We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas Party Night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Xmas Party Night”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

For £32.00 per head the food was average taking into account the mass catering! The room however was very cramped and you were packed in like sardines I was almost sitting on the guys knee next to me there was so little room. The dance floor was tiny and the entertainment was poor that coupled together the drinks prices made for a very sobering evening which lacked atmosphere!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dh247jfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,048
    955
    321
    101
    52
See reviews for
341
1,156
82
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

we needed a room for one night on our way to collect our son from university in Newcastle and the rates were much better in Durham than Newcastle. We booked a business class room and it was larger than we expected with a separate sitting area. The room was very clean and bathroom likewise.
The bed was too hard for me but my husband found it fine.
Breakfast was self service with plenty of choice, all well cooked despite being very busy as this is the Christmas party season

We found the hotel quiet and everyone helpful and would recommend it if you are staying in Durham

Room Tip: ask for room over the river, we had the car park, not very pretty!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hereandthere23528789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed hear for one night. The hotel is a 10minute walk from the City centre.
It's up to the usual Raddison standard.
The service at the bar in the lobby was terrible.
It wouldn't have been so bad if they were busy. I felt invisible.
Apart from that everything else was very good.
Can't comment on the breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KWDEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This was a good quality hotel for a great weekend in Durham. Just a short walk across a bridge right to the center of town.
We had 2 rooms, one of which was a club room, a nice touch was the free bar for an hour each evening for club guests.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

My wife and i stayed here for our ten year wedding anniversary. On arrival the reception staff could not have been any more helpful or welcoming. Our room was fabulous with a view of the river. Room service was fast and very friendly. Gorgeous clean hotel in great location. Will definitely be staying again .

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanpringle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool, united kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We had our corporate Xmas party at this hotel on Friday 7th December. Check-in was quick, friendly and professional. There was a group of us and 6 of us had arranged to stay over - we were allocated inter-connecting rooms on the third floor with fantastic views over the river and Durham cathedral. The location of this hotel is lovely and it's easy to drive to. The rooms were modern and comfortable with everything you would expect and we were all delighted with them. The Xmas party night was great - considering the amount of people there, the food was of a really good quality. It was a 4-course meal of soup, turkey + trimmings, panacotta and hot mince pies. The live singer (Carrie??) was excellent and got everyone in the party spirit, then were was a disco on until 1pm. We took a load of champagne and wine back to our rooms and continued our party until 3am. We all slept really well and went down for breakfast in the morning. Full English was really good with plenty of toast, coffee and fresh orange juice. The whole night including the meal, the party, the rooms and breakfast worked out at £67 per head. We thought it was excellent value for money and are looking to rebook for next year. Last year we went to the Ramside and were a little disappointed with the quality in relation to the price. The Radisson is in a far better location and we enjoyed it so much more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river and cathedral. The views were fabulous and I think the other s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This is our 3rd visit and this time we included breakfast both days. Not impressed at all, for the standard of the hotel the service was extremely poor. Buffet style, with options of fried or poached eggs. Ordered fried and waited, and waited, when we asked how long they would be after 10mins, was told the chief was on his break!! Same issue around wait next day. Had to get our own pot of tea, plenty of staff on hand but they just wandered about. Oh, and when the eggs arrived they forgot who they were for, well, it was a long time between ordering and getting them! So, not sure we will be back, It is getting pricey for what they offer and at £120 a night B&B can get better......even the river view did not make up for our disappointment, but we did request it and thank the hotel for that. Lots of chamber maids, but we went out at 9.30 and when we got back at noon, yep, room as we left it.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
481 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing