We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast staff an absolute joke”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed in this hotel on the weekend of the 7th of June and I must say I have never been served breakfast by such stuck up dullards. What an absolute set of jokers these lot are. I would go as far to say none of them have a brain. The girl managing them couldn't manage a p^ss up in a brewery.
Other than the breakfast the room was fantastic but the cleaning staff were very loud in the hallways and loved talking about there sex lives.
Will not be returning to this hotel EVER again.

Room Tip: Avoid like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GaryCGil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

I'm very sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with your recent stay with us.
I am very interested to hear further details of the issues you have outlined here, so if you would like to email me direct at louise.turnbull@radissonblu.com I will be happy to hear your feedback and take corrective action wherever necessary. I look forward to hearing from you shortly
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,454 - 1,460 of 2,624 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is our second stay at the Raddisson Blu in Durham and we cannot fault it. The rooms are spacious and airy and very clean. The staff are really friendly and helpful. Would not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful 5* review
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon!
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel over a weekend. We were given a room with view across the river towards the majestic cathedral. The room was a good size, attractively furnished and
quiet. A request to convert the double bed into 2 singles was dealt with within 15 minutes of our arrival by a very friendly employee. Indeed, the highlight of our stay was the enthusiasm and friendliness of hotel employees in general. Whether at reception, in the restaurant or the fitness area, this aspect was remarkable and reflects so well on the North-East.
Air-conditioning in our room was effective and not too loud. The bathroom was very acceptable too.
Breakfast was good and the variety of dishes on offer was noteworthy.
The swimming pool - not only for the use of hotel guests - is a decent size with sufficient space for both more serious swimmers and the less energetically-inclined user.
If visiting Durham in the future, I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank revitalise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and especially happy that we were able to provide you with a lasting North-East welcome!! I hope will come up and visit us again shortly.
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Enjoyed a lovely weekend stay arriving on the Sat afternoon. Found all members of staff to be very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is very well appointed with an excellent reception area with comfortable seating and a bar lounge.
The bedroom was well decorated and very clean
The breakfast times at this hotel are ideal. The departure times are also sensible.
Would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone.
Than k you one and all for a enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your 5* review
I'm thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us to friends
Hopefully it won't be long until your next visit with us!
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here for one night on a weekend trip to the City. The hotel is perfectly located if arriving by train, just a 5 minute walk down the Hill. There are lots of steps if you are not that mobile. We arrived around 11am, and whilst the room was not ready it was no problem to leave our case and walk straight into Town for the afternoon. It's just a 5 minute walk across the bridge outside the hotel.

The room was fabulous, lovely comfy large bed with views over the river and City/Cathedral area. A fridge in the room is also a nice touch. Tea & Coffee is provided, although little supply left in the room it was no problem for reception to provide us with fruit teas which is our preference.

Durham itself is compact and we had seen enough by lunchtime Sunday so headed into the hotel Spa. Even though we had officially checked out and left our luggage with reception it was no problem and we were given bags to put out bits in and towels available in the Spa area. There were only a handful of people in whilst we were there that was nice too.
The ladies showers were out of action during out visit, which was not great, but we still enjoyed out afternoon in the pool, fabulous jacuzzi and sauna/steam room.

There was a wedding on during our stay, and this caused no noise issue in any way or form that is a credit to the hotel.

All reception staff were helpful and friendly and overall would strongly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a RIver/City view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsACM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

I’m happy you enjoyed your stay and glad you also found the time to indulge in our Spa facilities. I hope we can welcome you back very soon!
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

I visited with a group of family and friends for a tame hen party. We arrived in the afternoon and headed straight to the spa facilities. The pool is lovely, just a nice size and not too busy, but the jacuzzi was my highlight - lovely! We then went out for the evening into the town centre which is literally just across the bridge which is at the front of the hotel. The next morning we went down for breakfast which was my favourite part! Couldn't fault it at all, every possible option, plenty of choice and great service. You can even request different food if it isn't on the buffet and the staff will make it for you fresh.
Overall the stay was perfect. Location is excellent, 5 mins max walk into city centre. Staff were lovely and would do anything to help. The room was very clean and had everything we needed, with a fantastic view of the river.
I will definitely be staying again and recommend to friends. It is a hotel that anyone could enjoy!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank NorthernHonestTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for your excellent 5* review of the hotel
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope will come and visit again shortly.
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We spent four nights at RadissonBlu Durham, as a couple, within a group coach party.
In summary it was one of the best hotels we have stayed in, uk or Europe, with the sole exception of the evening meal service to the whole group, which at best was 'inconsistent', at worst 'disorganised'.
Here are some of the many plus points :
On arrival the Reception staff were extremely, efficient, courteous and welcoming.
Every person or couple in the group was individually welcomed, any queries answered fully.
Later in our stay we had a query about Newcastle and the Reception staff were very helpful.
Our bedroom was generously dimensioned, incidentally a good view of the river.
Plenty of room for two people to move around and pass each other.
One small excellent feature was the shelf for putting suitcases on, took our two side by side.
( usually one of you has to use the desk, or even the floor ). The air-conditioning was a bit 'hit & miss' at different times of day, but the windows could be partially opened to ensure fresh air ventilation at all times. This was not a problem.
For the few smokers in the Group there were comfortable seats on the exterior front patio with an ashtray.
The Breakfasts were out of this world in terms of excellence.
There were about six or seven really hot dishes in separate cauldrons, such as bacon, sausages, mushrooms, potato wedges, scrambled egg, etc. Each cauldron kept the food within really hot, and the quantity of each item was vast, so much so one wonders whether they have to waste large quantities of unconsumed food. Obviously a wide range of cold breakfast items also. Then there were serving staff around who encouraged you to order eggs done by another method than scrambled, and such exotica as kippers, done to order in about ten minutes.
In practice there was no need to avail oneself of these as the standard breakfast items were more than enough in both variety and quantity.

All this excellence was somewhat diminished when it came to the evening meals, not the quality or quantity of the food --which was again excellent in its cooking, but the service.
We ate four nights evening meals. As a group we were asked to choose either an 18.30 hrs timing or 20.30 hrs. Our party chose 1830.hrs. We were told this would keep our party nicely clear of the ordinary individual hotel diners. Well it would if our service had got going from the 18.30 hrs start point.
Seating was in table groups of four, excellent so far. For a group there was a 'Set' menu but still giving three choices of Starter, three choices of Mains, three choices of Dessert then Tea or Coffee. On the first night the menu was themed as a 'Beamish' night and set out on well designed and pictorial cards, one at each diner's place. As soon as we sat down a Server came around and --immediately-- demanded of each diner their choice for all of Starter, Main, Dessert --THEN the pictorial menu card was literally snatched out of the hands of each diner as they uttered their preferences, no chance at all to study it further. This was a pity as there was then a 25 minute wait before the Starters actually arrived at table, and it would have been nice to have been able to fill the time studying the well produced card.
Throughout each evening meal the whole service action was protracted with long waits between each serving and each clearance of plates. On the first night the fish course (Cod) was popular as a Main, beautifully cooked but quite cold when it came to table. Similarly on the second night the same result with the fish option of Main course cold again. Clearly no fault of the cooks but of the delay from kitchen to table. On both first and second nights the whole meal took approx. two hours and we were still seated at table at 20.30 hrs.
Incidentally there was a largely different crew of Servers each night and the third night, although the same procedures applied, that crew really scurried around and we were finished by 20.00hrs.
The different crews also caused there to be widely different practices each night on small matters :
e.g. first night there was generous supply of drinking water on every table, some in jugs some in really large flagons. Also, as people drank it, the Servers --without being asked-- continually came and replenished water supplies. Excellent. Second night there was no water on tables whatsoever. People started asking for some and, astonishingly, one male Server appeared with a SINGLE jug of water from which he proceeded to fill about one inch of water into people's individual glasses. Several people said 'can we have some more please ?' but they were totally ignored and no more water came that evening.
All this was a great pity as the quality of the food was excellent and items varied across the four nights, it was just the method of service which was unworkable. Surely the Hotel needs to note the excellence of its own Breakfast service and introduce an element of self-service into evening meals for Groups. Self-service Soup for Starters course would be a good 'start'.
As stated this was a 'near-perfect' hotel in all respects except the procedure for serving evening meals to Groups. If we ever need to stay in Durham as Individuals we wold most definitely stay at RadissonBlu --this would at least avoid the Group evening meal syndrome.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay overall and wouldn't hesitate to return to stay with us on your next visit to Durham. I am, however, disappointed to hear that the evening meal service put a damper on your stay. Please be assured that all of your comments have been taken on board and the Food and Beverage teams have been made aware so that corrective action can be taken and hopefully by your next visit we can exceed all of your expectations!
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,141 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
536 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £80 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing