We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel/Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Spent four nights at the Radisson at the end of July to enjoy the city of Durham and surrounding area.
The Hotel is easy to find and situated at a great location on the banks of the river.
I'll begin with what some have posted as negative about staying here and that is the charge of £7 for daily car parking charges. I too thought this rather harsh prior to staying here, but with the regional Passport office just along the road, I'm sure the charges keep the car park clear of day visitors and easily accessible for hotel guests. I didn't mind paying the fee at all.
As for the hotel itself; it is as I've said, in an excellent location as just across the bridge situated in front of the hotel and past the leisure centre and premier inn, you have a number of restaurants and the heart of the city.
The rooms are clean and well appointed with everything you could need for a short or long stay including a room safe big enough to take a laptop, as well as your other valuables.
The room was visited daily by the cleaning staff and bathroom towels and complimentary toiletries replaced as requested/needed.
The staff are friendly and helpful and the bar prices not too overpriced for a hotel of this quality.
We ate in the Filini restaurant on our first night only, as we wished to sample what was on offer within Durham itself. Apart from an initial glitch in that there was no one to greet us, or other guests, on our arrival, everything else was first class. The service and the food were a credit to the hotel. A great choice on the menu, excellently presented and very tasty.
Breakfast was of the buffet style, with bacon, sausage, black pudding, mushroom, tomatoes, boiled and scrambled eggs available; although omelettes and fried eggs were provided on
request. Coffee and Tea were served at the table. Again the staff were excellent and the food quality acceptable.
The swimming pool/sauna/steam room/ Jacuzzi were of a standard expected and the staff again were excellent.
All in all we had a wonderful break in a beautiful City mad all the more special by staying at the radisson

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel offers good views of the city skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank johnkfenwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your review
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and took the time to write such a wonderfully detailed review!
I hope you will come and visit us the next time your travels bring you to Durham
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,444 - 1,450 of 2,672 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed one night on the summer slumber deal and it was excellent valve for money. The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming, the standard room was far from standard it was first class and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your excellent 5* review I hope you'll come back and visit us shortly
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Went for meal last night 08-08-2014 in the Fillini Restaurant to conclude our two week holiday.
Very impressed with the service staff were particularly impressive .

Good menu excellent choice only quibble was that the food could have been hotter.

Couldn't have had a better end to our holiday.

Looking forward to trying their special offers later in the year.

Great hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: Try their special offer room deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 498Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your review
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you'll visit us again shortly
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel right in the centre only five mins walk from shops and a lovely view over river bedroom was comfy and all you would expect from radisson and the breakfast was top notch with everything you could imagine and some great specials I can highly recommend the porridge

Stayed: August 2014
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your review
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back soon (the porridge awaits you!)
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We came to this hotel as a wedding anniversary present to ourselves and it was ideal. So modern and clean. Staff were very helpful and the location is perfect. Just a quick walk across the footbridge (opposite) and into the nightlife.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Daron O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your review
I'm delighted you enjoyed your present and hope we managed to make your anniversary special.
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Nice location and facilities quite good but the overall expereince was awful. the majority of staff seem to lack basic training on customer service.
major delays in getting served at Breakfast due to lack of capacity and staff complaining to customers that 50% of the staff have rung in sick !! eg: "Please wait in the bar where there is free coffee and juice and we should have a table in 20 minutes"
Incorrect meals served from what was ordered. Incorrect inforation concerning facilities in guest rooms. eg: restaurant open until 2230hrs. reality is 2200hrs yet I was refused service at 2150 as the chefs had cleaned down as it had been quiet !!
There were a few members of staff who seemed to be aware they were as a team not performing and certain individuals tried very hard to rescue the situation. Specila mention of Scott the bar manager.
Let me say that this is just so far removed from previous experience in radisson Blu hotels which have always delivered for me prior to this experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank General60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel
I wish to extend my sincere apologies for the service you received from our teams. Your experience is not the normal standard for any Radisson BLU Hotel and I am greatly disappointed because we take particular pride in extending the Yes I Can! Philosophy to all our guests, which did not happen in your case. Please be assured that all of your feedback has been passed on to the relevant department managers so corrective action can be taken and hopefully on your next stay we can exceed your expectations and return to the standards you expect from us
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We come here often because it is not that far away, but it feels like it is when we look out onto the river! The pool facilities are second to none and the bar is lovely after a swim. The restaurant is gorgeous too.
Definitely recommend!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank 46sonny46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your excellent 5* review
I'm delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back shortly.
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,177 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
3 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £79 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing