We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Should be better”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We had to have the air-con disabled - it was obvious from the moment we stepped into the room that we would have got no sleep otherwise. This meant there as also no heating, but the quiet was what we needed.

The bar was not especially busy, but they managed to run out of Newcastle Brown Ale - the local speciality beer.

Location was nice, but the decor was drab and the lobby had no atmosphere - a vibe of everything done as cheaply as possible.

The breakfast was not appetising - bacon swimming in fat and water. Why is each piece folded on itself so that one side is not cooked directly? The 'fresh' fruit smoothies may have been freshly made, but I would swear that it contained tinned peaches.

The main issue we had with breakfast was that on one morning all the crockery was dirty, and the glasses. We could not find clean plates, cups or cutlery. Staff shrugged their shoulders. If you want one of the kippers they advertise as available, you better get down early; they had gone on both mornings we were there. We're not sure what the coffee was - seemed to have no kick.

Best thing about the place was the spa - good steam and sauna - included in the room price.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel
I am glad you enjoyed our complimentary leisure facilities but disappointed you had some issues with the breakfast. If you would like to give any further details on your experience, please email me direct at louise.turnbull@radissonblu.com
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,087
    982
    331
    106
    53
See reviews for
355
1,200
89
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

A very friendly hotel with attentive and great staff. Nothing too much trouble. Good restaurant and great Breakfast choice from the buffet. Room was spacious and a lovely view over the river and the Cathedral if you request this option.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel
I hope we can welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a really enjoyable weekend break at this big modern hotel. It's location was perfect for a weekend in Durham and our room was fantastic with a great view of the River. Big hotels of this type can seem cold and impersonal but we found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. The weekend here was relaxing and comfortable - just what we wanted.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your 5* review!
I'm delighted you enjoyed your weekend stay with us and hope we can welcome you back shortly.
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Excellent service from all staff, Accommodation was excellent. Food presentation and quality were up to a very high standard. Facilities were very good. Nothing was too much trouble for the very helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 163jeffreyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your 5* review!
I'm very happy you enjoyed your weekend trip and hope we can welcome you back very soon!
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I booked a stay at the hotel through Stephanie Louise Moore who was a great help advising me on any questions I had, she did great and I am thankful to her for that. The hotel is in a good location on arrival the staff were great and Rebecca(Blond hair) I think her name was helped with the check in. When we got in the room everything was out ready for our arrival and a nice touch from the staff for Tom and Nick with a note wishing them a happy birthday thanks for that! The little snacks were good aswell! I asked for there to be ice buckets and glasses in room which were there but the only issue I would say was the small slim glasses were dirty! The pool and gym were good quality with the staff down there kind and welcoming.

After the pool and gym we then went to see the free bar within the business class and preseidental suite package, that was good the bar area for that was small but we sat outside and in the atrium so was soon organised. I did ask however for a tray to take the drinks all together and the bartender said they had no trays behind the bar whatsoever ... But wasn't an issue, there was a broken glass which took a while to clean up and used paper towels instead of a mop to wipe the floor up and not using a wet floor sign neither.

The room was a great size each had there own space and the taxi was booked and on time to head to Newcastle on the night out! Overall I'm pleased with the service and you should be proud of your staff, I will be back to stay again soon, as I work at The Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester

Thanks again Scott

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your detailed review of the hotel
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope Tom and Nick had a great birthday!
I hope we can welcome you back to Durham soon!
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Recently stayed at the Radisson Blu Hotel in Durham on Saturday and overall was very pleasantly surprised as I was expecting being disturbed through the night with "hen & stag" night revellries which did not happen (all credit to those young 'uns who stayed there)!! Lovely Receptionists, nice bar area, good breakfast and excellently situated so close to the city centre. My grumbles were that although our room was lovely with a smashing view over the river, the carpet was badly stained in places and I had to ask for more toilet rolls. Will not hesitate to stay there again though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4bearsWhitby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel
I apologise that there appeared to be stain on the carpet in your room. I will pass the feedback directly to our housekeeping team so corrective action can be taken immediately.
I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us overall and I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel very shortly!

Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Radison in Durham is in a perfect location close to all amenties. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the receptionist especially helpful in giving us a map of the area and recommending restaurants and bars. Will definatley go back to this hotel for another romantic weekend break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for your excellent 5* review
I'm happy you enjoyed your romantic weekend and hope we can welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,081 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
505 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing