warm and welcoming. This may not bother most people however.
The hotel is very well located, no need to use the car until you leave Durham. We didn't use the restaurant or bar but they looked nice. We had no need to interact much with the staff, but when we did they were pleasant and helpful, despite being very busy at that time of year.
We would certainly stay here again, and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PennyFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2009

This hotel was in a very central location near to the cathedral and shops. The room was large with lots of space. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Food was good and we didn't have to wait too long to be served. Would definately use again.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pauwed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Durham City Centre, responded to this review, 24 November 2009
Thank you for your review. It is good to hear of your positive experience with Premier Inn and that our central location, helpful friendly staff, restaurant facilities ensured your stay was a good one. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Sadly we had to travel to Durham at short notice to attend the funeral of a friend. Never having previously been to Durham I looked towards tripadvisor for a hotel to stay in. We chose the Premier Inn having read all the reviews. Despite our uspet ( the thought of the funeral the following day) what an enjoyable stay it was. All the hotel staff from reception thru the bar and into the restaurant were friendly and helpful. The hotel itself and our room in particular was very clean and fresh. We also had a very enjoyable meal the restaurant. Having a couple of hours spare the following morning we were further delighted to find right above the hotel were the main shopping areas and restaurants leading into the market square. Unfortunately the only access to the shops appeared to be several very steep flights of stairs situated some 30 / 40 yards as you turn left outside of the hotel entrance. Being in our sixties we both found this a bit duanting. Just a tip for anyone with walking / climbing stairs difficulties - go past these steps another 50 yards or so (look for the street 'no entry' signs ) and there you will find a lift which will take you up all levels (about 7 in all) with the shops, restaurants, market being on levels 5 and 7. So much did we enjoy our stay we both decided we would like to return to Durham, in happier circumstances for a short break and have a proper look at the city. When we do there will be no doubt which hotel we will be staying inn. Thank you - all the Premier Inn staff and whoever thought of putting a lift there.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajmo2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Durham City Centre, responded to this review, 3 November 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It is good to know that your stay with us was a comfortable one given the sad circumstances for your visit. Our hotel is in a great proximity for visiting Durham City Centre and hopefully during your next visit you will have time to explore our location much more. Once again thank you for your review we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

Stayed for one night while on business in Durham. This is one of the best hotels I have used recently. The staff here are exceptionally friendly and helpful and they create a warm and welcoming atmosphere The rooms are clean and simple but with plenty of space. Very comfortable bed and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Durham City Centre, responded to this review, 20 October 2009
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback following your stay with us.
Our staff do endeavour to delivery a first class level of customer care, our main objective is to ensure a good nights stay for all our guests. It is good to hear that our great quality bed and breakfast facilities ensured you had a comfortable stay. We look forward to welcoming you to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

The staff here are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and fairly minimalist, whilst still having all that you need in them. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever been in, in fact I said to my other half I wish we could take it home with us.

We were on the carpark side of the hotel, on the ground floor, and experienced no noise at all.

I would recommend the breakfast - one contributor said there are lots of coffee bars, why bother, but I'd say this - it's only about £7, they cook your choices to order, and you can have as much of everything else (tea/coffee/toast/cereal/buns/yoghurt/fruit) as you want. So it's a pretty good price.

Very pleased with this hotel, excellent value, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aerosmithfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Durham City Centre, responded to this review, 1 October 2009
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2009

Would go along with all the reviews on the site. Was not on a budget, but given I was in Durham to see Durham and not the hotel, thought I'd trust fellow TA reviewers. The service from the reception staff was above and beyond what was expected, rooms were clean, warm and sizeable and the location was a short stroll from the centre of durham and right on the doorstep of the new bars and restaurants in Walkergate.

The latter may be an issue with some...the noise from the bars goes on until quite late...if this is likely to disturb you, would ask for a room on the other side of the hotel! Did not go for the breakfast....there are some great coffee bars in Durham, so why pay the extra?! You will need to pay for parking...there is a multi-storey at the back of the hotel (Note....this is confusingly signposted as Short Stay!)

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sqwawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Guest Relations Advisor at Premier Inn Durham City Centre, responded to this review, 17 September 2009
Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.3 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Property: Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Address: Freemans Place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing