We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“out of this world - kim and pope”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“out of this world - kim and pope”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

...stayed in a business class room for 2 nights....beautiful view of the river wear and cathedral, cosy and spacious room, clean and immaculate, everything you could ever need, fridge, expresso machine, tea coffee facilities, toiletries, in house movies, option of room service, complimentary newspaper delivered, ice bucket, wine glasses and an ice machine on the landing, access to the executive bar with free drinks, and a beautiful swimming pool with sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, towels provided, and gym available for use. even a pull our washing line over the bath, the staff were friendly and fantastic, and welcoming and extremely helpful. the breakfasts were amazing, a wide variety and excellent quality, and a specials board of thinks cooked to order.the location is brilliant, 5 minutes from the town and very peaceful.
by far the best hotel we have ever visited, so much so we booked to return later in the year during our stay. perfect and we look forward to our next stay

Room Tip: ....business class rooms fantastic, and book in advance for better rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimandpope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your excellent review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and made use of all the hotels facilities. We look forward to your upcoming stay and hope we can exceed all your expectations once again!!
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,023
    924
    317
    100
    49
See reviews for
333
1,134
77
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

I have to be honest. i have never been in a hotel like this. The room is big with all the comforts you need. The italian restaurant at the ground floor offers a good quality of italian food and the position is great to visit the amazing Durham city centre just few minutes walking. And what about the breakfast? I have never seen a buffet with a so large continental and english breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mirkocer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your 'extraordinary' review of the hotel! I'm glad you had such a great stay and hope you'll visit us again shortly
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

visited in august we had a business class room which very comfortable with shaving mirror coffee machine kettle good internet and everything else you would expect from this standard of hotel the breakfast was 10.30 finish and had full English breakfast bacon. Sausage black pudding great poach eggs were great plus there is also great selection of cold items the staff were really friendly and helpful. the location of hotel is great you use footbridge opposite the hotel and the market sq. is 8 mins beware Durham hilly but worth visiting and would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: only downside is you pay for parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for your review! I hope you come visit us again soon!
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel 2 minutes from the centre of Durham. Helpful & friendly staff. Clean & comfy rooms. Perfect for a nice weekend break. Plenty of choice for breakfast. Full English or a healthy choice and they are more than happy to cook to order, we had poached eggs. Would highly recommend this.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisymay2014349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll come visit us shortly
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had an amazing weekend in Durham and stayed in this lovely modern hotel. We were greeted with a smile and as it was a special anniversary the staff went above and beyond which made the weekend very special. Room was clean and modern, overlooking the cityscape. Amenities in the room were great. The spa and health club facilities were amazing and very welcome after spending the day sightseeing. We ate our breakfast in the hotel and it was yummy. It is a lovely place or a wedding venue and this was testament throughout the weekend. Plus a great place for a city break. We were pleasantly surprised by Durham and would advise any mini breakers to stay here!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your excellent review
I hope we can welcome you back very soon!
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englefield Green, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

A modern hotel in a historical setting. On the banks of the Wear with a footbridge to access the City the Blu has a great location. It is also walking distance from the station - though more on arriving than departing!!!
Sizeable room with Samsung TV and Sky Sports
Staff helpful and friendly - though telling a weary and slightly stupid guest about the lift key card would save embarrassment!!
You are liable to encounter big groups of both guests and wedding goers
Overall a plus

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celerycelery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your excellent review
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have used Radisson Blu hotels many times because they offer a reliably high standard at a fair price. I invariably award 4 stars but I was so annoyed at having to pay £7 to use what appears to be their own , though outsourced carpark that I have given only 2.
Breakfast was OK but although there were ample young happy and underpaid staff it was still chaotic probably due to a lack of management
Everything else seemed OK. But at £99 I would probably have been better off at a Premier Inn across the river and closer to town at half the price for a single night

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidnkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise T, Front Office Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review
I'm glad you were satisfied with your stay over all but disappointed you were unhappy with the parking facilities on site. The car park attached to the hotel operates as a pay and display Parking Eye car park however we do cap the rate at reception for in house guests at £7 for 24hours if you choose to use it. I apologise that this charge upset you and hope it didn't cause too much of an inconvenience to your stay. Hopefully on your next visit we can exceed your expectations.
Kind Regards,
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
3.0 mi away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing