We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great night away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“great night away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I have just came back from staying in this hotel and would recommend it. Hotel is right on the river and we had lovely views of the cathederal and castle. Our room was Business Class for which apart from the usual dressing gown and shampoos, you also got free parking (£6.50 for overnight guests), free pay per view movies and also entry to the executive bar (ok its just the restaurant before it opens) from 5:30 - 7:00pm and all bottles beer, wine and soft drinks are free - ideal way to start your evening!
We chose go out for our evening meal and there was plenty of choice within walking distance.

Room Tip: ask for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thanks for the review of your great night away!
It sounds likeyou had a great time and enjoyed the delights of Durham
I look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,022
    924
    317
    100
    49
See reviews for
333
1,133
77
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Radisson Blu in Durham for 2 nights. From the moment we pulled into the car park to the moment we left there was nothing we found to fault the hotel. We booked into the Filini Restaurant on the first night and the service, food and attitude of the staff was exemplary. The average age of the hotel staff is not very old but they all showed unbelievable maturity and obvious loyalty to the hotel. The food was very good although the menu was not too big with limited choice, but no complaints on that score as we both thoroughly enjoyed what we ordered. The rooms in the hotel are very good. We had a standard double room, which had everything including a flat screen TV with alot of digital channels. The shower was very good and simple to use. The hotel has a fitness suite and pool although we didn't have time to use them, which is a shame because people that we spoke to about them said they were very good. Adjoining the reception is The Bar, which is comfortable and relaxing with a good menu of snacks and hot food. Quite honestly The Radisson Blu Durham is an excellent hotel and we will certainly be staying there again when we next visit Durham, which in itself is an incredible city.

Room Tip: Our room faced the car park, but as an extra treat try and get one that faces the river. tunning vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyJDaveJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

family suite excellent,kids enjoyed it very much,also the pool large and clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann200844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
77 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I stayed here for one night during February 2012 and found everything to be fantastic from the welcoming, spacious lobby to the tidy. comfortable rooms to the fine Italian restaurant. Check in was swift and easy and the only downside of the room was the stunning views of the carpark, though river view rooms are available. I took dinner in the hotels Italian restaurant where the food, service and wine was excellent. If you're looking for a good base to explore the fnatastic city of Durham then the Radisson is certainly worth a look.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjmoorhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

I been using this hotel about every two months since it opened and have not yet been dissapointed. The three key things to any enjoyable hotel stay are: Price, Location and Staff. This hotel scores well on all three. Durham centre is just a short walk over the lovely bridge which looks amazing at night.
Durham is a beautiful city, so I don't need to explain the turistic highlights, but the one main advantage of this hotel is it proximity to it!
The hotel has nice bar area with comfortable seating and both bar and restaurant menu's are good and get reveiwed periodically.
The Gym is well equipped, but can get very busy at times with long waits for equipment.
The success of this hotel, in my experience is down to the staff, who are professional, polite and always willing to assist.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room facing the river, the bridge is lit up at night and so is the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vikash2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here a couple of times and not disappointed, good location and rooms a re clean and spacious. Staff are polite and helpful, never had breakfast but had evening meal in restaurant. It was good, no complaints really maybe a bigger choice or maybe I am being picky. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We just asked for a river view and got one no bother and no extra cost .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We booked for a one night stay with friends.
Check in is at 2pm, we arrived just after 2 & was told that our rooms were not ready.
After an hour sat waiting in the reception area, we eventually got our keys.
The standard rooms are lovely, nicely decorated & very clean & modern.
The hotel location is literally a 5 min walk from the city centre & bars.
We have eaten in this hotel restaurant about a year ago & didnt enjoy it so we ate out.
The breakfast was good, excellent choice however the cooked breakfast buffet food was lukewarm, which was a shame.
Also, the waitress who greetd us at the door for breakfast was wearing a shirt which was covered in stains & looked as if it hadnt been washed for a few days!
The staff were pleasant.
I would stay again however I wont be rushing to book.

Room Tip: Try to book a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kym0392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing