We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning for allergy sufferers!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I had lunch at the radison blu in Durham with a client. I advised the staff multiple times that I have a severe dairy allergy. The hotel guarenteed that they could accommodate this, with the server actually calling down to the kitchen so I was feeling reasonably reassured. They then served me a tuna salad sprinkled with Parmesan cheese. Fortunately I am vigilant, but the hotels response was really poor. I spoke to the manager, but they didn't seem to fully appreciate the seriousness of it.

This shouldn't happen in a professional kitchen I decided to review so that other people don't have the same experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank marieandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for providing feedback
I sincerely apologise for the confusion you faced regarding your food order. Please be assured that we understand the seriousness of the situation and I am very interested in following this up for you. If you would contact me direct with further details at louise.turnbull@radissonblu.com and in the meantime I will be sure that the feedback is taken on board so corrective action can be taken.
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,669)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,436 - 1,442 of 2,669 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

Booked 3 nights in business class (supposedly the best rooms). The staff were lovely and friendly - as all staff in the NE of England seem to be! Unfortunately it was very difficult to sleep as the wind seemed to be blowing through the air conditioning vents and rattling something all night long. In the end was forced to buy ear plugs and will never travel without them again!

Room Tip: Only loud at night when it is windy - we stayed in business class so upgrades would make no differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissieannb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you for your review.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I'm sorry about the noise. Hopefully on your next visit Durham will be considerably less windy!
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights for a friend's wedding in Durham.

Location: hotel by the river, walking distance to city centre (Durham castle and Cathedral) - 10min over a bridge and a short cab ride to the registry office.

Room: view over the river and Durham Cathedral in the distance. Morden and clean with ok shower.

Breakfast: good selection of food, quality and service was ok.

Car parking: extremely busy on sat night (we called before hand and was reassured there will be plenty of spaces), we ended up parking in an adhoc space as all car park was full with a wedding on site.

Overall: good hotel if you get it for a discounted rate.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room at check in, or your view will be the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your review
I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you'll return shortly.
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I stay here very often on business and really like it. The hotel feels spacious and is always very clean. Rooms are clean and well appointed with a nice river view if you ask for it. WiFi is free and works very well. Gym and pool area are great.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your excellent 5* review
I'm delighted you enjoy staying with us when your business brings you to Durham and hope you'll come back and visit soon
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here on the 2nd of August, we requested a double room which obviously you would expect a double bed in there for a couple. When we got into bed on the night we discovered that it was actually 2 single beds pushed together which you do not expect when paying £111 a night. It also meant it was uncomfortable to sleep due to the dip in the bed, would expect better when paying that much money.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank backpackers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your review
I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay. Please be assured we have taken your feedback on board for the future and hopefully we can exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Spent four nights at the Radisson at the end of July to enjoy the city of Durham and surrounding area.
The Hotel is easy to find and situated at a great location on the banks of the river.
I'll begin with what some have posted as negative about staying here and that is the charge of £7 for daily car parking charges. I too thought this rather harsh prior to staying here, but with the regional Passport office just along the road, I'm sure the charges keep the car park clear of day visitors and easily accessible for hotel guests. I didn't mind paying the fee at all.
As for the hotel itself; it is as I've said, in an excellent location as just across the bridge situated in front of the hotel and past the leisure centre and premier inn, you have a number of restaurants and the heart of the city.
The rooms are clean and well appointed with everything you could need for a short or long stay including a room safe big enough to take a laptop, as well as your other valuables.
The room was visited daily by the cleaning staff and bathroom towels and complimentary toiletries replaced as requested/needed.
The staff are friendly and helpful and the bar prices not too overpriced for a hotel of this quality.
We ate in the Filini restaurant on our first night only, as we wished to sample what was on offer within Durham itself. Apart from an initial glitch in that there was no one to greet us, or other guests, on our arrival, everything else was first class. The service and the food were a credit to the hotel. A great choice on the menu, excellently presented and very tasty.
Breakfast was of the buffet style, with bacon, sausage, black pudding, mushroom, tomatoes, boiled and scrambled eggs available; although omelettes and fried eggs were provided on
request. Coffee and Tea were served at the table. Again the staff were excellent and the food quality acceptable.
The swimming pool/sauna/steam room/ Jacuzzi were of a standard expected and the staff again were excellent.
All in all we had a wonderful break in a beautiful City mad all the more special by staying at the radisson

Room Tip: A room at the front of the hotel offers good views of the city skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank johnkfenwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your review
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and took the time to write such a wonderfully detailed review!
I hope you will come and visit us the next time your travels bring you to Durham
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed one night on the summer slumber deal and it was excellent valve for money. The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming, the standard room was far from standard it was first class and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu Hotels
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your excellent 5* review I hope you'll come back and visit us shortly
Kind Regards,
Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,177 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#7 of 18 in Durham
550 reviews
3 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £79 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing