We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“another fine time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“another fine time”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

3rd time here at Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham and will not be the last
arrived early and the girls on the desks who are all great at their job
kindly put our bags away for us to check in with later
we went for a nice walk and a bite to eat
we got a river view room on the 4th floor as we did the last 2 times
we went business class and everything was spot on
rooms were clean and pristine as usual
the showers are great and really powerful
breakfast was nice and relaxed nice music and plenty of choice too
the hotel is fantastic to visit Durham, just five mins to the town centre
over the bridge then either up the stairs or walk along to a lift to various floors
to exit into the main area then up into the town centre

can't really fault anything apart from the extract fan in the bathroom seemed
to have a mind of it's own, but when door was closed you could not hear it

coffee is supplied and everything you might need from hair-dryer to ironing board were all there
plenty of spare pillows if needed too
just a shout out to the cleaning staff who work hard and do a fantastic job.

would definitely go again and probably will in the summer when Durham really comes alive..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLT1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,041
    939
    318
    101
    50
See reviews for
337
1,143
80
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Lovely hotel with friendly staff. Room clean as was rest of hotel. Good sized swimming pool and gym. Great location, just a short walk to shops, pubs & restaurants. Relaxing break

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestYorkshireDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Last night was the second time I've stayed at this hotel for business, and once again I was impressed by the cleanliness and general decor of the room. I had a river view this time and it was lovely. The staff were very friendly and helpful, as they were before. The only slight annoyance was how long it took to get through to the 'One Touch' Room Service. Had to ring three times before I got an answer. However, once the food arrived it was delicious. Would be happy to stay here any time.

Room Tip: Room 108 has a river view. Very nice. Quite quiet, aside from the obligatory door banging by other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaldon, Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Spent 3 nights here on a birthday treat. Having never been to Durham, the hotel location is spot on, just a short walk over the river to the city centre (even spotted a Kingfisher flying past right in front). Its a 10-15 minute walk from the railway station (steep climb on return).

We paid for a Business class upgrade and actually got a Junior Suite - huge, with a separate lounge, 2 TVs, expresso machine, bathrobes etc. Good views over the river. Only quibble was the bathroom, kitted out for disabled access as a wetroom - rather messy, with insufficient shelving and ridiculous tiny wash basin at below-waist height.

Overall we were very happy with our stay - good breakfast, friendly staff, good pool/gym/sauna etc.

Room Tip: Good river views from rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights in a large comfortable room. There are good leisure facilities such as a swimming pool if you have time to make use of them. However the prices at the bar were very high and you could pay less for a room at other hotels even closer to the centre

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Stayed at the Radisson Blu for my friends 40th Birthday. Lovely hotel, clean and well kept, all of the staff were very helpful and pleasant. We used the pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi during the day which was very nice. In the evening we walked over the connecting bridge straight into Durham which was nice and handy. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilly026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The room was large, quiet and clean. Good bathroom and in general the whole room gives the sensation of space.
The hotel is modern and very good for a business visit though also appropiate for leisure.
Breakfast was good enough though it's not the biggest plus of the hotel. Choice, even though decent, could be improved.
Staff was kind and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sawmanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing