We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Grandaughter Shanice and myself stayed here for a friends Wedding il”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I must say from our arrival everthing was first class staff were helpful room was excellent and we had view overlooking the river nice large room very comfortable bed plenty of wardrobe space Shanice really enjoyed the pool sauna and jacuzzi good breakfast plenty of choice the wedding and reception was excellent would recomend it to anyone

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanette021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,991 - 1,997 of 2,691 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

New hotel on the riverside with views of the castle from some rooms . Ours sadly looked over the car park and some noisey fans. The room was as expected from an international chain .
The great advantage of this hotel is that central Durham is just over the footbridge 5 minutes walk.
Breakfast buffet was a little limited for a higher level hotel
Nice swimming pool and spa areas.
I would recommend to friends

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippasmum_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Today I went to use the leisure club, it was modern, clean, well maintained and the facilities were excellent. The staff were happy and helpful and gave me a warm welcome. Afterwards I ate in the hotel bar, which was comfortable and had a broad and appetising menu. The service in here was also friendly and warm. The food was lovely. Will definitely re-visit

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galefilburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Stayed at the hotel for business in November 2012 with 2 colleagues.
When we arrived, the hotel was full and our reservation could not be found, and it was some 20 minutes before the matter was resolved. However, there was the slightest hint of a default position from the receptionist of "your mistake not ours". In the end, it was discovered to be a hotel problem rather than our own.
That aside, our stay was largely fine. My room was well appointed, the free internet worked without any problems at all, and the evening meal in the bar was prompt and of good quality. breakfast was something of an experience - was directed to a table, and asked for tea/coffee etc. I went to the buffet to get a juice only to return to find a conference party had expanded their numbers onto my table... the same member of staff who sat them there obviously forgot I had just been sat there. Otherwise, the breakfast was very good.
All in all, a good stay, but for a couple of hiccups.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjd74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Lovely hotel, very comfortable, room large and well furnished, comfortable bed. Lobby welcoming, as were check in staff, sauna and pool area were great. Hotel has free wifi, which although a little slow, is good, and should be adopted by all hotels.

Location is fine, on the river, had a room with nice river view, footbridge outside hotel to take you across into the centre of the city.

Would happily return for all of theset hings, but not the breakfast, which was one of the worst I think I've had in an hotel. Usual buffet, but spoilt by being bland and tasteless. Scrambled eggs disgustingly runny and lacking in any taste at all. So sad, and so annoying.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesdinovaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Stopped with girls for a 40th staff was very friendly rooms nice n clean i can't wait to do it again ive stoped in radison before but this one more trendy and cosy.the only downside we had the up grade with free bar and it only offered wine or lager should include cider

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josey38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We stayed in Room 404 at the Radisson on Saturday night and had a wonderful time. I emailed the hotel a few days before arriving to request a river view room and we were very kindly upgraded to a business class room with all the extras thrown in; free parking, use of the business class lounge with free drinks for 1.5 hours, in house movies etc. We never expected the hotel to do this and this was so much appreciated.

There wasn't anything that was too much trouble for the staff and all were very welcoming in all areas of the hotel. The breakfast was brilliant the next morning too with a huge selection to choose from. As it was served from 6.30-12 the morning felt very relaxed and not at all rushed as it can so often feel when you have to have breakfast within a 2 hour window and you have had a few drinks the night before!!! I'm glad we went for breakfast at ten though as when we left the breakfast area at eleven, there was a lot of guests waiting to be seated and they didn't look overly happy!

We had a truly brilliant stay and wish we could have stayed longer! Even though we only live in Newcastle, I'm sure we will stay here again and will recommend it to our friends and family too!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saucy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,193 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £76 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing