We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous !!!!!”
Review of Hamsteels Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hamsteels Hall
Reviewed 18 January 2011

This was all I had hoped it would be, charming, olde worlde surroundings, the converted barn we stayed in was "Dairy Cottage" which was the renovated & modern self catering. The owners, June & Frank also showed us round all the self catering units, and the B&B in the main farmhouse. Everything was superb, a mix of farmhouse, modern, and olde worlde charm. We visited many of the surrounding area, including the fantastic shops in newcastle and durham. Buit we really want to visit again in the summer so that we can take advantage of the walks in the beautiful countryside.
If you are single, a couple or a family the there is something for you here. June and Frank offer warmth and hospitality in a world that is sadly lacking in the good old fashioned manners and kindness.
It was my birthday and I enjoyed it immensly.
Thank you June & Frank.xxx

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeverleyWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2010

We were looking to stay in an authentic English countryside B&B and this was just the ticket! We both really enjoyed the quirkiness of the old farmhouse. (Nothing worse than expecting "old" and getting over-renovated "trying-to-look-old"). It was obviously decorated in keeping with the buildings' age and you could tell a lot of thought was put in to it. Our room was lovely (we were in a 4-poster-bed room too) and the views from the window seats were beautiful. Breakfast was wonderful in front of the big old fireplace.
Clean & comfortable and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BridgesNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

I feel we stayed somewhere different from others reviews on here. We have stayed in lots of very old buildings (castles, barn convertions,farm houses) in the past. This one was our worst.
The web site picture of the front of the house must be a very old one. As now its very over grown and looking tied. Broken wooden bench old planters stacked inside each other. Not much stoned area left on the ground as its all over grown with weeds and grass. We drove passed the entrance twice thinking it was the back entrance.
No outside lights on at night so not nice when coming back in the evenings
The room. On first entering didnt like at all wanted to walk straight back out. It was cold and again tied looking. The heating was put on and worked fine. The rest of our stay we had to open the window as we were too hot.
The carpet was really old stretched stained and didnt feel like there was any underlay. You could see the patterns of the floor boards.
The fire place was lovely but had been spoilt with all the junk leaflets in it. The set of draws were scary, very tall un-useable, leaned a lot into the room and i was un- impressed with all the personal belongings left in the top draws.
The hospitality tray was well stocked but the complimentary shampoo/ shower gel was half used. The bathroom was very small. There was a very dusty old basket on the floor for toilet rolls, the shower has sealent hanging off and no heat in there so we had to prop the door open with a shoe. At the sink there was a very old plastic pot with cotton wool in. The tub was so old you just wouldnt use its contents. It should never of been in there new or old.
The lady who owns it was lovely and i think she has put all her efforts for the last 10yrs into building the new self catering appartments (that from the outside looked lovely) and neglected the house.
Bedding and towles were lovely and clean and changed regulary.
Breakfast was good too, with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaroleM41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

Stayed there for a week's holiday in Clydesdale Cottage. This was really spacious, very well equipped and clean. June was really nice and everyone was very friendly. The nearby countryside is beautiful and the villagers in Lanchester welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herts1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Hamsteels Hall is an old listed farmhouse located on a very quiet road in the middle of nowhere. The building has been brought back from ruin by the owners. It has large B&B rooms, with small split en suite facilities. The king-size 4 poster was very comfortable. We stayed in the B&B and did not use any of the self catering cottages.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Extremely clean and well presented rooms with a huge amount of space. So quiet that you couldn't hear the sheep or the birds. Did see bats out of the window though. Food was exceptionally good with nothing being too much trouble. Best B&B we have stayed in for 20 years!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamsfamily071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We stayed in Bull Pen for a week and had a very enjoyable time. It was a central location for days out in Durham, Newcastle, Hadrian's Wall, Beamish, the Wear Dales and local villages and countryside. The accomodation is spacious and comfortable, has good parking and is easy to find. The welcome lacked a few finishing touches (limited intro folder and no added extras, oven not clean and drawers dusty) but not bad enough to spoil our experience. You get what it says on the tin which is pefect for a break in the country side. We struggled to find a supermarket at first but found lovely small shops in Lanchester. Morrisons in Consett turned out to be the nearest and was extremely friendly. Hamsteels Farm is a good place to spend a holiday and especially if you're looking to get away from it all.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Floridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
6.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
8.0 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,168 reviews
6.9 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Bay Horse Inn
The Bay Horse Inn
#2 of 2 in Brandon
351 reviews
6.5 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
8.3 mi away
The Avenue Inn
The Avenue Inn
#1 of 1 in High Shincliffe
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamsteels Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamsteels Hall

Address: Hamsteels Lane, Durham DH7 9RS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Durham
Price Range: £48 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hamsteels Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self Catering cottages only 10 minutes drive from Durham City, varying in size from 1 bedroom to 3 bedrooms. Four Star Visit Britain award for each cottage. Short drive to Beamish Open Air Museum, Diggerland, Durham City, Hadrians Wall, Northumberland, Alnwick Gardens, North East Coast, Metro Centre, Sunderland. All cottages are built of stone, and are fully modernised inside. The small cottages sleep 2-3, and the larger ones with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms sleep 8+. Off road parking beside each cottage. Wifi. Owners live on site. Prices include heating and electricity cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Hamsteels Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing