We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor service not an enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Based on my visits to the Radisson Blu in Birmingham I thought this hotel would be a sure thing. I got a reduced status room while my colleague got a business room. As I was in a standard room it felt like a Travel Lodge. There was a baby crying near the restaurant, which the staff did not feel it necessary to ask the mother to move, it really disturbed the meal. Breakfast was good apart for the disgusting person that we sat beside who constantly was regurgitating food back into their throat. Everyone in the restaurant was disgusted but the staff did not feel the need to ask this person to move or to even offer to move anyone else. The staff in the restaruant (morning) were poor, they brushed past chairs which is highly irritating. The check out woman (Elizabeth) was horrible, what A COLD COLD person. It annoyed me even more as the girl on the other desk looked super happy and bubbly - I wish she had checked us out. Very disappointed in this hotel, I would never stay again. However durham is a lovely place to walk about.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JetFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your views with other trip advisor members.

Please allow me to comment on some of the concerns that you have raised. Firstly you mentioned that your friend received an upgrade and that you felt your standard room was a reduced status room, with the greatest respect to the chain that you have mentioned they are certainly not a like for like comparison to ourselves as our standard rooms receive breakfast, free Wifi, room service, complimentary use of leisure facilities and much more. The majority of the services that we offer can not be found in a budget hotel chain. All of our rooms are regularly and rightly praised on Trip Advisor.

I would like to apologise that you felt your meal was disturbed, unfortunately babies do cry from time to time and we would never ask a mother to move especially when they were not even in the restaurant. Most mothers I have experienced are only too considerate of other people in hotels and will gladly go to a quieter place if they felt their baby was disturbing other guests.

You state that everyone was disgusted by a certain guest in the morning, unfortunately this is the only complaint that we have received regarding this, all other feedback from that day was positive. I can only assume that this was never raised this to any staff members attention as I am sure that we would have spoken to the guest if the whole restaurant was disgusted. I am sorry that the staff brushed past your chairs and I will be feeding this back to the restaurant manager so that the appropriate training can be carried out.

I am sorry that you feel the need to personally abuse Elisabeth on here, she has worked with the company for many years, we regularly receive a lot of positive feedback about Elisabeth and have never received a complaint until now.
In closing I will leave it to the rest of the Trip Advisor Community and especially the 344 reviewers who found the hotel and the staff to be excellent or good. I am sorry that you will be not be staying with us at the Radisson Blu Hotel Durham again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,167 - 2,173 of 2,652 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed here for a hen night was close to town centre and pool area and rooms very clean. No complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leanne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you for your concise review of the hotel.
Hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This hotel lives up to the standards of the Raddison Blu hotels, even better than some of the others we have stopped in. The staff couldnt do enough for us. We even got a free upgrade when checking in. Rooms are spotless with everything catered for. Breakfast was really yummy, even the fussy eaters out there couldnt grumble at the choice on offer. We didnt have time to check out the pool or gym so can not comment on them.
The hotel is not far from the centre, the walk along the river is lovely when the sun is shining. All in all, a very nice stay!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilsonWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel
Im glad that you enjoyed the hotel so much that youll be back, hopefully next time you will have an opportunity to enjoy our fantastic leisure facilities
Looking forward to seeing you soon
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

When I went to Durham in the 80's as a student, nothing like this existed. Radisson are giving the other places a run for their money, but you do need a bit extra of your own to enjoy it to the full.

The overall building and location are great, right on the river. It's walkable from the train station, albeit quite a few steps down hill, otherwise 5 mins in a taxi for a fiver. It's spacious and new, clean and airy. The rooms are the same - a great size for two people, comfortable bed, ample bathroom and storage and, unusually for a 4*, tea and coffee in the room (no bottled water though). Oh and the windows do open for "real air".

A few disappointments. We booked room-only. Cooked breakfast was very expensive so we skipped. Even a slice of toast and marmite was too much. We went out - Durham in spring is lovely. The restaurant looked a bit foofoo and expensive again. We took the bar food. Well, it was okay, but not the best, and a bit out of kilter with the overall hotel offering.

PS, not related to the hotel, and if you adore traditional fish & chips (and real mushy peas), I can recommend the restaurant/takeaway on the corner of the Market Place and North Bailey. Spotless. Big fish (cod or haddock) in beer batter fried in dripping. Add a cup of tea (unlicensed) and watch the world walk by.

Room Tip: You can book front-facing (river) or back (towards railway). Both are fine really, and you only get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FourbyeFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you for your review of the hotel
I am pleased that you had a good stay and I think you would agree that the city has changed a lot since your university days!
Hope to see you again soon in Durham
Regards
Neal

ps You are right about the fish and chip in Durham!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

A good quality hotel with modern clean spacious rooms, the Radisson Blu is 5 minutes walk from the Centre of Durham and represents excellent value for money in comparison even to The Premier Inn which is 200 yards away.

£79 for a Friday night room on a night they were completely sold out.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chilvinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you for your review of the hotel
I am pleased that you managed to get a good deal at the hotel and enjoyed all our facilities
Hope to see you again soon
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Excellent hotel, very comfortable rooms, friendly efficient staff and fabulous breakfast. Very convenient location - connected by footbridge to the busy bar/restaurant area of Durham but tucked away so quiet and peaceful. Durham is beautiful and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you for your "Excellent" review of the hotel and for taking the time to write here about us!
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

we have stayed at this hotel 3 times in the last 2 month and are returning once again on good friday,we do take advantage on the fab offers the hotel sometime have on,every stay has been more than perfect,reception staff cannot be more helpfull,they even let us check in early,we always use the gym and spa services where you even get towels.

rooms have always been spotless,love the view of the river,im gonna email the hotel to see if i can have a river view when we return in 3 weeks time as we had car park view before and well its just not nice as when we had the river view what a difference this made even just when you sitting with a cup of tea,the bar area is also nice if you just wanna chill with a drink,we have never used the resturant on a night so cannot comment as we have always went out but breakfast are absolutley fab...everything on offer and even cook you eggs to order if you wish,my husband left his phone in the room a few weeks ago and the staff even offered to post it out. what can i say apart from a massive well done to the raddison blu and all staff for always making our stay very enjoyable and cannot wait to return on good friday :)

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ang11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thanks very much for your review of the hotel
I am very happy that you continue to use us and that you have a good time
We look forward to seeing you on Good Friday
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,170 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
545 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £81 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing