We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right in the centre, excellent value for money” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Bavaria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Right in the centre, excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2010

The Premier Inn Durham City Centre is an attractive, modern hotel. It offers standard Premier Inn, but very clean rooms with good beds. You won`t find any luxury amenities, but all the basics are there for a good price. Staff both at check-in and in the restaurant, where we had the excellent value for money breakfast, are very friendly and helpful. If you arrive by car, put it in the adjacent garage and get a discount at reception. From the hotel it`s only a short stroll into town centre and to Durham`s major attraction: its impressive cathedral.
Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank contrail330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Durham City Centre, responded to this review, 9 July 2010
Thanks for your review, we are pleased to hear that our hotel and facilities met your expectations and your stay was a comfortable one. Thank you for your feedback regarding our team members, they will be delighted to receive your comments. They are committed to delivering the highest level of service to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    493
    107
    24
    21
See reviews for
327
629
97
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

Functional accommodation in a central location. Friendly, efficient staff. All the purple (partlcularly the horrible purple screenprint on the walls) starts to get irritating after a while - we covered it up with a towel.

Overall though, pretty good value.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MajorVoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
116 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2010

We'd rate this hotel at about 3.5 stars directed mainly at business accommodation and budget conscious travellers. Typical chain hotel but reasonably priced, very clean, with helpful staff and a good breakfast. It is tricky to locate by car if not concentrating - our GPS said that we had reached our destination in the middle of an overbridge, having missed the off-ramp on the left that went underneath to the hotel.

A few negatives:
- wifi at UKP 5/hr is ridiculous - better to put the rate up a bit and make free.
- Car parking is in the adjacent public carpark at UKP 7.50 overnight.
- the evening menu was marred by many items not being available, including rice!
- some loud banging early morning from rubbish trucks in the lane between the hotel and the public carpark.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

We have just returned home from a 2 night stay at the Premier Inn Durham. The hotel was just as good as the previous reviews say - a huge comfy bed, a great shower in a nice clean bathroom and its location near to numerous busy bars and restaurants was perfect for us, although this might not be to everyone's taste. We were in a room to the side of the hotel (Room 405) overlooking the swimming pool next door, so outside noise was not a factor for us.We didn't eat or drink in the hotel, so can't comment on that but we can certainly confirm that the staff were exceptionally friendly, helpful and professional (particularly Donna who was on reception when we arrived and departed). All in all a super base for us to visit wonderful Durham - I would not hesitate to recommend it and look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NittenStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

Great location handy for shops restaurants, pubs including Wetherspoons. Lovely spotlessly clean modern room and superior bathroom without the off-putting black mould on the grout that most other hotels are guilty of. Best of all were the staff who went out of their way to be helpful at the same time always friendly and smiling.
Secure parking in next door multi-storey car park at £7 a day where you can take the car in and out as much as you wish.
Would recommend this Premier Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronny84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, Kent
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

Travellin up from Kent to enjoy a Bank Holiday break with friends who live near Durham we embarked on our journey late Friday night thinkin we'd got the travel situation completely sussed. Hmmmm, didn't factor in chaos round the M20, Dartford Tunnel n M25 after an earlier accident. Thought at this point it might be wise to advise the Premier Inn that we were most definitely goin to be a late arrival. The lady who took my call could not have been more helpful n when I mentioned that we were travellin 300 miles with two 9 year olds n didn't expect to be with her until about 1am she kindly enquired if we would like any sandwiches after our journey n made me aware that the bar would still be open for a well deserved nightcap for us and a hot chocolate for the girls. Very impressed with that level of service!
We arrived slightly earlier than anticipated and as my better half parked the car (with the minimum of fuss in the public car-park), myself and our weary girls were warmly greeted by the receptionist who had been informed of who we were and where we had travelled from. Gold star for that!
After a very swift and efficient check in at this modern, clean, well-presented n cute little Premier Inn we had hot chocolates all round before restin our weary heads in our well appointed family room.
We had been allocated Room 217 and it suited us perfectly. The room was clean, well presented n adequately sized for 2 adults n 2 children to share, with flat screen TV, hairdryer, T&C facilities n an incredibly powerful n appreciated shower! The room was also on the swimmin pool side of the buildin so we slept soundly n didn't get woken by any rowdy revellers in the early hours as has been mentioned by previous travellers who were accomodated on the Slug & Lettuce side.
We stayed 3 nights and had our towels changed n beds made every day, despite the fact we were pretty much the last down to breakfast every mornin n probably messed up the housekeepin routine....lol
Breakfast was good value for money in terms of eat as much as you like. You can't really fault croissant, toast, cereal, fruit, yogurt, muffins n a fry up to set you up for the day can you! Was also quite novel to make your own hot drinks as a novice 'barrista' from the self service machine that did in fact deliver pretty acceptable beverages.
All in all this particular Premier Inn (n we've stayed at a few!) is clearly exceptionally well managed and staffed. It is ideally located for explorin the culture of Durham by day n the hotspots by night, n for those with families the public swimmin pool looked quite invitin n modern, although we didn't have time to roadtest it for ourselves.
Parkin is at a discounted rate n we couldn't complain at £22 for our three nights, comin n goin with the car as many times as we pleased.
My only teeny tiny gripe would be the drunken revellers who fall through the doors anywhere from midnight till 2/3am needin to use the toilet in the lobby area. Personally I don't feel they should be allowed in for a quick pee stop. Our 2 girls found it mildly amusin, as we sat windin down from our long drive on the first night, to see half cut girls staggerin in, missin their shoes, attemptin to negotiate the toilet door in a drunken stupor, n me prayin to God that they were throwin up all over the place in there before they staggered back out again into the open street, but I didn't.
As I say that's a very, very minor gripe as the other 2 nights we were safely tucked up in the very comfortable beds n completely none the wiser!
I would definitely recommend this as the perfect base for explorin Durham n the surrounding areas. Excellent Value for Money n we'll most certainly be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sevens14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Durham City Centre, responded to this review, 3 August 2010
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and our hotel, ideal location and our great team here exceeded your expectations. Our team members will be delighted to receive your feedback, our team are committed to delivering the highest level of service to our guests and your feedback is so important to us in our continued endeavours to provide our guests with this service. It is also great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our Kids Eat Free Premier Breakfast meaning 2 children can eat free with every 1 adults breakfast purchased. Once again thank you for your review of your stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2010

We stayed at this hotel just for 1 night. The hotel was easy to find, it's in a fabulous location to explore the city centre.

A multi storey car park is right behind the hotel so parking is not a problem, the hotel can validate your parking ticket so we paid just £7.50 for 24 hours.

The check in was very efficient, the receptionist was very informative and delivered service with a smile. Any request we had was no problem at all!!

The room was comfortable, spotlessley clean and cosy. The bed lined and bathroom towels were spotless.

Breakfast was very good value for money with lots of choice. We were a couple staying here and paid £7.95 per person for bereakfast, however if you were a family with kids under the age of 12 (i think or maybe 13) then up to 2 kids can eat free with paying adults. The breakfast staff were extremely friendly and the restaurant area was extremely clean and modern.

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone that wishes to stay in Durhan.

We will defiinately be staying here again!!!!!!!

Thank you so much Premier Inn - Delivering service and quality of hotel that will take some beating - also thank you for training your staff so well for them all to deliver service with a smile that you don't see very often now.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsAp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Durham City Centre, responded to this review, 14 May 2010
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in Durham. Our hotel is ideally located for exploring the City Centre. Our team members will be very pleased to receive your feedback, they are committed to delivering the highest level of service to all our guest. Your comments are very much appreciated in our continued efforts to improve standards and meet all our guests requirements. Thanks for your review we hope very much to welcome you back to Durham in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel
2.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Durham City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Durham City Centre

Property: Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Address: Freemans Place | Walkergate, Durham DH1 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#3 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Durham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Durham, home to the World Heritage Site of Durham Castle and Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Durham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Durham City Centre Hotel Durham
Durham Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing