We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel, lovely rooms, over-rated restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2009

I booked this hotel for a birthday treat for my partnet. I emailed the hotel in advance to ask for an upgrade which they happily gave.

The room was lovely, very modern. We were upgraded to business class. The room overlooked the river at the front of the hotel. The room had great extras such as robes, slippers, free mineral water, nespresso coffee machine, hair dryer, upgraded toiletries, lcd tv, free safe. The bed was very comfortable and big. There was also a table and two comfortable chairs.

the bathroom was very clean, with a walk in huge shower, modern sink and toilet. The toiletries were very good. I could not fault the room apart from the air conditioning was hard to work and didnt seem very strong.

The restaurant was my only dissapoint. we were booked dinner, bed and breakfast but our meal plan only included a choice from the buffet and a dessert we couldnt choose from the normal menu. the buffet was ok but they didnt replenish items quickly enough, the food was luke warm at best and there was many pizza's or pasta to choose from. We had to ask for butter for the bread 3 times before it arrived. we were seated but someone didnt take our drinks order until we had finished starters. they then even had the cheek to charge me £1 for our desserts as we had a "maximum of £15 to spend each" this was not stated anywhere in the booking.

the health spa and leisure facilities were brilliant. the pool was quite big and very modern, although a little cold. the sauna and steam room were very new and modern and the jacuzzi was good. the changing rooms were a good size with plenty of showers but no toiletries in the showers.

we booked some beauty treatments which were very nice and not too over-priced. the beauticians were very helpful and friendly and also suggested some good places to go out in durham.

breakfast was fine, good choice of hot items, breads and muffins. a few choices of yoghurts and juices. the scrambled egg tasted awful though. tea and coffee you served yourself. i must say the breakfast is not a patch on the "marriott super breakfast2 although it did suffice.

i would deffinately visit this hotel again but only on a bed and breakfast basis. i would rather have a meal in durham. the restaurant was very overpriced for the a la carte menu, buffet priced at £10.50 but only included a small selection of starters and 4 pizzas 6 pastas. the best things about the hotel were the rooms and the leisure facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamara_Watts16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,553 - 2,559 of 2,691 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Radisson .We booked through Late Rooms and the accommodation was excellent. We stayed in a standard double room which was a good size and over looked the river. Both the room and the ensuite had been cleaned to a high standard. Breakfast was included and there was a wide selection of food to choose from. We would certainly visit again and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rigby33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We booked a one night stay here arriving July 12. It was easy to find and easy to park. The check in was simple and the receptionists very friendly.
Our room was s standard double overlooking the car park, which was great because it meant I could see my car from the window.
The bed was large, brand new and really comfortable. Mini bar fridge had room for our own stuff (milk and coke) that meant we didn't have to pay the (admittedly expensive) price for drinks.
Room service was very quick (within 10 mins) and the club sandwich a bargain at £8.95. It came with so many side dishes that it fed us both.

Free wifi which was fast!

Close to the town but really quiet. I slept like a log.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, but it was easy to find somewhere to eat.

I'd definitely stay here again. First class.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angels1five
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Stayed in this Hotel for two nights, it is very clean we got a good deal,and was close to the night life, would recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison44hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Our stay was for our Anniversary, it was our first visit to Durham. This hotel is ideally located for the City centre, castle and cathedral. We had a business class room with stunning views of the castle, cathedral and river. The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. The pool and spa facilities were very good. The breakfast was faultless the dining room big and a huge selection of well prepared food. The staff all appear to be local and very friendly and helpful and give advise about Durham and the local area. We would definately recommend a stay at this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidandlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

Having just returned from the Radisson Sas, Durham, my wife and I had a great time at this Hotel. Great Location, Rooms big, clean and modern, Everything you require. Location is fantastic for Durham, only 5 mins walk away from the main shops, bars and in a nice quiet spot,. Staff are friendly, however like a few people have commented on the breakfast is too expensive (£14:95 per head) eat in Durham, and save some money. We booked online and got a great deal for 2 night room only. Cost of parking can be an issue, but if you price up the parking in Durham £6.50 is nothing for 24hours stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

As stated by other reviewers, this hotel is modern and ideally situated within 5 minutes walk of Durham town centre. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay apart from 2 areas (1 major and 1 minor) which need to be addressed.
Our major concern was the quality of the breakfast buffet.The food was lukewarm at best. Contrary to earlier comments, eggs were not available to order. Fried eggs were left to congeal in their "heated" containers and boiled eggs likewise were left to become hard-boiled. Also there were not enough staff available to clear the tables, we had to do it ourselves on 2 occasions.
Our minor concern was the unsmiling reception when we checked in. No information was proferred and we had to ask for newspapers to be ordered, etc.
All in all, a very nice hotel but not one that we could recommend because of the poor quality of the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roger0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.4 mi away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
5.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 18 in Durham
2,193 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
1.7 mi away
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
#13 of 18 in Durham
471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Durham
Travelodge Durham
#6 of 18 in Durham
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Price Range: £76 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometres away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing