We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oak Cottage
Nearby Hotels
US$553
US$499
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$228
US$200
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Honest Lawyer Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lumley Castle Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham City Centre(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Premier Inn Durham East Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Durham(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$57
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel(Durham)(Great Value!)
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
46
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswatching the birdscomfortable armchairsexcellent hostsb bbeamish museumconservatory overlooking the gardenwatching tvan easy drivememorable stayone nightcomfortable staylovely roomfull english breakfastbreakfast was excellentnight staywoodpeckersnewcastle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed overnight last Wednesday and this is the third time we have spent the night at this lovely place. We always get a lovely welcome from the owners and the breakfast is served in their lovely dining area overlooking their garden which is just beautiful and you can sit and enjoy watching the birds. We always have the full breakfast which is absolutely superb, and there is always home made jam and marmalade for your toast. The room is nice and spacious, as is the bathroom. A lovely, lovely place which we will continue to use in the future and would recommend this to anyone, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scotemr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Oak Cottage is a lovely place to stay, we stayed for 3 nights and were very comfortable. It is situated in a very small village therefore it is very quiet. As far as we are aware the nearest shop is about 1 mile away but larger shopping areas are a very easy 15 minute drive away - a car is essential.
The hosts are very welcoming and friendly, they are also excellent sources of local information. The room itself is very comfortable and spacious and as other reviewers comment, the birds in the garden are wonderful to watchn
We would happily go to Oak Cottage again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eandg w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed 1 night in this lovely family home - very comfortable, very friendly, helpful owners with a wonderful view of woodpeckers and nut hatches plus all sorts of other birds feeding from the bird table as we sat having a lovely breakfast in the sun in the conservatory. Very handy for Durham.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Parkerknool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

A true gem. Lovely welcome, nice room with comfortable bed, superb breakfast and very cheap indeed. Furniture a little dated but at this price Oak Cottage is a real bargain find.

Very handy for Beamish, Durham etc - in fact, it is worth going out of your way to find this excellent small establishment.

We would most certainly stay here again and will not hesitate to recommend it to family and friends.

Thank you Mike and Kim.....

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goodoldboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

We stayed here for 2 days on our way North, having traveled from the South of England, up the East Coast staying at B&B's all the way and we can highly recommend Oak Cottage. It is spacious, immaculately clean has a wonderful conservatory with fabulous views of the bird life and forest, and a lovely garden area. Kim and Mike were extremely helpful, delightful to meet and we were sorry not to be there longer. It was no trouble traveling into Durham from there and nice to be in the countryside. Plus, a wonderful breakfast.
Marj & Terry Snoswell

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank markilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews