We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and convenient for the city.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Lancaster uk
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel and convenient for the city.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Unlike some of the reviews, we had a lovely stay at the Radisson Blu Durham. We had a room overlooking the river with views of the cathedral and castle. As everyone says, the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was great, everything you can expect from a good hotel chain. The breakfast was plentiful, lots of choice. There was a wedding whilst we were there but there were enough staff to see to everyone. We will stay again when in Durham.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,008
    912
    316
    98
    48
See reviews for
329
1,113
76
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I have stayed in this hotel many times and have had varied experiences, most of them OK. However, my most recent stay was not great.
The staff are always friendly and helpful and the hotel is very convenient for the town centre and Gala centre but they really need to up their game if they want to compete with the local low cost hotels.
To reiterate the gripes of other guests .... the bath water was always lukewarm, the bed was hard with very basic bedding, breakfast on Saturday and Sunday morning was a scrum. We were told to find ourselves a table ... easier said than done to find one that had been cleared. We ate in the Felini restaurant one evening. My daughter said her beef was good but my seafood risotto was almost devoid of seafood. I had the seafood linguine at Ask across the road in the Gala centre the following night for the same price. It was packed with shellfish. Trays being left in the corridor for hours was an issue all weekend; other guest's leftover curry is never a nice sight in the morning. There was one lift working all the time.
The room was hot and the air con not working but, if the windows were opened, you got the noise from weekend revellers and boy racers plus the construction site across the road.
I have stayed here many times but I am sad to say I would seriously consider going elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenDayFanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here during the Lumiere and found the staff very friendly and helpful. The room, facing the river and cathedral, was large and the bed comfortable. We didn't have the breakfast package as there are plenty of cheaper and better places to eat in the city. We didn't need wi-fi and we had plenty of hot water (see other reviewers) so no complaints on that score. However, one of the lifts didn't always work very well (only two lifts) and there is a £7 charge for car parking, a not unreasonable charge so close to the centre. Overall a decent hotel but slightly too expensive in my opinion.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whosaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed overnight during Luminaire and although the hotel was busy we found both check in and check out fast and efficient with friendly and inquiring staff.
I had upgraded to a river view room and had a smashing panoramic window overlooking the Wear and Cathedral.
Breakfast was a bit confusing having to order coffee and eggs but at least they arrived fresh and my poached eggs were runny and not overcooked. The rest of the breakfast is buffet style with ample choice of fruit, cereals and the usual cooked breakfast fare.
Parking was easy and £7 for overnight (24 hrs) payable in reception gave us plenty of time to have a riverside walk before our 12:00 checkout.
The rooms were very clean with some nice toiletries for the missus. LOL I had no problem with hot water that other reviewers have mentioned.

Room Tip: Pay to upgrade to a river view and a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here during the Lumiere festival, and like other reviewers have noted, it became very apparent that the hotel facilities and services were unable to cope with being fully booked. For the royal price of a "Business class" room, wi fi access was terrible (reason given: too many people trying to access the network), there was no hot water when showering after breakfast (reason given: too many people using the water - you get the picture). Final straw, being overcharged on check out for an additional bed that wasn't requested or used, after asking the cashier to check that the item had been removed and being assured it had. I emailed the hotel that evening to ask for a correction. Has anyone bothered to reply, after two days? Of course not. This was our second stay, needless to say, it will be our last. Oh, and the beds are really hard.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Understandably it was difficult finding accommodation during the lumiere festival. Knowing the city well, I would have liked to have stayed at the County or one of the many lovely b&bs in the area but seemed only one room was available in the whole of Durham.....
For £179 (no breakfast inc.) I imagined at least a view & maybe a bath tub.
Having called the day before to check the bar showed the rugby for my partner, we went straight there to check in as opposed to a nice city pub as I needed to sleep & my partner could watch his sport if he wished - on informing the staff the tv was on the wrong channel numerous times, it took 45 minutes for 'maintenence'
to change the channel so it could stream into the room.
They hadn't informed us on booking that we would be in an 'accessible' room - no tub just lots of handles in showers, pads on loo etc which failed to seem luxe considering the price we'd paid for what really was nothing better than a travel lodge. The room looked over the back carpark into the passport offices, the bed had an oversized vallance which was falling off, the sheets were untucked which I remade before bed.
It was clean but basic. Ironing board was broken so took two of us to iron a small top - one as board prop.
Equally amusing was the question of our morning newspapers, when on indecision the reception staff said she would send both....no newspapers to be seen the following morning.
Needing a drink to stop me from crying, I took to the mini-bar....unstocked, empty, sin beverages!
Thank you Radisson for our horrid stay. Luckily Lumiere was incredible & we will be returning for the next one but definitely stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsyokyok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

How can you not instal a boiler to cope with full occupancy? When a hotel can not provide a basic service such as hot water for a shower in the morning it ceases to function as a viable place to stay.

And WiFi (free) wouldn't let you connect as too many people were signed on. To be fair, it did become available as users dropped off.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank VC10Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.5 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometers away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing