We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Hotel in a Great Position”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We stayed in this hotel over the New Year period. The reception staff were great as were the housekeeping team however the service at the bar area was poor. However we would stay there again. If you can get a rate that includes breakfast as to have it seperately isnt worth it there are plenty of places to breakfast a lot cheaper and give you a chance tpo see more of this beautiful City.

Room Tip: If you pay extra for a river view ask for a high floor room
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leicesterlads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Thank you for your review of the hotel and I look forward to seeing you again soon in the hotel.
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,594)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,929 - 1,935 of 2,596 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

Perfect stay , beautiful clean air cond. room executive river view. We were allowed to check in 2 hours early - robes and slippers use of gym and pool lovely facilities. Pleasant staff great breakfast served till 10.30 so practical, and we had free drinks from 530-7pm very nice indeed. Free parking with the executive room just fabulous we will definitly go again.

Room Tip: book business class the extras make it a very good deal...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lgateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a 5 star review of the hotel.
I am pleased that we could let you check in early and I am delighted that you had a great stay with us.
I hope its not too long before we see you again here in the hotel!
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Had a great stay at Radisson. I had the Business class room and hence had access to many extra facitilies such as free drinks between 5 and 7 in the bar and free movies on TV. The hotel also provides free Wifi. Parking is 7 pounds per day but Business Class rooms get it free.

The sauna, pool etc free for all rooms (business class or otherwise). The breakfast is excellent. There are 4-5 dishes you can order a-la carte as well from a special menu.

There are some excellent restaurants close by. A Thai Restaurant which is in walking distance (Central Thai Restaurant) was authentic and worth a visit. The old city center and good shopping center (Prince Bishop) was in walking distance as well.

Would I visit again? Definitely yes.

In Summary :Great Hotel. good location, very friendly staff and facilities are fantastic.

Room Tip: Choose a riverside room
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MUK04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2013

Thank you for your 5 star review of the hotel.
I am pleased you deemed us worthy of 5 stars and took the trouble of posting this review.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon!
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

1st stay in this hotel. Usually stay in the Marriott nearby. The Blu is a very modern hotel with very clean bright rooms, ours overlooked the river. Can't fault the room at all. The staff were friendly,enjoyed the bar at night and the breakfast was good. Five minute walk to the city centre. Paid £79 per double room per night, plus £15 each for cooked breakfast which didn't seem too bad.Will be my choice next time we are in Durham. £7 to park the car overnight in the Hotel car park, seemed a bit unnecessary, then you can never find anywhere to park at the Marriott so you can't win.!

Room Tip: Choose a river view
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwbhKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Lovey hotel stayed here few times now so didn't hesitate to book a night away for me and my friends to celebrate my 40th birthday. Booked buisness class rooms as intended to make use of the inclusive bar but arrived too late to get seats in the small bar and did get a few frowns from older people sat reading newspapers as we were laughing as we walked in . Sorry thought we were in a bar not a library !! We asked if we could take drinks into the lobby and sit in the sofas out there and it was fine with the bar staff to do this and we were able to laugh out loud without being glared at! Reception girls were lovely as we're the youngsters on breakfast duty. Can't fault this hotel, clean comfortable safe and lovely riverside setting. Another enjoyable stay and my friends were all very impressed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowls-cams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Attended a works Christmas Party and we all left shortly after eating. On entry drinks purchased at a high price. The room was very cramped and the dance floor was a joke. The food was terrible. I had expected better. 2 bowls of roasts for 22 people and not much gravy. What a waste of money. I will not be attending next year.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattyemery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Situated on the bank of the river Wear with views of the river and the castle. This is a modern hotel minutes walk from bars, restaurants, shops and other attractions. The rooms are large and comfortable with American sized beds. Tea and coffee facilities are provided as well as an empty fridge to accomodate any items you desire to keep cool. An iron and ironing board are also available within the room. The bathroom is clean and well equiped with the added comfort of a heated tiled floor. The hotel also has a nice sized swimming pool, 2 saunas (one steam and one dry) and a gym.

Breakfast is not normally included in the price. For those with a large appertite then it is worth the money. I generally prefer to take a stroll into the city where there are a large selection of cafes offering a good selection of good home made food often at half the price.

I was not very impressed by the bar food at the hotel, (the restaurant being closed on the night we decided to eat in), so would not wish to repeat the experience. Having said that the restaurant menu looks enticing. There are also lots of good place to eat in close proximity to the hotel.

I have stayed at this hotel many times before and its my preferred choice when visiting the NE.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,123 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
523 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £79 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Rezidor, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing