We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Durham
leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“great stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

stayed for 3 nights. staff very helpful and friendly, good location overlooking the river about 10 minutes walk to the city centre. very nice cooked breakfast with some made to order options, I had a lovely cheese omlete Only 10 minutes walk to the train station ( we went to Edinburgh for the day). the only negative the swimming pool was a bit cold. would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your excellent 5* review of the hotel!
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and especially impressed you even managed to fit in a day trip to Edinburgh! We look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you to Durham again.
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    937
    318
    100
    50
See reviews for
335
1,142
80
468
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Great hotel, but the restaurant offering is poorly conceived. The menu is trying to be Italian but does not offer much in the way of your standard pasta type dishes. If you don't have pizza you'll be paying over £20 for a single course with one side dish and £6 for a bowl of ice cream. Breakfast is self service and most of the hot food is cooked en masse and fairly unappetising. On the plus staff, all the staff are really pleasant and very helpful

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
I am disappointed that you didn't enjoy the menu in our Filini restaurant. Hopefully on your next visit we will be able to exceed your expectations.
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrowford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I booked this hotel 2 weeks ago as a surprise for my Fiancés birthday. I’ve sent 3 separate messages requesting information about parking and the leisure facilities and have not had a single reply. Thinking about cancelling and booking elsewhere as I don’t want to be disappointed by bad customer service when were there, it’s supposed to be a nice surprise!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
I'm so sorry that you have not received a reply regarding your enquiries. I have double checked through the inbox on our main contact email and don't appear to have received any enquires into the leisure facilities in the last couple of weeks. Would you be able to email me direct at louise.turnbull@radissonblu.com so I can ensure the email is received and responded to directly? Alternatively you can contact us on our twitter or facebook pages which are checked daily.

I appologise for the inconvenience the delay in reply must have caused you, but I can assure you that we pride ourselves on our excellent customer service and yes! I can attitude here at the hotel, and are sure to make your fiancé’s birthday surprise extra special.

Kind Regards,
Louise Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

An excellent hotel, great décor, exceptional level of cleanliness. Pool was lovely, sauna and steam room great too. Good breakfast. As you approach the hotel it is attractive to look at with extensive car parking. Inside the hotel is equally attractive, it helps that it has only been open about 5 years. All communal areas are very tastefully decorated, as are the rooms. The location is fabulous, being right beside the River Wear, immediately outside the hotel is a footbridge taking you straight across to the Arts Centre with cinema, bars and restaurants, or a further 5 min walk takes you into the centre of Durham.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for your 5* review

I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you're in Durham!

Kind Regards,
Louise Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Accomodation and standard of room and facilities good however was let down by customer service as this was poor, mixed reviews on the standard of food for the evening meal and service in resturant slow and inattentive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel
I'm disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay and have concerns regarding the customer service and restaurant. We pride ourselves at the Radisson Blu on our customer service and Yes! I can attitude, so your experience is particularly concerning for me. Please contact me directly at louise.turnbull@radissonblu.com to give further details and I will address any issues you have regarding your stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Louise Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Booked this hotel as a special treat for my husband's birthday. From the moment we arrived Samantha on reception, checked us in speedily and made us feel very welcome. Very impressed with the hotel; housekeeping is to a very high standard, leisure facilities all in working order with knowledgeable and helpful staff. The restaurant where we had breakfast offered a good selection from cereal to a hearty cooked breakfast. Durham is a lovely city and the hotels situation next to the river is extremely convenient. Enjoyed our break and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqui m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for your 5* review
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope your husband had a great birthday!

Kind Regards,
Louise Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Considering this is probably the most expensive hotel in Durham it turned out to very disappointing and hugely overpriced .We stayed in a Business class room and to be honest i think you would be hard pressed to see any significant difference between this and a standard room.
Breakfast is a bit of a farce to be honest ,first queueing outside the restaurant for a seat in the waiting area,the breakfast itself was barely warm and in my opinion many of the items were undercooked ,one toaster for approx 70 people underlines the inadequacy of the whole dining area.On the second day of our stay we decided against the hotel breakfast and went to a local pub for what turned out to be a far better experience all round.
The nespresso machine in our room didnt work, probably because the attached instruction leaflet was for a different model of machine.
The complimentary bar is totally inadequate for the number of guests using it, as such on our second evening we took one look at the crowded bar and thought better of it and headed off to town for the evening.
When we tried to use the swimming pool we were told it was closed for the rest of the day due to some excuse or other ,no offer of price reduction or recompense was offered .
Now considering that the extra you pay is for these facilities we thought it was all in all money wasted .
In summary the hotel offers very poor value for money whilst better value with a better standard of accommodation and facilities is available elsewhere in the city.
Unfortunately we werent asked about our stay on checking out nor were we given a feedback questionnaire so perhaps they just dont care about customer satisfaction.

Room Tip: Dont book either the breakfast or business class rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.

I am disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us and feel the hotel’s business class option is poor value for money. The business class rooms come with a number of extra amenities not included with our standard rooms including car parking, a complimentary newspaper, robes and slippers, movies on demand and complimentary drinks in our executive lounge between 5.30-7pm. I apologise if you feel the executive lounge was too busy when you visited. While business class guests have to use the bar in the executive lounge to order their complimentary drinks, they are then free to take the drinks out into the main bar, up to their rooms or into the lobby area if they feel that the executive lounge is not to their liking.

I would also like to appologise for the inconvenience you had with your in-room Nespresso machine and by contacting our ‘one touch service’ system, I hope a member of staff was able to visit your room and properly demonstrate how to use it.

I would appreciate it if you could send an email to me personally at Louise.turnbull@radissonblu.com so I can look into these issues further for you. I sincerely regret that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us, and hope that on your next visit we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards,
Louise Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,005 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Rezidor, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing