We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Durham
SIENA, Italy
1 review
“wonderful experience”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

hotel is recommended for business or vacation, always in order rooms, breakfast with an extensive menu, great gym and pool facilities, staff exceptionally helpful. The hotel's location on the shore of the river in an area is extremely quiet a few steps from the center.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Massimo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for your 5* review
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you return to Durham!

Kind Regards,
Louise Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,020
    922
    317
    100
    48
See reviews for
333
1,129
77
461
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This is probably the fourth time I have stayed in this hotel, that in itself tells you something.
We spent a little over a week in the hotel.
We signed up ahead of time for the business class room if available.
Most times, there is a room available and it saves a percentage over the rate if you were to book the business class room with your reservation.
Try to get a room on a high floor (there are only 4 floors) with an even number. That gives you the best chance of a city / river view.
I did not use the spa, so no comment there.
We did have a problem with the door key not working one day, it was very quickly resolved by the maintenance crew. The leader of the crew had us go to the reception area and ordered coffee for us whilst we waited.
The breakfast is buffet style and has lots of choices, it is geared toward the English Breakfast style, but there are lots of other choices.
The hotel is frequently the venue of large gatherings, however even just outside the banquet area, you cannot hear the music.
To the rear of the hotel, beyond the parking lot, are some gardens.
One of which has a cockerel and some hens, they were frequent visitors around the parking lot.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biker-Norm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for your generous 5* review
Apologies for the issue you had with your room key - I’m happy our maintenance team were able to get that solved for you without too much inconvenience.
I'm delighted that you enjoy staying with us and consider us in such high regards! As always we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you’re in Durham

Kind Regards,
Louise Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

I spent two nights at this hotel. Located in this relatively small but beautiful city of Durham. The hotel is great - good location (just 5 min. walk from the main attractions and commercial parts), good service, clean and tidy, quiet at night.

I really liked my stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Oranium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for your 5* review
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back shortly.

Kind Regards,
Louise Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights - 2 friends and I had a Junior Suite which was lovely - fabulous views over the river and to the Cathedral. I slept on the sofa bed in the living room area - it was reasonably comfy. We had breakfast included and there was a good choice of cooked items plus fruit, yoghurts, pastries etc. We also had access to the free bar which was great for having a glass or two of excellent house wine before heading out to eat in the evenings! We made use of the pool, sauna and steam room, and had lovely treatments in the Limehouse Spa. My only minor gripe would be that it was very difficult to get the living room cool enough at night, and the lack of openable windows made it feel rather stuffy. But all in all, if I was back in Durham I would happily stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: try to get a river-view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bb67Nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you were able to make use of all the business class amenities! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you're in Durham.

Kind Regards,
Louise Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Had an enjoyable 2 day stay in this hotel. Our standard room was very clean, and comfortable. We used the restaurant for our 2 evening meals, the food was excellent, the staff both friendly and helpful.
Breakfast selection was good but would have been better if a menu had been on the table telling you that an even greater selection was available and would be cooked to order
Reception staff were very helpful. This is a hotel i would stay in again

Room Tip: 2nd floor front room was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Kind Regards,
Louise Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Durham is a small city surrounded by the River Weir and the modern Radisonn Blu is right on the riverside and in sight of the Cathedral and castle just a short walk away. The hotel is superb with a great Spa and Large indoor Pool which is most welcome. The staff attentive and friendly. We ate in the Italian style Hotel Restaurant which though not cheap was fine, the food well presented tasty and interesting. Breakfast was wonderful with a huge choice including Kippers and Haddock, yummy. We were offered an upgrade to a suite which was so good we decided to take an extra night, a huge apartment with grand views. The countryside was stunning and easy to access.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cluckypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your 5 star review of the hotel.
I am pleased that you enjoyed all the facilities of the hotel and so much so that you stayed another night.
I hope its not too long before we see you again
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our 2nd time at this venue, not been disappointed yet. The hotel, staff and parking arrangements were all excellent. The location relative to the cities amenities is excellent. Nothing to fault really!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Peter-Cath-James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHollowayGM, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your review.
I am pleased that you had a great stay at the hotel and I look forwards to welcoming you back soon
Regards
Neal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,975 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing