We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Upmarket hotel in beautiful city. Shame about the parking.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Upmarket hotel in beautiful city. Shame about the parking.”
Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night but didn't have any meals in the hotel. Used leisure spa which was very nice. Room was small for such a hotel and decor was dull. Worse still was the exorbitant car park fees for guests. Disgraceful.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JFStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    938
    318
    101
    50
See reviews for
336
1,142
80
470
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We visited Durham for the first time this last weekend and chose to stay at the Raddisson Blu because it was very near the city centre but away from traffic noise etc. Overall our stay was good, the staff were attentive and very helpful and the rooms were reasonably comfortable, although the pillows were not!
My main gripe relates to the breakfasts, overpriced at £25 for a cooked breakfast, which you had to get yourself from a buffet table and it was cold, most unappetizing!
Our breakfast experiences put us off eating in the evening for dinner so we cannot comment on the dinner quality.
This siad overall we enjoyed our stay and the helpful staff made up for other deficits.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anndove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Me and my partner stayed here on a saturday night in October on the business class rate and had a really good experience. Initially when we were given our room it was clearly a standard room but a quick call to reception sorted the problem promptly and we were given a discounted rate due to the mix up. The room itself was nice with a view of the river and cathedral. If being really picky I could say that the pillows were a bit hard but couldnt fault otherwise. We made use of the spa facilities which were nice and the breakfast the following morning was a very good buffet. overall, this is a lovely hotel with excellent location and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajp2477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Arrived for a one night stay before a cycle race. Had to leave early in the morning. Must have been arround 50 guests staying who would all miss the standard breakfast time. Very inconsistent information both byphone and in person as to what would be available. It seemed that a rather inadequate offering of a pastry, coffee and an apple might be available. We had to make different arrangements.
It the event there was a large buffet of continental breakfast items laid on however this should have been communicated to us the night before. Very poor planning.
Up side, the rooms were clean, comfortable, well equiped, check in/out was fast and easy.
Paying for parking £7.50 overnight was bizarre considering the price paid for a room!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doccrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night 9th October and took the business class rate of £149.
Apparently this gives you free parking, free drinks from 5pm-7pm and unlimited access to the gym and pool.
My room at first glance was large bright and clean, until I looked at the bed which had human poo stains on it!!!!
I contacted reception who acted immediately, moved me to another room and provided me with some extras in the room.
The rest of my stay was aderquate but I would take the £75 standard rate if I stayed there ever again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Padman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed here in August. Paid £75.00 for one night, use of the pool and breakfast included in the price. I would say the room was worth at least £85.00 and a lot more down south. The leisure facilities £20.00 , the massive buffet breakfast £20.00. You do the maths !! All staff very helpful and pleasant, excellent location. Best value for money hotel I have ever stayed in !!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystal072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Very good rooms, very clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was good, and the gym was okayish. The hotel is in a great location, in town and next to the river, but my room was very quiet. The restaurant was very expensive though, and I wouldn't recommend it unless you really cant be bothered to walk the 200 yards to the food places in town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wngstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing