We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hamsteels Hall”
Review of Hamsteels Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hamsteels Hall
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We have stayed at Hamsteels Hall several times over the last few years both for bed and breakfast and self-catering and we have never had a bad experience. The food is good and there is a variety to choose from. The rooms are very clean and the hosts (June and Frank) are very friendly. Hamsteels Hall is situated on the top of a hill and the views across the countryside are stunning. Hamsteels Hall is a working farm (June and Frank live on the premises) so there is the occasional "farm" smell and there are ducks and chickens walking about but it all adds to the charm. Visitor attractions are within easy driving distances from the hall.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

This is our second stay at the Hamsteels Hall Cottages and both times we have been impressed with the cleanliness and facilities within the cottages.
This time we stayed in Dairy Cottage which is the larger 3 bedroom cottages. The bedrooms were clean and well presented and the beds comfortable. The only issue we had was that the metal bedstead in the master bedroom had a foot board which my husband finds annoying as he is over 6ft!
The rest of the cottage was clean and tidy with TV's (and scart connections!) in every bedroom. There is no wifi and the mobile coverage is not great but that is not a major issue for us.
The cottages are on a farm and you often get greeted by Ducks and Chickens sitting outside on a morning.
The views across the fields are beautiful and there is plenty of outdoor space for the children to run around.
The owner, June, welcomed us with a lovely bottle of wine and showed us how to work the electric meter and the central heating and hot water. She offered more towels etc and was most welcoming.
The hot water was plentiful, if you remembered to out it on boost, as it isn't an instant hot water system. But with a dishwasher and washing machine and tumble dryer it was definately well equipped for out needs.
The cottage is on a working farm and there is the occaisional work related aroma but nothing that was unexpected.
Another great stay and we will be back at Christmas!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed in the largest self catering cottage for a week.

The good points were as follows:

Fantastic rural location with great views and plenty of communal space within the cottage. The bedrooms were also a decent size. The kitchen was well furnished. The central heating worked well.

The bad points:

The owners were totally invisible.
There was a very bad smell in the accommodation some of the time which initially I put down to being on a farm but a bit of investigation led me to believe it was the septic tank. There is a down-pipe where the smell comes from that is sealed with a blue plastic bag which I assume is to stop the smell escaping - IT DOES NOT WORK!
You have to feed the electric meter although coins are supplied (no-one explained this to us I just happened to notice the meter).
There is no brochure about the accommodation or house rules although there were brochures about local attractions although some were well out of date.
Most of the cottage was clean although when I dropped something down the side of my bed I found the dust there had its own dust.
The patio was full of weeds and there was a sharp rusty pole left there which was dangerous for young children.
The decor was not old but was getting a bit tired.
Some of the furniture was damaged.
Some of the decor was DIY.
The hot water was temperemental. The shower was OK but I only had one hot bath in 7 nights, the rest of the time the bath water was luke warm.

Overall this place was not disasterous but I could not in all conscience give it an average rating. My impression is that the owner does not have enough time to manage this part of their business properly and is letting it slide which is a real shame as this place has the potential to be fantastic. It may be that the B&B which is next door is a lot better.
.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheepygold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We have just returned from 2 nights staying in the Bull Pen. We had booked back in February for 3 people but on arrival the spare bed had not been sorted. The farm help eventually pulled a bed base from the stable, yep the stable!!, and eventually found a mattress and bedding. We had to work out services ourselves as we had no helpful guidance from a person or instruction books. The four poster bed looks lovely but was very uncomfortable. Do not use the vaccum cleaner as it smells awful. We never saw our hosts during the whole of our stay and I have never felt so unwelcome anywhere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 140,599
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This is was an amazing place to stay and we were made very welcome. It was close to all the main places we wanted to visit and the facilities was perfect. We went with our baby who was only 3 months old and it was perfect, I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank howchel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Our daughter was married in the Durham area, so we made Hamsteels Hall our base for early shopping and preparing for the festivities. We stayed in the main house in the bedroom with white walls and a king or queen bed. Of course, one must expect that to retain its historical listing, the updates must fit into strict guidelines, as in bathrooms that once were closets or anterooms. But we came for the charm, and we found it. I loved that the fireplace in the kitchen showed signs of having been part of a Roman building in an earlier era (check for the numerals on the stones). Anyone wondering where the remnants of Hadrian's Wall and other Roman settlements are has only to look in the locals homes. Food was excellent, and our hosts were very gracious. I arrived in the dark, and it was a bit of a challenge to find the right roads.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Have just returned from our most recent trip to Hamsteels Hall and as well as the usual friendly welcome from June and Frank and the wonderful views, we also had the pleasure of listening to heavenly music as there was a harp course being held in one of the self catering units! Two of the ladies were staying in the B & B and were practising in the lounge so sitting at the window seats in our four poster bedded room it was easy to imagine we had been transported back a couple of centuries to the days of the original owner. What a relaxing few days and an unexpected bonus! We wandered over to the pretty little Northumberland village of Blanchland one morning and had tea and scones in the White Monk Tearoom which is housed in the old school in the centre of the village. Highly recommended for quality of food and service. We then ventured over the moors - which were absolutely carpeted in deep purple heather - to Stanhope and barely saw another vehicle! Blanchland and lots of other picturesque little towns and villages are within an hour's drive of Hamsteels and then you have the tranquillity of the farm to come back to. We shall be visiting again in October and look forward to the peace and the friendly hospitality. Thanks for everything June and Frank!
JOanna63

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J0anna63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
4.7 mi away
The Bay Horse Inn
The Bay Horse Inn
#2 of 2 in Brandon
350 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
6.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,212 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Avenue Inn
The Avenue Inn
#1 of 1 in High Shincliffe
122 reviews
9.6 mi away
Days Inn Durham
Days Inn Durham
#14 of 18 in Durham
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamsteels Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamsteels Hall

Address: Hamsteels Lane, Durham DH7 9RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Durham
Price Range: £46 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamsteels Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self Catering cottages only 10 minutes drive from Durham City, varying in size from 1 bedroom to 3 bedrooms. Four Star Visit Britain award for each cottage. Short drive to Beamish Open Air Museum, Diggerland, Durham City, Hadrians Wall, Northumberland, Alnwick Gardens, North East Coast, Metro Centre, Sunderland. All cottages are built of stone, and are fully modernised inside. The small cottages sleep 2-3, and the larger ones with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms sleep 8+. Off road parking beside each cottage. Wifi. Owners live on site. Prices include heating and electricity cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hamsteels Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing