We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Durham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Victorian Town House
Ranked #1 of 40 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from home”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night whilst visiting our daughter at university. Very friendly welcome, immaculately clean and wonderful breakfast to enhance our stay. We hope to make this our regular stop-over. Just need to get some dates booked in as soon as possible!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GVFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
254
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We also stayed here for my Birthday. It is a beautiful house and our room was very well appointed with a generous offering of full sized bottles of shampoos, soaps, shower gels etc. A warm welcome awaited us and we were immediately offered tea or coffee, which was freshly filtered and came complete with cake and biscuits - most welcome after a day of sightseeing. A telephone number was helpfully acquired for us as "no trouble at all". After sleeping surprisingly well, breakfast was extremely good with a wide selection of foods on offer from fruit to continental to full English, all served with cheerful, efficiency. All in all a very pleasant stay and we would not hesitate to recommend the Victorian Townhouse to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryDyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed one night on business although it was also our wedding anniversary. We walked from the railway station and it took a little finding due to us having missed the turning in the dark. We were welcomed and shown to a room to equal any we have stayed in. The owner directed us to a very good restaurant for our evening meal. Breakfast was a delight with such care taken in presentation and service. We would recommend to all.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandm6035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in the Flambard room for one night and thought it was great. An attractive and comfortable room with a view of the cathedral, friendly hosts, good breakfast and convenient location for walking into the city for dinner. Really enjoyed it and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma_on_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed at the Victorian Townhouse B & B for my husbands birthday and we were both very impressed, we had a beautiful room and a lovely breakfast, we would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Durham.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We chose the Victorian Town House for a short break on the basis of the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed.
Visiting Durham for the first time in February it was wonderful to step into a warm welcoming bedroom.
The Victorian Town House provides perfect bed and breakfast accommodation a short walk from the railway station and from the heritage sites of Durham city centre.
We concur with the many other reviewers who recommend it !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPS412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Nothing much to add to the previous guests comments. Jill and Andy made us welcome .. very comfortable, ideally located, delicious breakfast, especially with the addition of whisky on my porridge :) would definitely stay there again

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Beverley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
0.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,081 reviews
3.0 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
2.9 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victorian Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victorian Town House

Property: The Victorian Town House
Address: 2 Victoria Terrace, Durham DH1 4RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Victorian Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Town House, renovated to a high standard, is set in the heart of the World Heritage site of Durham's majestic cathedral and castle. It is only a five-minute walk from train station and city centre. It holds four star accreditation with Gold Award from Visit Britain. In addition it holds a breakfast award and Taste Durham award indicating the quality of its breakfasts using locally sourced ingredients. It provides stylish accommodation with panoramic views of Durham cathedral, castle and park. Twin, Family and Double rooms are available, providing luxury en-suite accommodation in a mixture of traditional elegance and contemporary style. Limited off-street parking is available. Wi-fi available free of charge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Victorian Town House Hotel Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing