We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location when visiting Durham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights - 2 friends and I had a Junior Suite which was lovely - fabulous views over the river and to the Cathedral. I slept on the sofa bed in the living room area - it was reasonably comfy. We had breakfast included and there was a good choice of cooked items plus fruit, yoghurts, pastries etc. We also had access to the free bar which was great for having a glass or two of excellent house wine before heading out to eat in the evenings! We made use of the pool, sauna and steam room, and had lovely treatments in the Limehouse Spa. My only minor gripe would be that it was very difficult to get the living room cool enough at night, and the lack of openable windows made it feel rather stuffy. But all in all, if I was back in Durham I would happily stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: try to get a river-view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bb67Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you were able to make use of all the business class amenities! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you're in Durham.

Kind Regards,
Louise Turnbull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,607 - 1,613 of 2,691 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Had an enjoyable 2 day stay in this hotel. Our standard room was very clean, and comfortable. We used the restaurant for our 2 evening meals, the food was excellent, the staff both friendly and helpful.
Breakfast selection was good but would have been better if a menu had been on the table telling you that an even greater selection was available and would be cooked to order
Reception staff were very helpful. This is a hotel i would stay in again

Room Tip: 2nd floor front room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Kind Regards,
Louise Turnbull

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Durham is a small city surrounded by the River Weir and the modern Radisonn Blu is right on the riverside and in sight of the Cathedral and castle just a short walk away. The hotel is superb with a great Spa and Large indoor Pool which is most welcome. The staff attentive and friendly. We ate in the Italian style Hotel Restaurant which though not cheap was fine, the food well presented tasty and interesting. Breakfast was wonderful with a huge choice including Kippers and Haddock, yummy. We were offered an upgrade to a suite which was so good we decided to take an extra night, a huge apartment with grand views. The countryside was stunning and easy to access.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cluckypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for your 5 star review of the hotel.
I am pleased that you enjoyed all the facilities of the hotel and so much so that you stayed another night.
I hope its not too long before we see you again
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our 2nd time at this venue, not been disappointed yet. The hotel, staff and parking arrangements were all excellent. The location relative to the cities amenities is excellent. Nothing to fault really!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
2  Thank Peter-Cath-James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for your review.
I am pleased that you had a great stay at the hotel and I look forwards to welcoming you back soon
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The service at this hotel is appalling. I waited nearly an hour for the meal to arrive. The food was poor. I tried ordering from room service and was told to use the tea making facilities in the room, Supposed to have 24 hour room service. I will not be staying here again..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank montyblanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for the review of the hotel.
I am sorry that you feel you had appalling service with us.
Could you please give me some more information as I cannot look into your issues with the limited information you have given me.
Please mail info.durham@radissonblu.com
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed here for four nights to attend a wedding. Modern, clean hotel with large rooms and great facilities- gym, pool and sauna. The breakfast buffet is terrific. Lobby bar service was great.
Ask for a room overlooking the river. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KRi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your review of the hotel.
I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and I look fowards to welcoming you back again
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Hotel was booked by business travel center. My booking was only for 2 nights and I needed 3 the night staff left a massage for the day team. The hotel was fully booked but by the Friday afternoon the team had a room for me.
Room service food was good and speed of delivery meant the food was still streaming hot when arrived in the room.
The map had 2 good running / walking tracks.
Breakfast was ok. the full breakfast was 12.95 GBP bit on the high side but I guess it is the going rate.
Bed was firm and the shower / bathroom in the small size but ok (I'm 6'2"). room size was good.
Laundry service was good is was under 10 hours turn around. I had a shirt that had stain in it (on the road for 2 weeks) the service removed the stain very happy :-)
the gym good size workout room, with machine and free weights. running treadmills, cross trainers and seated bikes.
There was only one down side the room doors close with such force they bang loudly. which you could hear up and down the corridor. It could be a safety / fire door requirement.
All in all good stay

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IMtraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Thanks for the review of the hotel.
I hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to the area
Regards
Neal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,193 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £76 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing