We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Had a nice weekend here. Rooms nice, gym good, pool good. Wi-fi signal was weak and kept dropping. Gym changing rooms were closed for refurbishment on Sunday. Nowhere to sit in the sun and have a drink. But minor quibbles - we had a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Kevin_Manchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope will come and visit again shortly.
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,047
    955
    321
    101
    51
See reviews for
339
1,156
82
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (569)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Durham is a compact and beautiful little city. We had a very enjoyable stay at the Radisson. It is in a great location, with fantastic views of the Cathedral and castle. Enjoyed the pool and staff very helpful. Recommended for a city break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Fantastic hotel - great staff - really comfortable room...and located right on the river with a view of the castle if you're on the front of the hotel (sadly my room was at the back)...and if it's not misty all weekend...

Highly recommend the waffles for breakfast - fresh, light and totally delicious.

The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble (ok, the barman got a little stressed on the saturday night as it got a little busy...).

I don't usually sleep well in strange beds, but had a great night's sleep both nights - would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel - you get a view of the castle that way
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you will be able to come back and visit us soon when the weather's not so misty and you can take full advantage of our great Riverview!

Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The 2 toilet rolls in the bathroom had almost run out on arrival. Hairs in bathroom and mattress protector. Our main concern was the lack of service in the Filini restaurant. On the first night we had evening meal. We had to wait quite a while for a menu. When the waitress came for our food order we were not asked if we required any drinks. For starter course we were not given the appropriate cutlery. I had to go in search of staff and ask for cutlery. Veg barely warm. Breakfast on the first morning, we were not told about any specials. When I asked for poached eggs, I was told specials were on the wall. Again there was a lack of cutlery. Staff were inattentive. On the second morning we ordered 3 lattes. Two and a half cups of barely tepid flat coffee turned up. Having enjoyed porridge on the first morning I ordered it again only to be served a bowl of solid 'stuff'. Staff slow to clear used plates. Unacceptable level of service and lack of attention to detail for a 4 star hotel. To round off our visit on checkout we were overcharged by approx £50. A good job I decided to check my bill.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel
I apologise that you were not completely satisfied with the service in our Filini restaurant. I wish to extend my sincere apologies for the service you received. Your experience is not the normal standard for any Radisson BLU Hotel. I am greatly disappointed because we take particular pride in extending the Yes I Can! philosophy to all our guests and I hope that on any future stays we are able to exceed your expectations and improve on your experience

Kind regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a friend and had a fantastic time, what a great city. The hotel is very well located, short walking distance to the centre of town. The staff are very approachable and happy to help with any queries and the rooms are spotless. Only issue is with car parking, it's not that you have to pay as it's a city centre hotel and that's expected, it's that the spaces are quite small so unless you drive a car fit for Tyrion Lannister you may have trouble opening the car door when other cars are next to you.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John22yeppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and hopefully on any future stays there will be plenty of room in the car park for you

Kind Regards,
Louise ("Stormborn") Turnbull
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford Essex
Level Contributor
187 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend. Excellent location just over the river from the new Walkergate centre. The pedestrian footbridge outside the hotel also gives easy access to the main city centre. A walk along the riverside, although a bit longer, also takes you to the Cathedral and Castle. It's about a 10 minute walk to the station although the less mobile may prefer a taxi.
Excellent friendly and efficient staff. Very spacious and airy lobby. Our standard room with river view came equipped with hairdryer, Iron and Ironing board plus a mini bar, that could be used for personal drinks, and all the usual tea coffee and toiletries.
Breakfast had an excellent hot and cold buffet spread plus daily specials if required. Didn't use the restaurant as it is Italian themed and neither of us are that keen on Italian food.
Bar was a little over priced but you tend to expect that these days in this standard of hotel.
Nice size indoor pool and large gym which we didn't have time to use but was well staffed and well kept.
All in all a lovely stay and would definitely return if ever in Durham again.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayfan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your review
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can continue to exceed your expectations on any future visits

Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avebury
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights, room overlooking river, views of castle and cathedral, what more could we want!
Food varied, well prepared and always served hot.
Only small criticism would be that the bar is not always staffed....sometimes had to stand and wait for a bar person to arrive.
Would recommend this hotel though.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kme009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your review
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful sights Durham has to offer. I hope you will come and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 19 in Durham
481 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 19 in Durham
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Rezidor, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing