We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey, but still good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Lewes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pricey, but still good value”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Very pleasant weekend stay for a wedding. Convenient location for train station and city centre. Rooms very nice and excellent health spa. Bar quite pricey - especially for the North - and the breakfast was sadly not that impressive (for £15!).

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,020
    922
    317
    100
    48
See reviews for
333
1,129
77
461
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My family and I have just returned from a weekend in Durham. We were celebrating my parents' 50th wedding anniversary and decided to stay at the Radisson because of its proximity to the town centre. The hotel is very modern and clean. The welcome and service that we received from the receptionist was brilliant. The rooms were comfortable and if you are lucky enough to get a room facing the river the view of the cathedral/ castle is superb. My husband and I had a view of the car park( sadly) but my teenage sons got the cathedral view!!! I think we chose to go for breakfast at a very busy time as we had to wait in a queue until we could be seated. Overall the hotel suited all 11 of us- not an easy task as our ages ranged from 7 to 74!

Room Tip: River view a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPTP11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed one night and ran a mini conference. Staff at check in and restaurant were excellent. Room of a high standard. Conference/meeting room staff not reaching the performance of others. Refreshments not on a par with other similar venues. (no coffee with lunch)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TK843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upminster, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the cathedral, just a short walk across a bridge and though a precinct. Its very modern, almost too modern for our tastes but it did the job of providing car parking, a comfortable room, huge bed and a tasty breakfast. Staff were very friendly and filled us in on all the facilities, gave us directions and advice on where to visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jassy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

For some reason as you go South from Newcastle there are fewer and fewer decent hotels until you approach York. But this is the best in between! Sadly this is reflected in the prices!
Nice modern hotel all the toys you would expect in your room and all the things you expect from Radisson elsewhere.
One big problem though, the car park is controlled by a third party using cameras - as such I have been receiving increasingly threatening letters about parking illegally despite my room rate including 'FREE PARKING' so I look forward to seeing them in Court as they have ignored evry letter I have sent and Radisson dont want to get involved......BEWARE!

Room Tip: Spend the extra and go for an exec room on the fourth floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiWeegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

I stayed for one night with my mother in October. I had booked a twin room, and was given a double. This was changed on request and they unzipped the bed and made it a twin, but I was not impressed with the lack of attention to detail. I booked a basic room £10 overlooking the car park! The room was clean but very dark. There was so much space we could have held a disco but had to plug the kettle in on the floor! I know Radisson lead the way in disabled facilities, but this is almost to the detrement of others, as the bathroom was full of cords, rails and was very uncomfortable. I wanted to relax in the bath which wasn't there, put both in! all there was available was a hand held shower. Don't take away the excellent facilites for disabled guest but accomodate both, especially as we had a spare 25 square foot in the bedroom!
I can not fault the food which was excellent, however only 3 staff working on a Saturday night with 120 covers meant the staff were rushed and stressed. Breakfast was excellent and included in the room rate so worth every penny, but definitely not worth the £20 -£25 quoted by others - walk over the bridge into town and try out the lovely local cafes.
The setting is convenient for the station, and overlooks the river, but if you get a car park view you could be in any standard chain hotel. Worth a try but I have stayed in better places in Durham.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nolongerreviewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night but didn't have any meals in the hotel. Used leisure spa which was very nice. Room was small for such a hotel and decor was dull. Worse still was the exorbitant car park fees for guests. Disgraceful.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JFStratford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,975 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing