We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Paid a lot of money for a business class room for 3 nights b & b. Didn't consider the Felini Restaurant clean enough to eat dinner in but had to put up with it for breakfast. Building works right outside our window & the bar bill differed in price for the same drinks depending on which member of staff was serving. Simply put wasn't worth the money & we will not be saying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRC1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,852 - 1,858 of 2,720 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed here for our anniversary, we married last year at this hotel. Friendly helpful staff. Spacious rooms, ask for a view of cathedral.. Quiet location but Very convenient, to get to the centre of town. All great except poached eggs cooked in water with way too much vinegar added, more pickled than poached:-).

Room Tip: Ask for a view of cathedral, grew up in Durham and never tire of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroleannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We stayed as guests of a wedding. the staff were friendly, helpful, and attentive. The building was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The rooms are spacious, clean, well equipped and stylish. The bar staff (Ricky & James) were very friendly and quick- despite the bars being under staffed for our party. The drinks were very expensive. The food was great and the buffet breakfast had excellent choice and value. I like this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bada-Bing22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend, we booked a Business class room which was very nice lovely and big although we were not facing the river and castle. Its very conveinient for the town center and castle there is a bridge right out side hotel and its about 10 min walk up some steps. Very busy Friday and Sat nights hen party's and stag do's lovely place to visit though. You pay to park at the hotel works on 24 hour stay from when you check in to hotel.

Room Tip: better view high floor at the front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Booked this hotel because it was close to where I was working the next day.

The check in was nice and simple and the room was spotlessly clean and quite spacious.

The Radisson would do well to take note of other reviewers who have picked up on the really cheap, hard pillows t hat they use. They really are uncomfortable and let the hotel down considerably - makes the whole experience feel cheap.

The bed itself was also on the firm side, but was generally ok.

We didn't eat in the hotel on this occasion, as there are a number of restaurants very local to the hotel, just across the river bridge which are better value for money.

The bar was on the expensive side, but that's typical of most hotels, but at least the bar staff were efficient and friendly, though it would have been good to have more than one person on, given the fact that it was fairly busy all evening long.

We didn't have breakfast - it seemed expensive for what was on offer.

All in all, a reasonable hotel. Sleep quality suffered because of the poor quality pillows. I've had much better in certain Premier Inns - and the fact that there is a decent looking one opposite would certainly make me think twice about which to choose, should I need to stay in Durham again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eggbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We were lucky in that we got an OK deal on the room price (c£80 bed only) and it turned out to be very large and had a great view along the river towards the Castle and Cathedral (c10 mins walk away). The parking at £7 per 24 hours for guests is good by Durham pricing (£1 per hour on street) but the car park was very full on the Saturday night when their was a (very well behaved) wedding reception on. The hotel and room were easily 4*, with a very good breakfast buffet (c£10 continental/£15 full English). The staff were friendly and helpful too. In our opinion it is better value than the Royal County, albeit it is new build and not so characterful. The Premier Inn over the river would have been a bit cheaper but, obviously, with less amenities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I was staying and working here on business running a workshop with a colleague for a client. There was a mix up about room booking (client issue, not the hotel's). The staff were incredibly helpful and set up another room instantly, kept us informed and spent the day ensuring we were happy. Comfortable room and great location near the river with easy walking access into the city centre. Mobile signal a bit dodgy and car park charges which were a bit expensive and a surprise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
481 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £86 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing