We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Excellent , Peaceful, Charming place to stay”
Review of Hamsteels Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hamsteels Hall
Reviewed 3 January 2010

This was a lovely New Year weekend, in Bull Pen Cottage at Hamsteels. All the accomodation is a lovely specification with beautiful surroundings. Frank and June the owners are genuine warm people who make your stay extremely welcome. We are going back initially in Feb 2010 and then the summer 2010.

I cannot imagine anybody who respects values and appreciattes such a beautiful charming and character laden building, finding faults with Hamsteels Hall or Frank and June (the owners) hospitality.

May I make a suggestion that anyone who wants bland matching cutlery and bedding go to a standard national hotel group.

Frank and June keep up the good work !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisandLindaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2009

We stayed at hamsteels hall for the weekend recently and had a lovely time, June and Frank (owners) were very good hosts who would drop everything to make sure our visit was a pleasant one, being a history enthusiast i was totally amazed by the house which is surrounded by amazing views of peaceful countryside. we found we had the choice of rooms which varied from 17th century grandure to modern spacious open plan cottages. The food was also excellant and we were even given a choice of when we would like to be served breakfast instead of the usual "breakfast is served at 7am". On the sunday afternoon frank also invited us to watch him herd his sheep (with the best trained dog i have ever seen) which was a real sight to see. Its not often you visit a strange place and feel completely at home, Overall my experience was excellant, will definately visit again , keep up the good work guys!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathyngaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

First stayed here in August 2007 in the "Red Room" which was quaint, clean and comfy and I loved sitting at the big window and looking out over the garden and hills. This is a Listed Building and they have books about the history downstairs in the lounge so you can imagine the original owner, Miss Vane Tempest, who was a kindly person, running the household! Toilet and shower were a bit small but restrictions on development apply to Listed Buildings and my husband and I are not exactly sylph like but we coped well!

Returned this year with my Canadian cousin and his wife and they had the "Green Room" while we made use of the newer "cottage" room attached to the self catering as it has facilities for the disabled and my husband now has mobility restrictions. We were all delighted with our stay but the Canadians were disappointed that they didn't find a ghost in their room!

Breakfast is a very friendly affair and we had some really interesting conversations with other guests. Plenty of choice for breakfast and one morning I decided to have scrambled egg and smoked salmon for a change. Landlady, June, goes out of her way to help and when we had to get the Canadians on an early morning train, she got up earlier to make sure they had a full breakfast before they left.

The situation is peaceful with lovely views and we have recommended this place to lots of our friends and relatives. We will certainly be going back!

Jo B.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0anna63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

Had to write a review after reading one about this b and b! Hubby and I stayed there last weekend and had an enjoyable experience. We booked as we could take our two sheepdogs and it was close to family in Durham.
We found the Hall a typical old farmhouse with lots of character. Our twin room was pretty and clean, decorated in a classic way with old pieces of furniture and fitted carpets. Our private bathroom with roll top bath was great, although we didn't have any loo paper!!! (While some people would worry about the cracked floor tile, to us it is just part of an old house.) June was helpful and friendly and the food good, and we enjoyed hearing about the history of the farm.
We were not disappointed as it was 'exactly what it said on the tin! A farm b and b! Will definately stay again!

Stayed: August 2008
Thank suziebowks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ethrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
9.6 mi away
Days Inn Durham
Days Inn Durham
#14 of 18 in Durham
245 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Bay Horse Inn
The Bay Horse Inn
#2 of 2 in Brandon
351 reviews
8.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
8 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,212 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Avenue Inn
The Avenue Inn
#1 of 1 in High Shincliffe
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamsteels Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamsteels Hall

Address: Hamsteels Lane, Durham DH7 9RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Durham
Price Range: £46 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamsteels Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self Catering cottages only 10 minutes drive from Durham City, varying in size from 1 bedroom to 3 bedrooms. Four Star Visit Britain award for each cottage. Short drive to Beamish Open Air Museum, Diggerland, Durham City, Hadrians Wall, Northumberland, Alnwick Gardens, North East Coast, Metro Centre, Sunderland. All cottages are built of stone, and are fully modernised inside. The small cottages sleep 2-3, and the larger ones with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms sleep 8+. Off road parking beside each cottage. Wifi. Owners live on site. Prices include heating and electricity cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hamsteels Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing