We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury at a bargain price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury at a bargain price”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Within walking distance of the city centre, this is a very modern hotel with luxury fitments, excellent service, and a superb breakfast buffet. We found it on-line and nearly booked, but could only get a twin room, so called the hotel. Not only did they offer a double room, but also a much better price with breakfast included - Radisson quality for the price of a Travelodge...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinHulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,020
    922
    317
    100
    48
See reviews for
333
1,129
77
461
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
146 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Not a boutique hotel by any means. Very corporate, but you get what it says on the tin. We stayed for a weekend in a business class room which gave us free parking & free drinks for an hour & a half in the evening. For once we did utilise the free drinks & at those prices you can soon recover the cost of the room!! Some of our fellow guests had a few lined up at last orders (7pm).
Location is excellent, though the river view really gets you a view of the car park on the other side. The facilities at the health club were also available, though with a wedding party on the Saturday night the pool was rammed.
The place was clean & tidy, lifts worked perfectly & quickly, everyone was helpful & friendly, ordering taxis & answering questions.
If I have to gripe it would be about breakfast. On the Sunday morning they needed more staff. Everyone was working flat out but there just weren't enough of them to clear tables & process individual requests. As well as that the food tended towards the bland tasteless stuff you get when catering for a few hundred out of trays.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jims86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed at the Radisson for one night while returning to Durham for the weekend. I chose the Radisson due to its excellent location (right by the riverside, 10 mins walk into the city centre) and also because I wanted to try the spa, and I'd heard good reviews of the rooms.

I booked a standard room online months before, and rang up beforehand to request a room with a view of the river if possible. This request was also detailed in the online booking notes. Disappointingly, we were given a room that had a view of the car park (with a wooden board to block the view of the other cars). However, the receptionists were very helpful and friendly, and kept our bags behind until check-in time (we arrived an hour early).

The spa area was okay. Average-sized swimming pool, small jacuzzi and nice steam/sauna rooms.

The room itself was large and quite clean, though there were a couple of hairs in the bath and the windowsill was dusty. The bed was very comfortable (though Premier Inn beds are slightly better). We got a pretty good night's sleep, except the room was very warm - I tried turning on what I thought was the air con but it didn't seem to have an effect!

We had a quick look at the bar but the prices were extortionate so did all our eating and drinking in town. The car park was also £6.50 for the 24 hours we were there for, and we could stay parked there after check-out as well.

Overall it was a good stay, just marred by small details. I think it was good value for money for £79, but wouldn't have liked to have paid more.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannahhamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My wife, young daughter and I stayed for one night during February half term. We've become pretty regular visitors to this hotel as my girls have been so impressed by the hotel and the quality of service each time we've visited (they won't let me take them anywhere else).

We usually stay in the business class rooms which are very spacious and even with a roll-away bed have plenty of room for 3 occupants. This time we stayed in a junior suite. An absolutely amazing room and well worth the extra cost if you want to make your stay really special and a little indulgent.

As ever, the pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room were exactly what I needed to relax. Our daughter once again enjoyed the pool and my wife indulged herself in a relaxing indian head massage with the on site beauty salon. Her description of the treatment was 'It was absolutely wonderful'.

As the hotel is just a few minutes walk from Durham city centre and major tourist attractions, it's ideal for a family break. Beamish and other tourist sites are a short drive away. It's also a good hotel for business meetings.

Thanks to the team at the Radisson for another very relaxing and enoyable stay.

Room Tip: If you want more room try a business class room. Ask for a river facing room as it's a far nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2912Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

A good, solid Radisson hotel, right next to the river, in the very beautiful city of Durham. Our room was spacious and the service from hotel staff was generally very responsive. The hotel's foyer and bar area lack the 'high end' feel of other Radisson Blu properties, such as Glasgow and Cardiff, but it was all very pleasant none the less. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Durham area.

Room Tip: Request a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glamourpuss-Tourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

3rd time here at Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham and will not be the last
arrived early and the girls on the desks who are all great at their job
kindly put our bags away for us to check in with later
we went for a nice walk and a bite to eat
we got a river view room on the 4th floor as we did the last 2 times
we went business class and everything was spot on
rooms were clean and pristine as usual
the showers are great and really powerful
breakfast was nice and relaxed nice music and plenty of choice too
the hotel is fantastic to visit Durham, just five mins to the town centre
over the bridge then either up the stairs or walk along to a lift to various floors
to exit into the main area then up into the town centre

can't really fault anything apart from the extract fan in the bathroom seemed
to have a mind of it's own, but when door was closed you could not hear it

coffee is supplied and everything you might need from hair-dryer to ironing board were all there
plenty of spare pillows if needed too
just a shout out to the cleaning staff who work hard and do a fantastic job.

would definitely go again and probably will in the summer when Durham really comes alive..

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLT1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Lovely hotel with friendly staff. Room clean as was rest of hotel. Good sized swimming pool and gym. Great location, just a short walk to shops, pubs & restaurants. Relaxing break

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestYorkshireDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,975 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing