We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Nice new building in a scenic location fronted by River Wear. From my room on the front corner I could also see Durham Cathedral. The hotel is an easy walk to the town centre. The hotel has a modern "Scandinavian" decor as you would expect from Radisson (even the toilet was Swedish!) The room was spacious and well-equipped and the bed was good. Breakfast was very good. The price was good value.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reatigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Thank you for your five star review of the hotel.
I am delighted that you enjoyed the decor of the hotel and our fantastic location.
I look foward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,140 - 2,146 of 2,652 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

hello this is the first time i have ever used this or any other website to rate a stay before. but thought i would hvae to after such an amazing stay.
the room was great, the views were fantastic, and all the staff were so friendly and proffesional. but have to name one member off staff who was polite, helpfull and very proffesional. his name was adam and the service we recieved in the restaurant on the night we stayed was fantastic, even though the it was busy he never left us waiting on food or drinks, and looked very trendy with his glasses and skinny tie. and to who ever made the chocolate fondant mmmmmm.
thank you for a fantastic stay if we can we will certainly look to visit again

Room Tip: we didnt take the business class upgrade but probably should have as it is great value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b1973c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your five star review with the Trip Advisor community.
I am pleased that you had an awesome stay and that you enjoyed Adam's service so much that you remembered him ny name. I am sure that your words will be an inspiration to him to keep on delivering excellent service (as well as irrrestible chocolate fondants)
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My husband and I had a couple of nights free from our daughter who was away with school. We decided to see our favourite comedian, Dave Gorman, who was playing in Durham. We felt the need to 'splash' out and treat ourselves....Thankfully, we ignored the bad reviews and stayed at 'Radisson Blu' in Durham.
Our room was large and clean. They had thought of every little extra to make our stay pleasureable! The staff were helpful and friendly. Dinner at Filini's was delicious and reasonably priced. As for breakfast...This had wide choices of everything a person could want!
Best of all, the hotel served until 12 noon! Thus no needing to get up too early at a weekend, race around and be down for breakfast long before you're ready to eat!
An excellent hotel.
We would stay there again and certainly recommend to others.
Thank you.

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BERNIEUK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2012

Thank you for your five star review of the hotel.
Im pleased that you picked up on all the positive comments we have on Trip Advisor and chose to sat here. Im pleased that you enjoyed the show at the Gala , we are so close to them it must have been convienient for you to just walk over the bridge.
Im happy that you made good use of the facilities as well and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Good location, Price average, rooms good, we did not eat in the hotel as it was a bit pricey, friendly staff and good parking

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Thank you for your review of the hotel.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

My husband and i stayed at the Radisson Blu hotel in Durham on May 5th for 1 night. We went business class which is well worth the extra money. The room was lovely, clean, spacious and had fantastic views. The reception was warm and friendly and we loved that we could check in at 14.00 instead of 15.00 as in many other hotels. The free bar for an hour and a half was fabulous, lovely wine and bottles of beer included. We could not fault anything about our stay. The pool was lovely and the spa and sauna likewise. Towels were provided and toiletries in the showers and changing rooms, hairdriers and straighteners also which is always a plus. The breakfast which was included was amazing. Everything about it was fresh and plenty of everything. We didnt feel rushed even though the hotel was very busy the time we stayed. Tables were cleaned speedily and staff very helpful. We can not wait to return,and have recommended this hotel to many friends and family. Fab location, fab hotel , fab staff, keep up the good work ( and who needs biscuits in the room??!! pffft) :0)

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathryne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for your 5 star review of the hotel.
I am pleased that you enjoyed all the facilities that the hotel has to offer and that you enjoyed it so much that you have recommended it to other people.
That is always very pleasing to hear!
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon!
Regards
Neal
PS I agree with you about the biscuits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Unfortunatley didnt get to stay at the hotel but visited the bar for an early evening meal (as the restaurant was closed) . It was fairly quiet and the barman pleasant. When I gave the meal order and got my receipt I noticed he had booked the wrong type of burger-with items I didnt want. I was offered the extras free of charge as it was his mistake which I declined. Both meals were brought within a decent time, piping hot and very tasty. Bit pricey for what we had but as it was perfect I didnt mind paying more.

Well worth a visit and next time Im in Durham I will stay at the hotel-all looked very clean and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank isikelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank you for your review of the bar food here at the hotel.
Hope to see you back again very soon
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My colleague had booked a group of us into this hotel for a business trip. At first I thought it was a bit pricey compared to the Holiday INN but it was fantastic. OK there is no SKY News or Sports in the room but it is very well appointed. Loved the Nespresso Machine, Free Parking , Inclusion of Breakfast and the complimentary business lounge (which I missed the chance to use). When I add it all up it is probably much better value than Holiday Inn. So much so I may divert my allegiance to this brand for the next few months. A really nice stay and a very comfortable bed and room facilities. highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Business Room. the extras are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kdr1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Thank you for your five star review of the hotel.
I am pleased that you enjoyed all the benefits that our business class rooms have to offer.
Just FYI Sky Sports can be found on Channel 49 and there is a list of all 41 channels available in the in room directory.
I hope that next time you stay you get to enjoy the rest of the hotels facilties including our wonderful leisure facilities.
I look forward to seeing you soon
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,171 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
545 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £81 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing