We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,052)
Filter reviews
3,052 results
Traveller rating
1,274
1,149
421
138
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,274
1,149
421
138
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews business class the river business room free drinks car park city centre standard room modern hotel mini bar good size sauna and steam room junior suite leisure facilities per night hotel bar fantastic hotel bars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 3,052 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for the New Year the room was great over looking the river we had our evening meal in the college resturant and there was also a Gala Dinner going on the staff were great and the breckfast was nice on New Years Day only stayed one night would do it again maybe in tbe summer

Room tip: River View
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciagraham03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited Radisson Blu Durham for afternoon tea with my wife - a birthday gift to her from a relative. We were both looking forward to a nice afternoon tea at a quality establishment - some luxurious time together.
1st impression was poor being directed to the restaurant which was deserted. My wife went back to reception but still nobody came. We hung around and read the papers until the cleaner passed through and suggested we were supposed to be in the entrance lounge area as the restaurant wasn't yet open - why they took a booking for a time outside of 'opening hours' I don't know.
We took our seats but it was really uncomfortable sitting 6ft away and opposite each other on settees under a hot heating blast so we moved somewhere slightly more together.
The waitress brought us our afternoon tea selection which was obviously from the day before. All the sandwiches were stale and the fillings soaked in to the bread. It reminded me of a school trip packed lunch. The cakes were the same and stuck to the plate. The cream scones were OK. My wife asked for fresh sandwiches which were provided but Tuna, Ham and Cheese/pickle don't seem like very special fillings to me.
Tea and coffee was Ok but we had to ask for a pot as one little cup isn't going to last 5 minutes. My wife was offered a specialty tea but then told it wasn't available.
We tried to spin it out and relax and enjoy the experience but the whole time there were people passing through doors and we felt daft sitting next to where people were checking in and waiting for taxis etc. The restaurant was by this time 'open' but still deserted. In the end we just left and took a walk by the river.
If I had paid for this, well I probably wouldn't have. It's a shame somebody has spent their money on a gift with good intentions - it wasn't worth more than the price of a coffee. Don't waste your money.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Covington4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RadissonHotelGroup, Customer Care at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your feedback is important to us and we are very sorry to hear your afternoon tea with us did not meet your expectations. If you are in the area again, we hope for another opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is perfectly situated alongside the River Wear just a few minutes walk from the city centre. It is advertised as a 4 star hotel. Checking in was quick and speedy by a very efficient, friendly member of staff and she was the only 4 star part of the hotel. The room was large enough, but very poorly speced. The carpet needed a good hoover, surfaces were dusty. The hospitality tray contained neither bottles of water or biscuits, and that is the minimum expected in a 4 star establishment. The room was baking hot as were the corridors and public areas. The profitability of this hotel would greatly increase if heating was reduced to merely hot!
Service at breakfast was OK but the food was very poor. Hot food was tepid and despite putting bread through the toaster three times it was still just bread! Car parking at £9 overnight is outrageous! We will not be back.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank peterf897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed over New year into the 2nd January, really enjoyed the Gala New Year’s Eve dinner, food very nice, entertainment, table service amazing, nothing too much trouble for the staff.Although the hotel is large and on one of what could be the noisiest nights of the year once we git to our room around 1am and the bar was still packed, the room was quiet and got a brilliant nights sleep. Parking convenient and good value, compared to some city breaks! Location excellent just a short walk over the bridge and your in the middle of great bars and restaurants, just a little further and in the market square! Wouldn’t stay anywhere else now if we stay in Durham

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Blu
Thank poodle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews