We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ultimate Luxury AND dog friendly too”
other travellers have booked this property
ευρύχωρο διάδρομο
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
ευρύχωρο διάδρομο
Spring at the cottage Beautiful day for tea on the pation
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
ευρύχωρο διάδρομο
Spring at the cottage
Beautiful day for tea on the pation
spacious hallway
Living room with woodburner
Living room with views of the garden
wood burning stove
Living room
open plan kitchen diner
Ensuite bedroom
ensuite shower room
Luxury temple spa toiletries
second bedroom with zip link beds
bathroom with over shower bath and heated towel rail
Welcome basket
Dog friendly
water feature
secure dog friendly garden
Afternoon tea on the patio
secure storage for bikes
Kynren - An epic tale of England - only 5 minutes away from the cottage
Beamish Museum nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bridget C
Stapleford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ultimate Luxury AND dog friendly too”
Reviewed 29 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Having read good reviews for this cottage we booked a one week stay over Christmas. Have to say that the previous reviews were spot on accurate. Friendly welcome from the owners (log fire was pre lit) Everything you could have wanted was provided along with a welcome basket. Some 'dog friendly' places are actually barely dog tolerant but this place really is dog friendly with treats for the dogs, 'I'm on holiday' collar tags and spare bedding, bowls, leads, etc. Very highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart M
2 reviews
“Immaculate Cottage ”
Reviewed 30 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Simply cannot fault this beautiful little cottage. It was the most relaxed break I've had in a long time. Peaceful and tranquil, with a huge bed! Which is the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The location is ideal, with lots to do in the local area. Wether walking in the Dale's or visiting ancient castles or modern day spa's.
We have two dogs and it was as much a joy to them as it was to us! Free doggie treats, dog cleaning facilities and lots more on offer. A beautiful touch was the printed dog tags with the cottage address and emergency vets number. The owner, Ang, was so friendly and welcoming which gave a very homely feel to the stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2016
Aww thank you, we are so pleased you and the dogs enjoyed your stay and the cottage. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave such a lovely review and hope you will be able to visit us again in the future. Thanks again. Ang
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerys C
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We just had a weekend break here,and it's absolutely wonderful,the cottage is of a very high standard in every way,huge comfy beds,fluffy white towels,everything was perfect,very private and quiet,but a short drive away there's Durham City,Beamish Museum,Durham Cathedral etc,we didn't see everything we wanted to se so we're going back after Christmas it's a beautiful part of the country. Back to the cottage,on arrival Ang was there to warmly greet us,and showed us where everything was,the welcome pack was fantastic and much appreciated,had no problems at all,and with the under floor heating and log burner it was lovely and cosy to relax in after a day of sightseeing. I would highly recommend staying there,it's child friendly,if you have dogs they're welcome too,caters for everyone,at a very reasonable rate as well. My husband and I loved it..can't think of one negative thing to say,because it was perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything..there really wasn't anything we didn't like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2016
That's really lovely, thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, it really is appreciated. We are really pleased you liked the cottage and enjoyed your stay. Look forward to welcoming you back after Christmas. Thanks again. Ang
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, cosy barn conversion of excellent high standard.”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting our daughter in Durham The owner, Ang, is very welcoming and helpful. The barn conversion has been done to a very high standard, with underfloor heating and log burner which makes it very cosy. The location is very quiet whilst within 15 mins walk of a good local pub and 25 mins drive of Durham.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback it really is very much appreciated. We are really pleased you enjoyed the cottage and your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skillibub...
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This cottage is a great find”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a great find! This cottage is immaculate and Angela has thought of everything to make your stay comfortable. All the equipment is of really good quality. She allows dogs, and our two loved the dog friendly enclosed garden with sheep in the field beyond.
There was a welcome basket, fresh flowers and crisp white bedding and fluffy towels -
also garden furniture for drinks or meals on the patio. The beds are huge and comfortable, and there are two stunning bathrooms with power showers. She even provides temporary identity tags for the dogs - what a simple but great idea.
We had a quiet week mostly walking the dogs. We tended to eat in as the cooking facilities were so good. But there were plenty of good eating places around and lots of things to do.
Thanks Ang for a lovely week - hope to see you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The full range of modern facilities
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2016
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I'm really pleased you all had a great time and enjoyed the cottage. It would be my pleasure to have you visit us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing