We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Thurrock
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Booked Radisson Blu based on other reviewers' comments. Very smooth check in - large room with view across river and towards cathedral. Breakfast was included, and very impressed with quality and range of choice. Bar was a bit pricey, but to be expected. Didn't use restaurant as there are many good restaurants within 5 mins walking distance. Very enjoyable stay. Durham is a lovely City for a weekend stay; people are very friendly and helpful. Easy to walk around. Beamish is well worth a day out and easily accessibly by bus. Newcastle is only 15mins on the train, worth a quick trip but wouldn't recommend staying there. Very impressed with Radisson and Durham, hope to return and hire a car to see more of the area

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DFLThurrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,006
    912
    316
    98
    48
See reviews for
328
1,112
76
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed at this hotel for a single night on business in July 2011.

This hotel is located approximately 20 minutes walk from Durham station (downhill) and is situated on the banks of the River Wear. This location is rather tranquil, quiet, yet close to all that central Durham has to offer.

Check-in was easy, well manned and I was provided with a room on the river-side with views across Durham towards the Cathedral. The room was clean, spacious and had all the conveniences I would expect of a newly constructed business hotel (mini-bar, iron, toiletries, flatscreen TV etc).

I was able to sample the food in the on-site Italian restaurant and found it to be a real treat! An eclectic mix of modern Italian cuisine, all prepared and presented beautifully. I had the seared squid which was both tasty and fresh.

I was very impressed with the overall service from the staff - everyone that I had reason to interact with was polite and attentive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mbwlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Sitting by the water and only a couple of minutes from the centre and cathedral.
The staff are excellent and the fascilities top class. Breakfast is outstanding. the bar area is well laid out, but the prices are a bit over the top.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sclaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

I attended here on a 2 day conference package.

The hotel is in a fantastic location, on the river, near to the city centre. It has its own park park on site which was very handy. On entering the hotel from the car park, it seemed that we entered into the back door and it took a while to find the check in area. When I got there, I found that the lobby was very nice, but the actually check in desk seemed under sized and with a massive queue. I had about 20 people in front and1 person serving. After about 15 minutes another person joined the desk. Waited 50 minutes trying to check in, but had to leave or I would have been late for the start of the conference.

The conference we attended was, to be frank, a bit of a shambles. We were shoe horned into have a hall with a divider across. The room was too small for us. Got coffee and muffins at mid morning which was nice. However the buffet lunch was shocking. Seriously cheap and nasty. All cold food with no servers assisting. It was simply dumped and we were left to get on with it. Seriously poor choice which was exactly the same the next day.

Tried to check in at lunchtime but the queue was again too long and I had to give up after 15 minutes this time as the afternoon session was beginning.

The conference room was a touch hot all afternoon. with no apparent air con system. Would not like top be here in the summer!

Tried again to check in after the end of the 1st day of conference and after a 30 minute wait got to the front. The non native English speaker on check-in had serious language difficulties and we had to resort to writing things down to get checked in. No wonder the queues were so long!
Anyway I eventually got my room and i was excellent. Very well appointed and equipped. Cant fault the rooms in any way. truly 1st class.

As part of the conference package were had an evening meal. Like the lunchtime buffet the meal was cheap and nasty. Not us to the standard one should expect from an apparently upper level hotel.

To summarise, in most part the hard product in this hotel is pretty much spot on. However it fails pretty badly in the service front. I can only assume it has pretty bad or inexperienced management, or was on a serious economy drive when I visited

Ho hum!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poggsyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

This is my fouth time staying at this hotel in Durham.

The style is very modern, the bedrooms are spacious, excellent gym, nice bar and close the scenic centre of Durham (which I have yet to go visit).

The staff are all friendly,the bar food is good and the breakfasts excellent.

One of the best business hotels o have stayed at?

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Astrobop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Thank you for continuing to choose the Radisson Blu Hotel!
You really must make the effort to go and see the beautiful city though!
I look foward to welcoming you back many times more to the hotel
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Booked through booking.com - twin room for one night. Hotel very clean in a great location quiet at night for sleeping, v modern rooms with good bath and shower.
Basically couldnt fault it and would go back. Strangely enough there is a premier inn close by which when I was booking was about £5 cheaper, but I went for this as had free wi fi

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Thank you for choosing the Radisson hotel!
I am happy that you had a great stay and that you took advantage of our free wi-fi which is standard in every Radisson Blu hotel.
I hope to see you in the hotel again very soon
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south tyneside
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Me and my husband stayed only one night.Our room was lovelly,bathroom spotlessly clean.The only greivance was the price the hotel was charging for a full english breakfast £14.00 scandalous.The hotel was ideally located on a peaceful part of the river with shops and pubs only 5mins away.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southtynesidediane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 29 July 2011
Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am pleased that you found the hotel spotlessly clean
I am sorry if you found the breakfast expensice if you take a B&B rate at the time of booking then it only equated to £10 a head which is superb value for an all you can eat full buffet breakfast with over 80 items on
I look forward to seeing you again soon
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometers away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing