We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MODERN & WELL LOCATED”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The hotel is situated on the bank of the river, and just across the adjacent bridge, is the bus stop for the city if you don't fancy the short (but uphill) walk into the centre. In the Radisson tradition, the hotel is a modern and welcoming, and the rooms are large, clean, well decorated and very comfortable. The Restaurant has an Italian theme and the food is acceptable.
The downside of this hotel is the cost of the parking on site, but if you decide to travel by train, the rail station is within 5 minutes of the hotel, making it a perfect hotel for a weekend break.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river are on the 'sunny side' - no extra charge, but you would need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLife100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your kind review of the hotel
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll come back and visit us again soon!

Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,718)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,599 - 1,605 of 2,718 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

Radisson Blu is a really smart hotel with great leisure and dining facilities. The room I stayed in was bright and clean with a great view of the river. The lounge area is modern, comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Debbie002013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your positive review of the hotel
I hope we can welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked this hotel for a wedding we were attending at Bowburn Hall and this was the closest location with rooms still available. When we arrived there was no car parking spaces available so had to park in a non designated area and upon check in we were told there was no booking in our name. I had booked through Superbreak so whether this is a fault of there's or the Radisson it's not something you expect from companies if their calibre, had I not had a print out of my booking confirmation or proof I imagine we would have had to pay. The room was spacious and had everything we needed and the reception booked us a taxi through a local company. Breakfast is busy so don't expect to be seated straight away,staff were friendly but it took over 15 minutes for a special of poached eggs (1 egg!!) to be brought to the table. We didn't use any of the other facilities but we did check out the pool and it looked lovely. Upon checkout we were asked to the pay for the room and explained the mix up from the night before, because of this the guy on reception didn't charge us for overnight parking. All in all nice facilities and good location but apparently rubbish systems.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bex_doyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel
I apologise for the niggles you faced during your stay with us, especially the busy car park and the delay on your breakfast specials. I am pleased, however, that you enjoyed your stay overall and hope we can welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I choosed Radisson because I like modern nordic style in hotels (no baroque, old fashioned and decadent luxury hotel); booked by phone at last second, 2 rooms for me, wife and son; everything was fine; in addition a second day was possible also for the professional kindness of receptionist.
Rooms were clean, big, essential and quiet.
Tried the italian restaraunt too: above average for english standards, but not "truly" italian
I think it's best hotel in Durham.

Room Tip: ask room a little away from elevators: they keep announcing floor and "up/down"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M-Leica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Thank you for your positive review
I'm thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay enough to extend it for an extra night.

Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Afternoon tea served from 10.30 to 5.00 a great idea. The sandwiches really fresh, the scones both cheese and fruit were warm and fresh, and although the tarts and cakes looked delicious we really didnt manage to do them justice!
Would have liked another coffee included in the price as I dont drink tea but I suppose its the same everywhere.
Well done Radisson Blu ...will come back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

I'm happy that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea with us and hope you'll come back to visit us shortly!

Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

WE stayed at this hotel to attend a family wedding in Durham England. Excellent location - short walk to center of town - delicious buffet breakfast - clean, spacious room - friendly helpful staff. Would stay again if in Durham.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
1  Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Thanks for your great 5* review of the hotel
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us while you were visiting Durham and hope you come back and stay with us in the future!

Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

In a central Durham location, the Radisson Blu is a pretty average corporate hotel.

Staff were friendly enough, but everything about the hotel was quite bland: rooms were large but lacking any personality and falling apart around the edges (curtains falling off rails); burger in the bar was only just cooked enough; breakfast ok.

A nice enough business hotel, but I wouldn’t go out of my way to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peejay_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel
I am glad you found your stay satisfactory, however I apologise that you were not able to take advantage of everything the hotel has to offer our leisure guests.
The Pace Health Club offers a wonderful swimming pool, along with a Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna that are all complimentary for guests to use at their convenience. As well as the Bar menu which serves food, cocktails and Afternoon Tea, our Filini restaurant also offers delicious Italian al a carte options. We also happen to be excellently located in the city centre with a variety of shops, restaurants and bars just over the footbridge, which prove very popular with not only our business guests but our leisure guests as well!
I certainly hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again for a relaxing visit and exceed your expectations
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
478 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £85 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing