We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing as always”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

The Radisson Blu hotel in Durham is one of the best hotels I have stayed in and I keep going back to it as often as I can. The hotel is clean, modern and comfortable and offers great facilities including swimming pol, spa, 2 x bars and a lovely restaurant. Staff are very friendly and helpful. If upgraded t business class, guests are offered free drinks in the bar between 5.30 and 7.00 pm which is an added bonus. Well recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Marion T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for continuing to support the hotel with your patronage.
I am happy that you always get to relax with us and I look forwards to welcoming you back soon
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,022
    923
    317
    100
    49
See reviews for
333
1,132
77
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here for our 1 year anniversary, and our room over looked onto the river and castle. It was a very clean hotel with all the necessities in the room e.g TV mini fridge, WIFI etc. The hotel organised a taxi for our meal out which was nice, and it is in a good location very near to the city and train station

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian2392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Happy Anniversary!
I am delighted that you chose us for your special occasion.
I hope that its not another year before we see you again
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

staff very welcoming and helpful, situated perfectly on the river great view of the castle, facilities excellent , everything you could possibly want for breakfast and more hopefully going back very soon !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of the hotel.
I hope to see you again very soon
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Nicely furnished, spacious, and clean rooms with a good fitness center and an extensive breakfast selection. Attentive staff. Very no-nonsense. Not exactly the place to go for a romantic weekend, but perfect for business. It's a bit of a walk up the hill into town, so those with mobility problems might need to plan ahead.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel.
Maybe try us sometime for a romantic weekend taking in our leisure and spa facilities!
I think you will be pleasantly surprised
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Having stayed in Radisson's across Europe we were disappointed that because of a shortage of staff we couldn't book a dinner in the restaurant on the evening of our first night. However given the food selection in the restaurant wasn't great when we did manage to get a table it looked to be a lucky escape.

Breakfast was good - a good selection of hot and cold food.

On checking in our room wasn't ready, so we went for lunch right beside reception. The receptionist didn't bother telling us that our room was available, it was only when I noticed people coming in after us being allocated rooms that I inquired and was told we could now have a room - an hour later....

We were kept awake with a violent argument in the room next to us which involved hotel security being contacted and police threatened. Not a good night's sleep was had. But the rooms are large and comfortable.

The hotel's location is excellent but the staff don't seem to be as polished as other Radissons we've stayed in.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the conference hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedDubliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel.
To my knowledge a shortage of staff wouldnt stop you getting a table but I will address this with the FIlini team.
I hope that you enjoyed the lunch in our bar however and sorry about the delay in checking you in!
I do hope that when you return in the future we can exceed your expectations
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

excellent location for shops and resteraunts next to river and rooms are comfortable and quiet we stayed for one night..the only fault was breakfast was cold and we asked for fried egg and was 10 minute wait!! other than that slef service and plenty of it

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Dikanddot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for the 5 star review of the hotel.
I look forwards to welcoming you back in the future
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on 27th dec for one night to treat my wife on her birthday, check in was painless and the check in staff polite and helpful, room was lovely and clean and had a relaxing time, the only issue I have is why you have to pay £7 to park your car in the hotel car park surely parking could be complimentary. Breakfast was lovely so much choice and staff again helpful and polite, would definitely stay again

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel and I am glad that you had a good nights sleep with us.
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing