We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the Raddsion Blu, Durham.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Hebburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stay at the Raddsion Blu, Durham.”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Me and my partner use the hotel on a regular basis for weekends away. This time we came with a friends. We frequented the local square, and the hotel bar etc.. Our stay was excellent, first class service and we'll be coming again for another stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
I hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,047
    955
    321
    101
    51
See reviews for
339
1,156
82
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Following our recent stay I would like to make a formal complaint regarding one of your bar staff.
This is our 2nd time visiting the hotel and on both occasions we have experienced this rude, abrupt mam who appears to have zero people or customer service skill!
After out 2nd visit this weekend I feel very strongly that this man has tarnished our visit and would certainly put us off visiting again!
He worked on the main bar in reception and had 'teddie' on name badge.
He was so pompous and full of himself it was almost like it was an I hardship for him to serve us, that is once we eventually did get served when he wasn't to busy flitting around talking down to the other wait staff.
This arrogant little man needs taking down a peg or two before he really drives all of your customers away.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyfamilyfamilyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for your review and your e-mail to me personally.
I do hope this does not deter you from returning to the hotel.
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My wife and I came here for our anniversary weekend.I booked a double room and got a great deal,the room was luxurious with great facilities and a great view of the river and castle.The leisure facilities were great and we made good use of them.The bar was a little expensive.The city centre was just a short walk away.Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Happy Anniversary
I am pleased that you had a great time with us and I only hope we dont have to to wait a full year before we see you again.
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teesside, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 February 2014

As always we found the stay excellent, great location, friendly staff, fantastic breakfast. We go every year for my wives birthday and see no reason to change our venue. Less than a 5 minute walk to the city centre where there are ample bars and restaurants to pay a visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Firstly thank you for continuing to give us your business!
I am delighted that you had another great stay with us.
I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Visited for a birthday weekend with family. Had booked two double rooms but found on arrival that the rooms were made up as twins. This was quickly sorted out by the friendly front desk staff. The rooms and breakfast were fine but the weekend was somewhat spoiled by a cockerel that started crowing around 3:30 both mornings! On mentioning this to the desk staff, we were told that it was a constant problem and they get complaints all of the time. If this was a country hotel I could understand but this is a city centre. Unfortunately the hotel don't seem to intend doing anything about this. I'm sure an accommodation could be made with the cockerels owner. The only solution would be to ask for a room at the front of the hotel. I wouldn't go back to a hotel where I would be woken at 3:30 every morning.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank john_ramsey_1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel.
I can only hope that the cockerel does not deter you from returning in the future
There is nothing we can do about this as it is some distance from the hotel
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We arrived at 7pm and had to be ready for dinner at 7 45pm. the noise of the fan in the bathroom was exceptionally noisy, I reported this immediately as I knew we wouldn't be able to sleep, initiall we were told the fan would go off at 9pm, unconvinced by this as the noise sounded like running water we asked for someone to come and listen to it, this was checked and we were offered another room next door which had the same noise, we were then taken to another room nearby which had a normal fan noise, however we still had a sleepless night as we could hear the loud noise of the other fan through the bedroom walls!the ar conditioning was also difficult to operate and although we thought it was switched it kept on coming on throughout the night,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thank you for your review
I can only hope that the next time you stay we manage to exceed your expectations!
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

excellent hotel for short break,short walk to centre of durham,good parking,hotel very clean staff very helpful,excellent breakfast every thing you might want for breakfast.lots of bars and restaurants nearby all in walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lyndsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely 5 star review of the hotel
I look forwards to welcoming you back again soon
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
481 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing