We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel does not disappoint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This hotel does not disappoint”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This was our third stay at the Radisson, albeit only for the one night on this occasion. We booked on a bed + breakfast basis and managed to secure a really good deal at a discounted price. I expected to be allocated a room facing the rear of the hotel, facing the car park as it was a discount booking but I was pleasantly surprised to find that our room was on the front of the hotel, with a view of the river almost directly facing the bridge.
As there was a hen party also staying that evening + a dance function taking place, we expected some disturbance in the early hours.... how wrong we were! A blissful sleep after sampling the local hostelries. Breakfast was up to its usual standard, with a huge range to choose from + ever attentive staff replenishing items if they ran low.
Already looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel.
I am so pleased that we managed not to dissapoint and I look forwards to welcoming you back again soon
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,050
    955
    323
    101
    52
See reviews for
343
1,158
82
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We chose this hotel to combine our stay with a night out in Durham as we had stayed before. The hotel staff were very pleasant, the food for breakfast was good and the room was clean and comfortable apart from the pillows being hard (a problem we had not had on previous stays and due to getting in late we did not complain). However, this would not stop us from staying again but would request feather pillows on booking if possible

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank kim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thanks for the review of the hotel.
It sounds like you had a nice evening and I hope its not a full year before we see you again
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We didn't stay here but my mum and dad did. It was the day of the graduations at the University and my parents asked if it was ok for us to get changed in the room the staff were brilliant about it and asked if we needed an extra room keycard. We thought that was really thoughtful. We all ate in the restaurant which was very nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
These are the reviews that make me the proudest as Yes I Do have exceptional staff and thank you for taking the time to tell us all about it!
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a trip to Durham. Spent two nights at the Radisson Blu. Booked Junior Suite for my husband and I and teenage son. Great value - included parking, happy hour drinks in bar, breakfast, small discount in bar and restaurant. Room(s) were really comfortable and spacious. Great bathroom. All amenities that you need in room including coffee maker and kettle (tea's important to me!). Staff at Reception and at breakfast were courteous and efficient. Swimming pool area was lovely - pool big enough to actually swim in and very clean and pleasant. Staff there too were smiling and helpful - lent my son goggles. Breakfast plentiful, though 'hot' food was barely tepid - my only complaint. If our son ends up at Durham Uni would definitely stay here again. Location excellent - short walk to cathedral and town centre.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JECW_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for the 5 star review of the hotel.
I hope that your journeys bring you back to us again very soon
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Hotel well located for City Centre with views of the river and cathedral from the breakfast area. Although our room faced to the back the view included open countryside. Breakfast included good choice of fresh bread and "specials" freshly cooked to order if required. Overall had good experience

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for the review and I hope its not too long before we welcome you back to the hotel
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Excellent location to shops, bars/restaurants and tourist sites. Reception staff very friendly & helpful. Rooms were of excellent quality and of good size. Bar prices were quite expensive, but drinks of good quality.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thanks for the review.
I hope to see you in the hotel again soon
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Fantastic two night stay £147 including superb breakfast for two. Room very well appointed overlooking River Wear with fab views of Durham Cathedral. Hopefully get to use indoor pool next time. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thanks for the review!
Make sure you bring your cossies next time
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
482 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing