We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a stay at Durham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Hotel has good facilities and on-site parking. It is a short wlak to the city centre, so have a large variety of restaurants. Rooms are modern and comfortable and good wifi to get your e-mails downloaded.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Paul S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your 5* review of the hotel!
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back shortly.
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,565 - 1,571 of 2,670 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Upgraded to the business rooms which was overlooking the river and spacious and came with free parking and drinks from 5.30 - 7.00 in the lounge. Easy to walk into the City for restaurants, sightseeing and shops. Used the pool in the morning which was pretty empty.
Helpful and friendly staff in all areas. Good breakfast - would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The extra for the short notice upgrade was well worth it.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Saint7650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel
I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Asked for the upgrade to Business Club. Lovely room and updated bath. Breakfast was great. Pool/ spa area was clean. Happy hour was good but could have had a few free snacks available. Great location to walk into town. Car park was safe and with business class upgrade- free!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your business class upgrade and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The staff have been outstanding in assisting my requests so far!! My room is immaculate, had to call for help re safe and wifi, not a problem all dealt within minutes. Very disappointed this evening with meal, the Pea rissotto starter is not recommended as was very bland and unappetising. I was given a full refund without question. There was also a very long wait from ordering to service.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel!
I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your pea risotto, but happy that we were able to refund it for you. I hope everyone continues to provide you with outstanding service and hopefully we can exceed your expectations for the rest of your visit!

Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Me and the wife booked this for a night away having been told about it by one of our friends. We booked the buisness class. The room over looked the river, it was really good size, there was a bottle of bubbly on ice and a selection of little cakes on the side. the bathroom had a walk in shower, was very clean & modern. There was a proper coffee machine, a kettle, iron hair dryer, digital tv and wifi.
We had free parking, and use of the sauna, gym, pool and steam room. Full English breakfast also included in our price.
1st class we will be going back again. 5 min walk over the bridge to bars and restaurants. Fantastic hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Richy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your excellent 5* review of the hotel!
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and delighted to hear that you'll be coming back to visit us again soon.
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here as Durham was recommended to us by a friend, we live in Newcastle. Hotel was fantastic, upgraded to a business suite. Complimentary drinks from 5:30 - 7pm. Rooms very spacious, with a bottle of wine and fruit platter and brownies on arrival, lovely touch. Breakfast was delicious, had everything you could ask for. We used the spa the next morning and it was great, wish we had of booked treatments. Would definately go back to this hotel as we had a fab time. we ate in Fat Buddha and this was outstanding too. Nice few bars close together, and a short walk over the bridge from the hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to business suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie_o1iver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel!
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great night out. We look forward to welcoming you back shortly.
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

After reading other reviewers tips, when I booked I requested a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the river. I then phoned the hotel directly a few days before arrival to confirm that we would have a room overlooking the river. Guess what - we arrived and were told that our room was at the back overlooking the car park and there were no more rooms available, I was really annoyed. We went up to our room which had a big floor to ceiling window which was filthy, not just on the outside but on the inside too which is inexcusable. I went back down to reception and told them that it wasn't good enough, they said that if I'd wanted a room overlooking the river I should have paid a £30 deposit to guarantee one, I was never told that either when I booked or when I phoned. The receptionist did find a room which was overlooking the river (and had clean windows) and we were moved. On the plus side the hotel is in an excellent location on a very quiet road next to the river but only a 5 minute walk from the town centre. The staff are very polite. There is an on site car park which I think was £7 per 24 hours. Free wi-fi. The pool was OK (but I thought it was a bit gloomy) and the gym was nice and quite well equipped although the only cycle machine was broken. The rooms are a good size, nice decor, (lacking any drawers), nice bathroom. clean (except the windows). The only bar in the hotel is a cafe/bar in the foyer.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front overlook the river. The rooms at the back overlook the car park. Ask what y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maisiedoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you for your review of the hotel.
I'm extremely pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we were able to make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible (I seem to remember you were celebrating a birthday!)
I sincerely appologise that we did not have a river view room readily available for you at check-in. Riverview rooms are subject to availability and can never be guaranteed without a deposit, however we always do our absolute best to try and honor any requests guests have given us. It is unfortunate that on this occasion the hotel was very busy and not all requests could be granted. I am happy, however, that our staff were able to do their best to accommodate you and hope that it didn't inconvenience you too much.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel whenever your travels bring you back to Durham and hope that on your next visit we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,177 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
3 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £80 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing