We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good stay.”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here to attend our friends wedding reception along with several more members of the wedding party. The check in staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was at the back of the hotel so no river views but it was very large with a 6 foot bed and plenty of room for a settee as well. Everything was spotless and we especially liked the underfloor heating in the bathroom. The meal at the wedding reception was lovely as was the evening buffet. The service at the meal was very efficient but we felt the evening staff were a bit over zealous. Sometimes we had barely finished a drink when the glass was removed. On one occasion plates were removed before we had finished our last mouthful of food.
Breakfast was a buffet, the food was plentiful and there were plenty of choices for all tastes. It is served until 12 o'clock
at weekends if you wanted a long lie in. The room was large enough for lots of the wedding party to sit at tables near to each other which was lovely. The thing which struck us as a bit strange was that coffee was served to us at our table but if you wanted tea you had to go and get it yourself.
Over all a lovely hotel right on the river and with easy access to the town centre.

Room Tip: We think all the rooms would be excellent, having seen some our friends rooms as well but a river vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryH938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for your review.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your time with us and glad that the wedding was a success overall. I apologise if the evening staff were a bit over-efficient with the clearing of plates but hope it didn't hinder your experience too much. I hope you'll come back and visit us again the next time you're in the area!
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    979
    329
    106
    53
See reviews for
354
1,194
89
484
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed for a night in the Radisson Blu when came up to bring son's possessions back from uni. Hotel was excellent. Brilliant location for historic centre of Durham and staff were friendly and helpful. We have stayed here every time we came up from London (the drive is too long to do there and back in a day) and it has always been great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Maggeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stays with us and hope you'll visit again soon!
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I paid a bit over the odds as I booked the wrong date for my wife's birthday :) Reception staff couldn't do enough for us - got us restaurant menus/phoned for reservations etc. Also we received a bottle of wine for my wife's birthday. Facilities were very good, location is good, parking is on the premises. We should be back at the end of July for our wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for your excellent review.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope it went a long way in getting back into your lovely wife's good books. We look forward to seeing you on the 26th when you can perhaps even take her to the Fat Buddha for a romantic anniversary meal! (Fat Buddha’s her favorite – just incase you forget!!)
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting our son, the best thing about this hotel is the staff who are all very friendly and efficient and are a credit to the hotel.

We paid to upgrade to a junior suite which on the whole was clean and had everything you could want, the only downside was the sloping windows which were very dirty and you could hardly see out of them.

The only other slight complaint is the cooked buffet breakfast but seemed to have been sitting around in the warmers for a long time and was only luke warm and the bacon was very dry. If the breakfast is not included in your rate I would recommend going into Durham where there are an abundance of cafe's and coffee shop's.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whyteNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay in one of our fabulous Junior Suites and please be assured that all of your feedback has been taken on board so hopefully the next time you stay we can exceed all of your expectations!
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Radisson Blu Hotel in Durham was one of the best hotels we stayed in during our recent 16-day pleasure trip in the UK. The location of the hotel is great. Right on a river with a view of the Durham castle (be sure to ask for a river-view room) and within an easy walk to the historic square, sightseeing, and a wide variety of restaurants. Staff were very helpful (one actually printed directions for us to our next destination when we expressed concern that the directions we had might not be correct). All the appointments in the hotel from the lobby to the restaurant to the rooms were first class. The room we had was spacious, with wonderful amenities.The room and bathroom were upscale and very clean, and the king bed was very comfortable. And after staying in so many places where we had to park several blocks away in a public car park where spaces might or might not be available), we really appreciated the fact that the Radisson Blu Durham provided parking right on its property. This was our first stay in a Radisson Blu, but our experience at this one, and at one where stayed in later in our trip, made believers out of us. Great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river. You'll also have a good view of the Durham castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPofSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for your excellent 5* review of the hotel
I'm delighted that we were able to make Radisson Believers out of you and hope you will come and visit us the next time you're passing through the UK!
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnside, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Had a fantastic stay over the weekend of Durham Regatta. The hotel was obviously very busy with so many people in the city.
Check in was smooth and even though we were early the lady did check to see if our room was ready (wasnt but we werent expecting it to be). Allowed us to park there while we went to check out the rowing.
The room (junior suite) was large enough for us and our 2 year old to have ample space. Could have done with a few more tea bags (only 2 in the room so only enough for one cup each and none for the morning).
Breakfast was good - very very busy but order for poached eggs came quickly as did the waffles.
Staff were all very friendly.
We have been a few times to the hotel and love the location so close to the city. We will be going back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benawaterhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for your excellent review.
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay with us and glad you'll come and visit us again the next time you're in Durham. I'm sorry you didn't have enough tea bags, but for future reference just give us a call via the One Touch Service System and we'll be happy to restock with whatever you need to ensure your stay is as smooth sailing as possible. (a little regatta humor for you!)
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stayed overnight on Sunday 15th as part of a Coach party enroute to Scotland on a B&B with evening meal basis. The evening meal was waiter served and we both enjoyed but it was a bit to ' Michelin' style for us. Breakfast was self service so was more our style and very acceptable. We were on the third floor but with the speed of the lifts it made little difference as to which floor you were on. We had a problem with our key card ( locked out ) as it was late we had to wait for about an hour while the repair man arrived to fix it but sitting in the bar with free drinks was OK. Failures at the wrong time are just something that we have to accept and as it happened was not the worst failure we had, the coach we were travelling in broke down twice ( it was recently serviced ).
The staff were all very pleasant and helpful, the room was spacious and clean, over looking the river. We had a pleasant walk along the river. The stay sort of spoilt us for the rest of the tour. When it comes to value for money I cannot comment as it was all part of a package tour. Would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Most rooms are probably all the same, the lifts are very fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurycyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Thank you for excellent 5* review
I'm happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and while I can only apologise for the battery failure on your door, I am pleased we redeemed ourselves with the complimentary drinks. I hope that you can come and visit us again soon when your travels bring you back to Durham.
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,078 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
504 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#12 of 18 in Durham
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rezidor, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing