We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable room good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Clarence, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable room good food”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We traveled with a group of 26 form the US. We found the Radisson Blu to be clean and comforatable with many nice extras. We had several preplanned meals at the hotel and they were the best on the tour. We had a nice selection and the food was good. . Many of us enjoyed visiting at the bar and using the internet available. Only downside was that was that the bar area was crowded and it was sometimes difficult to find room enough chairs. It was within walking ditance for us from the Cathedral and the center of town. We were very pleased with our stay..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klhtraveler1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for your 5 star review of the hotel.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the food here at the hotel and the comfortable rooms.
I appreciate that you are a long way away but if you ever come to Durham again we would be delighted to welcome you here at the Radisson.
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,041
    939
    318
    101
    50
See reviews for
337
1,143
80
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I stayed here on a business trip, was immediately made aware of the importance of the Cathedral by the architects clever use of the building to showcase the town. The rooms are clean and a small problem that i had wit my Wifi ( which is free ) was quickly and effectively resolved.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmeriSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for the 5 star review of the hotel.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the views of the hotel and that you had a great stay with us.
I hope its not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you again
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The location is great, the rooms are modern and clean, the bed was comfortable, the pool/spa/exercise facilities were awesome!

But I was extremely disappointed with the service we received in regards to room assignment:

Room #1: We went up to quickly dump our bags in the room, and head out to dinner. We noticed we were in a handicapped room, although we hadn't requested it, nor had we been informed at reception. The sink was inconveniently small and low as were some of the other bathroom fixtures. But we decided it was no big deal. It wasn't until we arrived back at the hotel around 10:30pm and settled into bed to find our Queen bed was actually 2 twins pushed together, with 2 separate duvets. Not how I wanted to spend my birthday night plus 2 more nights with my partner. So we called to reception and requested another room. The reception said a staff member would come to our room to escort us to a new room. After waiting 20 minutes, we hauled all of our luggage down to reception, received a new room key and went back up the elevator to our new room.

Room #2: The second room felt stuffy, but we turned on the aircon and opened the windows while we started getting ready for bed, again. As my partner was brushing his teeth, we noticed the water would not go down the drain. Looked for obstructions, tried the plunger several times, no luck. Ugh. Called down again. The maintenance staff was gone for the night (it is 11:15pm by this time), "Did you try the plunger?" "Yes." So they said they'd move us to another room, and I requested that someone meet us at our room with a trolley as we were exhausted and didn't want to carry our bags again. "Do you really need a trolley??" "Yes, please."

Room #3: A business suite. Luxurious, clean, comfortable. But what a hassle!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel.
I am sorry that it took us three tries to live up to your expectations.
I hope that after this you had a great stay with us.
I look forward to seeing you again in Durham soon!
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Rooms very clean & we had a nice river view but outside the room what a soulless place, staff were not very friendly, especially in the Leisure complex. Breakfast was a bit hit and miss, waited half an hour for smoked haddock and poached eggs despite enquiring twice, eventually had to get another member of staff on the case, complained to reception who asked our room number then...........nothing!! On our final day I had the worst bacon I have ever had, very poor quality and a boiled egg when cracked was RAW!!! Perhaps Neal would be better employed dealing with issues in person rather than replying in trip advisor.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Thank you for your review of the hotel.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us in regards to your breakfast experience.
This is not the breakfast experience that we try to deliver to our guests.
I hope that this does not deter you from using the hotel again.
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

This is a really nice hotel in a good location close to the city centre. The staff were very friendly and the room was large and comfortable. I stayed on a room only basis so can't comment on the food (and the restaurant was closed on a Sunday evening).

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank midlandsgnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Thank you for your 5 star review of the hotel.
I am pleased that you had a great stay with us and I hope its not too long before we see you again in Durham
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selby North Yorks
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

the hotel itself is situated on the opposite side of the river to the main town attractions, it is about a 5-7 min walk to get to them , there is a great gym there for those who want to work out if not the resturant is very good and the food is very nice. breakfast is a bit mad as itis self service, but i guess that is the same wherever you go if you get there at the Busy times!,Staff are freindly and helpfull, carparking is good but not many spaces!!,
the rooms are big and clean, the usual tv etc free paper yada yada yada,
we will deffo go there again as it meets our needs,

Room Tip: ask for the river veiw if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for your 5 star review of the hotel.
I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and I hope its not too long before we welcome you back to the Radisson Blu Durham
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Had a 2 night stay at this hotel. Had a business room overlooking river with views of catherdral. Lovely room, spotlessly clean fabulous bathroom. Enjoyed the free drinks from 5.30pm - 7pm! Comfortable lounge area. The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Swimming pool, jacuzi were lovely. The hotel is only a short walk away into the centre of Durham with all its ameneties. Would definately stay here again. Do not hesitate to book this hotel.

Room Tip: River view room, business class were very roomy, lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samiantrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you very much for your 5 star review of the hotel.
I am pleased that you selected us for your short break away.
I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and health club.
I look forward to seeing you again soon
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Rezidor, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing