We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 20 January 2014

staff very welcoming and helpful, situated perfectly on the river great view of the castle, facilities excellent , everything you could possibly want for breakfast and more hopefully going back very soon !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of the hotel.
I hope to see you again very soon
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,639 - 1,645 of 2,652 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Nicely furnished, spacious, and clean rooms with a good fitness center and an extensive breakfast selection. Attentive staff. Very no-nonsense. Not exactly the place to go for a romantic weekend, but perfect for business. It's a bit of a walk up the hill into town, so those with mobility problems might need to plan ahead.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel.
Maybe try us sometime for a romantic weekend taking in our leisure and spa facilities!
I think you will be pleasantly surprised
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Having stayed in Radisson's across Europe we were disappointed that because of a shortage of staff we couldn't book a dinner in the restaurant on the evening of our first night. However given the food selection in the restaurant wasn't great when we did manage to get a table it looked to be a lucky escape.

Breakfast was good - a good selection of hot and cold food.

On checking in our room wasn't ready, so we went for lunch right beside reception. The receptionist didn't bother telling us that our room was available, it was only when I noticed people coming in after us being allocated rooms that I inquired and was told we could now have a room - an hour later....

We were kept awake with a violent argument in the room next to us which involved hotel security being contacted and police threatened. Not a good night's sleep was had. But the rooms are large and comfortable.

The hotel's location is excellent but the staff don't seem to be as polished as other Radissons we've stayed in.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the conference hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedDubliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for your review of the hotel.
To my knowledge a shortage of staff wouldnt stop you getting a table but I will address this with the FIlini team.
I hope that you enjoyed the lunch in our bar however and sorry about the delay in checking you in!
I do hope that when you return in the future we can exceed your expectations
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

excellent location for shops and resteraunts next to river and rooms are comfortable and quiet we stayed for one night..the only fault was breakfast was cold and we asked for fried egg and was 10 minute wait!! other than that slef service and plenty of it

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Dikanddot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for the 5 star review of the hotel.
I look forwards to welcoming you back in the future
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on 27th dec for one night to treat my wife on her birthday, check in was painless and the check in staff polite and helpful, room was lovely and clean and had a relaxing time, the only issue I have is why you have to pay £7 to park your car in the hotel car park surely parking could be complimentary. Breakfast was lovely so much choice and staff again helpful and polite, would definitely stay again

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Thank you for your review of the hotel and I am glad that you had a good nights sleep with us.
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

We went there for a romantic/pampering weekend before the arrival of our first baby.
Well, we were certainly not disappointed! Service was excellent. We had a business class room and we found it perfect for our needs.
We stayed 2 nights and had dinner both evening at the Filini restaurant. The staff was very knowledgeable about the menu and advised us very well.
In the morning, breakfast was of good quality. On Saturday and Sunday, it is even served until noon! Such a great touch!
We had booked massages for both of us at the spa and this was most enjoyable.
Would definitely recommend this hotel!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nib62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thanks for the review.
I am pleased that all the work training the Filini staff on the new menu paid off then!!
Congratulations on your pregnancy and I hope its not too long before we see all 3 of you back in Durham
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Stopped here last night. Quick check in fabulous room, lovely spacious and very clean, loved the little extras and hubbie appreciated the large tv. Bed was really comfy and the hotel was very quiet never heard a noise all night. Breakfast was great loads of staff on duty vast selection to choose from. Already looking for a date to return. Worth every penny cant wait to come back.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Clarabell73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel,
I am glad that you had a fabulous time with us and that your partner liked the televison!!!
Ill look forwards to seeing you again very soon then
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,170 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
545 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £81 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing