We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, standard , welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Friendly, helpful,professional staff, great location. good - large, clean rooms, bathrooms well arranged and quality/range of toiletries. Adequate buffet breakfast - although 'hot' choices only warm! convenient parking, a real plus in Durham. great river views across to castle beyond.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your review
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope will come and visit again shortly.
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,504 - 1,510 of 2,669 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

My trip to Sunderland was for business and was delighted when I arrived a the Raddison Blu. I loved that it was a modern and well equiped hotel, located a stones through away from Durham town centre, overlooking a river. I would certainly stay at the Radisson Blu again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
1  Thank Robin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your excellent review!
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and keep us in such high regards! I hope you can come back and visit with us again very soon

Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is clean and the rooms are decent however it is lacking a four star feel.

The bar and restaurant are really missing a soul. I went to have dinner at about 9pm when there were only a few other diners eating and was shown to a table that had been set but needed wiping. Nobody came to take my order so I gave up...

Room service was okay but I have never had a tuna nicous salad served with hp sauce and tomato ketchup. And the dressed salad was swimming in oil so not really a dressing at all.

Breakfast was a bit of a farce really. A chap askes if you've had breakfast before and when you say no he just points you into the restaurant and tells you to enjoy it! Not really clear about where to sit or what to do.... Breakfast choice is limited. The sausages were covered in congealed fat and the fruit salad and cold meats bar had limited choice and it was hard to access due to a plastic roof that obscured what you were choosing. Drinks were strange too ... coffee was served at the table but if you wanted milk you had to get it yourself and tea was completely self service. Since nobody tells you what to do you spend more time trying to make eye contact with a waiter then wander around trying to work what to do than you do eating.

So will I come back? Yes but to the Premier Inn across the river. Much better choice of food and service and the rooms are on a par. I have stayed at some fab Radisson Blus but sadly this wasn't one of them. When I mentioned the restaurant to the receptionist she wasn't surprised at all so I suspect I didn't visit when they were having an off day.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Matthew_Cole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your review of the hotel, however I’m sorry that you were disappointed with your experience. Please be assured that your feedback regarding the food has been passed on to the relevant departments and hopefully on any future visits we can exceed your expectations in that area
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We really wanted to like this Hotel, as it is in the beautiful city of Durham- Sadly, we were really disappointed..

First, the positives - The Hotel rooms are really nice, the breakfast bar is really good, with a good range, and Durham town centre is only a few hundred yards away.

Now the downsides.... Everything else!

First of all, we had booked on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast rate for two nights. The service, food and ambiance on the first night was so bad that we gave up our £50 allowance for the second night to eat out in Durham. As a quick example, we were served our starters, and then waited so long for our mains that the staff came over and asked us if we wanted coffee, assuming that we had finished our meal . This was while the other staff members were preparing the tables around us for Breakfast - well.... it was nearly 9pm on a Friday night....

Generally, the waiting staff do everything possible to avoid eye-contact, and all talk as though they are following a script but don't understand why. As a slightly humorous example, on our first morning, the greeter asked us if we had breakfast there before. We said "no", to which he said "OK - enjoy your breakfast", and left us to work out where to sit and what to do (not difficult, but actually quite funny, as you expect in these instances to be taken to a table ) .

On our second morning, we both wanted a fried egg with our breakfast from the advertised specials board (not exactly difficult...) , and it took about ten minutes to attract the attention of one of the numerous team members. It actually became a bit of a joke that no-one would look over to any guests

When we checked out on Sunday, no-one asked us if everything had been OK with our stay, which I found amazing - it was as if no-one actually cared......

Admitedly, we did book on a LateRooms special deal 24 hours before, so maybe we had "Poor People - Don't worry about the service" stamped on our Check-In Records - It certainly felt like it.....

Room Tip: The rooms are fine, but if you want good service, maybe try another chain :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pudworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, however I'm disappointed you weren't completely satisfied with your stay. I would like to apologise for the service you received from our teams. Your experience is not the normal standard for any Radisson BLU Hotel and I am especially disappointed because we take particular pride in extending the Yes I Can! Philosophy to all our guests, which did not happen in your case. Please be assured that your feedback has been passed on to the Food and Beverage Manager so that corrective action can be taken and hopefully on any future visits we can exceed your expectations.
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Very Good hotel. Central location close to amenities but also quiet. Staff very pleasant. High standards. Asked for room with a view and was granted this. Would return here. My husband used the gym and enjoyed the facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your review
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Booked this hotel for my sisters hen do. It's quite impressive and has a lovely feel to it. The reception staff were lovely, she let us quickly check in and leave our bags at reception as we had a coach full of ladies waiting outside. She made sure the luggage was in our rooms when we got in later that night. The rooms were spacious and clean, nice modern bathroom. We also got a lovely view of the river & Cathedral. The breakfast was fine and there was plenty to choose from, you could also order off the specials board if there was something in particular you wanted. We chose this hotel for its leisure facilities and liked the fact that you could use them after checking out of the hotel. The area was good but not excellent, at present the ladies showers are out of use. There isn't enough lounge beds around the pool and the Jacuzzi is the smallest ive seen. However, the sauna and steam room were fine you cant really go wrong. A suggestion would be to maybe play some soothing music inside. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and is in a great location close to town.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZD92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope your sister had a fantastic hen do!
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Great for a weekend.We were very happy with the quality of this hotel and previous reviews about it not being clean and noisy certainly wasn't our experience and our room was very good.Tip - ask for a 'river view' - we did and were not disappointed with the view over the river with Durham Cathedral in the distance.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,177 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
550 reviews
3 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £79 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing