We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oak Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oak Cottage
Ranked #13 of 39 Durham B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Oak Cottage is a lovely place to stay, we stayed for 3 nights and were very comfortable. It is situated in a very small village therefore it is very quiet. As far as we are aware the nearest shop is about 1 mile away but larger shopping areas are a very easy 15 minute drive away - a car is essential.
The hosts are very welcoming and friendly, they are also excellent sources of local information. The room itself is very comfortable and spacious and as other reviewers comment, the birds in the garden are wonderful to watchn
We would happily go to Oak Cottage again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eandg w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
33
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed 1 night in this lovely family home - very comfortable, very friendly, helpful owners with a wonderful view of woodpeckers and nut hatches plus all sorts of other birds feeding from the bird table as we sat having a lovely breakfast in the sun in the conservatory. Very handy for Durham.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parkerknool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

A true gem. Lovely welcome, nice room with comfortable bed, superb breakfast and very cheap indeed. Furniture a little dated but at this price Oak Cottage is a real bargain find.

Very handy for Beamish, Durham etc - in fact, it is worth going out of your way to find this excellent small establishment.

We would most certainly stay here again and will not hesitate to recommend it to family and friends.

Thank you Mike and Kim.....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goodoldboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
225 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We stayed here for 2 days on our way North, having traveled from the South of England, up the East Coast staying at B&B's all the way and we can highly recommend Oak Cottage. It is spacious, immaculately clean has a wonderful conservatory with fabulous views of the bird life and forest, and a lovely garden area. Kim and Mike were extremely helpful, delightful to meet and we were sorry not to be there longer. It was no trouble traveling into Durham from there and nice to be in the countryside. Plus, a wonderful breakfast.
Marj & Terry Snoswell

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham,england
Level Contributor
169 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We wanted to go Beamish Museum for our anniversary after looking at a couple of places we settled on the Oak Cottage and gave Kim & Mike a ring and are we glad we did,when we got there they showed us up to a lovely fair sized room,they recommend lots of places to visit nearby so we popped into Durham about 7 miles away,if you go to Beamish like we did they have a sheet with direction on that takes you right up to the gates.The breakfasts are taken looking out over their garden with all sorts of birds putting on a show for you while you eat.A big thankyou for 2 lovely nights,and we will be back when we are up that way again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
5.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.4 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,975 reviews
5.6 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
6.3 mi away
Moor End Guest House
Moor End Guest House
#2 of 39 in Durham
201 reviews
6.1 mi away
High View Guest House
High View Guest House
#1 of 2 in Brandon
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Cottage

Property: Oak Cottage
Address: Oak Cottage Holmside | Beamish, Durham DH7 6EX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oak Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious Double/Twin En-suite. Countryside location.Garden with many Wild Birds with direct access to lovely Woodland Walks. Easy reach for Beamish Museum, Durham, Newcastle/Gateshead & AIM. Major Credit Cards accepted. Local Inns and choice of Food all within easy reach. Car Parking on site. Welcome Hosts Voted 4th in the UK by Laterooms "Simply The Guest" Awards 2015 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oak Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing