We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Radisson Blu - Durham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Radisson Blu - Durham”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Hotel well located for City Centre with views of the river and cathedral from the breakfast area. Although our room faced to the back the view included open countryside. Breakfast included good choice of fresh bread and "specials" freshly cooked to order if required. Overall had good experience

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for the review and I hope its not too long before we welcome you back to the hotel
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,041
    939
    318
    101
    50
See reviews for
337
1,143
80
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Excellent location to shops, bars/restaurants and tourist sites. Reception staff very friendly & helpful. Rooms were of excellent quality and of good size. Bar prices were quite expensive, but drinks of good quality.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thanks for the review.
I hope to see you in the hotel again soon
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Fantastic two night stay £147 including superb breakfast for two. Room very well appointed overlooking River Wear with fab views of Durham Cathedral. Hopefully get to use indoor pool next time. Definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thanks for the review!
Make sure you bring your cossies next time
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Great hotel -very comfortable and friendly staff. Location is good -short walk from train station and close to centre of Durham. We arrived at 11am and got an early check in no problem. Breakfast was not included and @£14.95 per person for a full English was too expensive -we were a group of six so went into Durham and got breakfast for a quarter of the price. Despite that I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for the review of the hotel and I look forwards to welcoming you back to the hotel when your travels bring you back to the area
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here for Valentine's (on the Saturday), check in was easy and very swift. Room was clean with everything we needed.

We decided to dine in the restaurant which was a good choice on our part. Very good food with very good service (special mentions to Dan and Carl), food was delicious and reasonably priced.

After our meal we relaxed in the lounge bar area where our experience was further enhanced by the excellent staff behind the bar (Amy & Teddy). They made us feel totally at home and engaged us in general conversion to ensure we were enjoying our night. An absolute credit to the hotel.

Breakfast was buffet style with option extras. Again very good food with no real complaints.

To sum up our stay there was a few very minor niggles not really worth mentioning but overall the hotel boasts a very good team of staff with excellent services and amenities available..... we will be returning!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel!
I will pass your comments onto Carl, Dan, Teddy and Amy.
I hope its not too long before we see you again
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Well run, well equiped, well maintained and well located. Second time at this hotel and the standards have been maintained since my last visit in the summer. Tried dinner here during this stay and enjoyed a decent four course meal with a pint for a tad over £20, good service as well.
I'll be staying here again the next time am in the North East.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the front of the hotel otherwise you risk an early morning wake up call from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IcantthinkofoneKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Well I did start to wonder what you review was going to say when i saw the title.
Well firstly thank you for the review of the hotel!
I am well pleased that you enjoyed your meal in Filini.
I hope you are well and I look forwards to (well)coming you back to the hotel very soon.
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed here for one night on business. I received a very warm, friendly, polite and efficient welcome from staff at check in. My room was spacious and well equipped, benefitting from a large bed and a good level of standard equipment (including a fridge). Robust WiFi was included in the cost of the room. There were some very minor niggles with an otherwise very good room - for example, the bed linen was marked with what looked like a coffe spill and the bathroom was showing signs of wear and tear, with 'tired' grouting round the tiles that needed replacing. I found it difficult to get the temperature of the room right with the heating controls. Overall, however, I found this to be a very good, well equipped, comfortable, quiet and well run hotel - one that I would certainly use again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel.
I hope that next time you stay we can turn your 4 stars into 5!
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Rezidor, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing