We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the ticket”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Spent 3 nights here on a birthday treat. Having never been to Durham, the hotel location is spot on, just a short walk over the river to the city centre (even spotted a Kingfisher flying past right in front). Its a 10-15 minute walk from the railway station (steep climb on return).

We paid for a Business class upgrade and actually got a Junior Suite - huge, with a separate lounge, 2 TVs, expresso machine, bathrobes etc. Good views over the river. Only quibble was the bathroom, kitted out for disabled access as a wetroom - rather messy, with insufficient shelving and ridiculous tiny wash basin at below-waist height.

Overall we were very happy with our stay - good breakfast, friendly staff, good pool/gym/sauna etc.

Room Tip: Good river views from rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,194 - 2,200 of 2,650 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights in a large comfortable room. There are good leisure facilities such as a swimming pool if you have time to make use of them. However the prices at the bar were very high and you could pay less for a room at other hotels even closer to the centre

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed at the Radisson Blu for my friends 40th Birthday. Lovely hotel, clean and well kept, all of the staff were very helpful and pleasant. We used the pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi during the day which was very nice. In the evening we walked over the connecting bridge straight into Durham which was nice and handy. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilly026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The room was large, quiet and clean. Good bathroom and in general the whole room gives the sensation of space.
The hotel is modern and very good for a business visit though also appropiate for leisure.
Breakfast was good enough though it's not the biggest plus of the hotel. Choice, even though decent, could be improved.
Staff was kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sawmanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I was treated to night away with the future Mrs and we got a deal for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast on Superbreak. The hotel is perfectly located for a trip to Durham with just a small venture over the walk bridge to bars and restraunts. The hotel rooms are very well decorated and are to a high standard, friendly staff and the whole place was very clean. Our meal on the evening was simply horrible, but to be fair the staff on duty did offer us a free bottle of wine and where understanding when we both looked at the pasta dsh which looked like it was out of a packet and would have done a good job if you where looking to grout some bathroom tiles

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Not much to say. Modern, clean accommodation. Would stay again. We got a very cheap deal through Last Minute Top Secret Hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussie11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

The room was quiet and clean. Room service staff were very polite and efficient. No complaints.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teithiwrjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,168 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
543 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £80 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing