We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for business - good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent for business - good value”
Reviewed 6 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on a business trip.

The hotel is located close to the train station, however due to Durham's topography I would advise against walking and to take a taxi instead!

The staff offered a warm welcome and the room service was excellent. I thought the room was superb and offered excellent value for money.

Recommended.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Southerneronthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,050
    955
    323
    101
    52
See reviews for
343
1,158
82
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Banbridge, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

This was a lovely modern hotel, immaculately clean and welcoming. Room only was £85. Breakfast was £15 extra which I thought was too expensive. Very convenient to train station and I was able to gain points on my Carlson loyalty card. I would definitely stay there again when in Durham.

Room Tip: Room 240 overlooked the river and foot bridge. A pleasant view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northolt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I was very impressed. I had a river view which was super. The room was very well equipped with in-room safe, iron and ironing board, lovely toiletries. It's only a short walk from Durham railway station. Recommended! I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alnwick
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

we stayed one night for our birthday and engagement . room was nice but they had not put in the chocolates they had promised.only 2 tea bags and two sugars in room which would have been better if a few more tea bags.
the bar had no idea how to make cocktails, which they had told us they would do but couldnt !!
possibly the most i have ever paid for a latte as i was charged 3.50 and got a stale bit of cake.
we were unable to use any of the pool or sauna facilities as they were full all the time !!
the spa attached to the hotel was more like a room with a few cupboards to do the treatments in.
we had booked a treatment and it was impersonal and a bit like a conveyor belt.
my treatment was lovely and the girl who did it was lovely, however my partner said the girl who did his used her elbow on him and hurt his shoulder.would def not use again.
on the up side the place is nice and clean and we did have a lovely weekend with dear friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank appleAlnwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

First the good bits. The gym is excellent especially for a Hotel facility and the welcome from the ladies on the reception desk was cheery and informative.

Like a previous reviewer we upgraded to an executive room. This was a waste of money as ther was little discernible difference between this room and the stanadrd room. We also ate in the Hotel for both dinner and breakfast.

The dinner menu is expensive for what it is. The cheapest bottle of wine was for about £20. A two course meal for two with wine was more than £80. You can eat better and cheaper in Central London. We must have suffered the same breakfast experience as the previous reviewer. Suffice to say there was a lack of leadership in the restaurant that morning. The basics (e.g. table clearing) were not done properly. I think Radisson need to rethink their offer here. I stayed at the Radisson Blu in Zurich a year or two back and that was a much better experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike53_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Hunstanton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We booked a Business Class double room for four nights, but left after two. The room was perfectly adequate and clean, but it quickly became apparent that every corner possible had been cut to maximize profits at the cost of guest satisfaction. For example - only two teabags and two sachets of sugar in a better grade room is miserly and creates a bad impression. The single "complimentary" small bottle of water was hardly impressive either!
Now we come to the breakfast, which surely must take the prize for being the most awful that we have ever experienced in any hotel in any country that we have visited. The tables were so tightly packed together that it was difficult to squeeze between them, even though we are both thin. We had to walk the length of the room to find a table which was not covered in dirty dishes and even the few which had been cleared had not been wiped clean of crumbs, spilled milk and jam smears.Cutlery was unceremoniously plonked on the table in front us and when the tea and coffee arrived ( the tea in a very chipped teapot ) there was no milk, as it had been used by the table's previous occupant.However, worse was to come. Much of the so-called fresh fruit salad was either tinned or frozen and when I went to collect cooked food, I had to wade through a stack of inadequately washed plates before I found one which seemed to be clean. The "hot" buffet was barely tepid and, frankly, inedible.This all happened on the first morning, but on the second morning it was as bad, if not even worse.The staff either didn't notice, or simply didn't care. Supermarkets and transport cafes serve food of vastly better quality.
This hotel is well-situated and looks good, but for the prices charged offers poor food and poor service.Cost-cutting and profits are clearly the prime objectives. Nothing would persuade me to stay there again. Avoid it.

Room Tip: Don't upgrade to Business Class - it's a rip-off. Eat elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CliveM759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed here on leisure visit to Durham this month. Hotel is quiet and well-kept. Check in was efficient and quick, though I nearly broke my neck the second I stepped inside - tiled floor, wet from rain outside - recipe for disaster! Some warning signs would be good in inclement weather.

Rooms themselves are generously sized and have all amenities you'd expect. Bed and pillows very comfortable. The only one niggle about the rooms is that there are lights flashing during the night when you're trying to sleep - one from the fire alarm, one on the air con and a really annoying scrolling LCD display on the TV.

The pool area was clean and well-tended though there was no one on hand to offer me a towel when I used the pool. Not realising that these were doled out from the front desk, I ended up having to dry off after a swim with paper towels (yes, you can laugh!).

Ate in the bar one evening - very expensive but good quality and quick service. Teddy, the barman, needs a little refresher on customer service and cocktail making though - his attempt at a mojito tasted like petrol and his slagging off of his colleagues wasn't really very professional! The other girl on with him was great though.

All in all, if I had to return to Durham, I'd probably stay here again, as it was largely a pleasant stay and is handy for town centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
482 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing