We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first ever hotel stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My first ever hotel stay”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed my 4 nights, the staff were such fun and so helpful. bedroom very comfortable, home from home, even to hear the cock crow at 5am!!! The situation by the river is wonderful for walking before breakfast and after dinner. Food very good,
I was with a coach party from Norfolk.

Thank you all very much, hope to come back one day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisG355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for your excellent 5* review
I'm delighted you enjoyed your first hotel stay! Hopefully it will be the start of many more to come and we look forward to welcoming you back here shortly
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,510 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,062
    967
    325
    103
    53
See reviews for
348
1,170
87
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on Easter Saturday, with my partner and our four children, which can be demanding for any hotel! Nothing was an issue at the raddison. Inter-connecting rooms - no problem. Late check out - no problem from the ever accommodating friendly smiling staff. Great location for the centre of durham, yes parking is £7 but it would cost that in any central location. Great breakfast with lots of variety and choice and nice swimming facilities for the family. A must stay if visiting durham. Thanks!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for the excellent 5* review!
I'm delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us over the Easter weekend and look forward to welcoming you back shortly
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for my birthday with my husband. My friend recommended that Radisson for location and value for money. Rooms are spacious, 5 mins walk from the city. We had breakfast out in the town, way cheaper than hotel. Will stay again. Expected parking to be included in your room rate.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Avenue124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your excellent 5* review!
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us

Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, Channel Islands
Level 6 Contributor
674 reviews
257 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 674 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We booked the Radisson Blu for two nights whilst we attended a wedding in Durham. The hotel is very well located, approximately 5 minutes walk from the town centre. Reception was very efficient and friendly and had a positive 'can do' attitude. Booking taxis via Reception couldn't be easier, once 'phoning down a taxi arrives within 5 minutes and they are good value for local trips.
The town has some good restaurants and pubs, we particularly liked 'Restaurant 17' on Elvet Bridge, a short walk or £5 taxi ride from the hotel.
Back to the hotel, car parking is easy in the hotel grounds and costs £7 a night. We didn't eat dinner or breakfast at the hotel so can't comment on that aspect. The standard room was spacious, well appointed and had a large comfortable bed. The safe and fridge were appreciated as was the free wifi. We were fortunate and were given a room with a river view - worth asking for.
For the very reasonable price we paid, I couldn't have been more pleased and if we were visiting Durham again, I wouldn't bother looking anywhere else for accommodation if the Radisson Blu was available for a reasonable rate. Well recommended,

Room Tip: Our standard room 220 was very good and had a river view - worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we can welcome you back shortly
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Hotel has good facilities and on-site parking. It is a short wlak to the city centre, so have a large variety of restaurants. Rooms are modern and comfortable and good wifi to get your e-mails downloaded.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Paul S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your 5* review of the hotel!
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back shortly.
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Upgraded to the business rooms which was overlooking the river and spacious and came with free parking and drinks from 5.30 - 7.00 in the lounge. Easy to walk into the City for restaurants, sightseeing and shops. Used the pool in the morning which was pretty empty.
Helpful and friendly staff in all areas. Good breakfast - would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The extra for the short notice upgrade was well worth it.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Saint7650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel
I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Asked for the upgrade to Business Club. Lovely room and updated bath. Breakfast was great. Pool/ spa area was clean. Happy hour was good but could have had a few free snacks available. Great location to walk into town. Car park was safe and with business class upgrade- free!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your business class upgrade and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
494 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing